We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous jewel that surely makes the day for anyone in need!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire

Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire
A 6020 | Hassop, DERBYSHIRE DE45 1NW, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NW, England
01629 815668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 61 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Monsal trail near Bakewell.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous jewel that surely makes the day for anyone in need!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Happened upon this after a Speedwell tour and ahead of the Peak Cavern tour - we wanted a break in between.

Fast service with delicious offerings, both savoury and the inevitable sweet puds. Children very well catered for, toilets clean and well maintained. Many, many very wet cyclists arrived in the 30 mins following our arrival and all were well looked after with tables to sit at and lots of good hot food (and wine for those who clearly decided the weather required further inner strength before venturing back out!)

Friendly, happy staff makes the place a treat for all weary, hungry travellers.

We were pleased to get into a 4 wheeled vehicle when we left. Pity those with only 2 wheels!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    85
    29
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe - quality food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Lovely café and a thoroughly enjoyable light lunch sitting outside alongside the trail. However I did have some issues with the cycle trail and reported this to the cycle hire staff, who assured me they were going to pass my concerns on. For those who have not cycled along this trial there are former railway tunnels. One was so badly lit that my husband came off his bike when swerving to avoid walkers coming in the other direction. It was so dark you could barely see the white line at the edge of the path, let alone walkers. The other tunnels were well lit in comparison. As a fairly inexperienced cyclist I found it very dangerous. Others commented on how dark this tunnel was. I suggest taking cycle lights if you have them and walking with your bikes rather than cycling if you are unsure about the terrain and lighting. These are long tunnels. Otherwise a superb trail with lovely views and the café a welcome bonus when you return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simply a great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I went for a girls lunch with my mum and sister last week and was really pleased with the experience. Clean, light, airy and comfortable and plenty of room. The selection of drinks was brilliant, lots of local drinks as well as some delicious sparkling drinks that designated drivers can enjoy. I had the pomegranate and the cranberry drinks and really enjoyed them. If you're trying to stay off caffeine they offer plenty of decaf options.

The food was brought very quickly by a really cheerful and pleasant waitress and it was amazing, beautifully presented. Mum's salad was really nice and the bagels me and my sister had really hit the spot. The bagels were perfectly toasted, a bit of black pepper on the cream cheese was a nice touch, and the mushrooms fried with herbs were juicy and full of flavour. My sister had opted for smoked salmon and she was very satisfied too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassopstation, Owner at Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks very much! Glad you enjoyed your visit.
It's so easy to criticise isnt't it?.....not many people take the time to give positive appraisals (in life and in general, not just to cafes!) so we appreciate it. Thanks, again, we're tryin'......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Super”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is the perfect place for lunch or after non tea, or soon an evening meal. Great good made from good ingredients, friendly staff and good bottled local Peak Ales and Thornbridge beers make it perfect to walk or cycle to. A large outdoor area if the weather is good, a covered outdoor area if less good (or you have dogs) and a nice inside. Friendly staff add to the mixture.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great place...especially as it does not allow dogs in the cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Visited a few times now so was amused to read the rants of a dog owner below. The food and ambience are excellent; the last thing we need is for dogs to be mooching around whilst customers are eating. To compare children (detrimentally) with dogs says it all really! Most dog owners are far more reasonable, and understand the difference between an animal and a human being & know which should have priority.
One negative about the cafe is that the coffee is not quite up to scratch...it would be brilliant if they could install a proper system similar to those at coffee houses; great coffee means big business these days!
Otherwise this place is perfect!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassopstation, Owner at Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank's for the moral support regarding dogs. We love Dogs - just not in the Cafe.
As for our coffee - we do use a bean to cup machine. But it is a very good quality machine using a lovely bean. We feel that maintaining consistency is key and that a modern, well maintained, top-of-the-range bean to cup coffee is better than a badly made coffee from a traditional Barista machine.
This would happen, we sell a lot of coffee, and training all the part-time staff to make it properly, or having a couple of well trained Baristas always on hand on a machine is just not feasible for us as we get soooo busy and have so many staff.
Not to mention all the whooshing and banging of a traditional machine in our echo-prone Victorian railway station.
We understand that true coffee connoisseurs don't rate the bean-to-cup but feel it is a necessary compromise in one area to help make the whole business and customer experience better.
We appreciate the well considered, constructive criticism though - so many people come on Tripadvisor for a rant and a dig. All the best, hope we see you again soon.
And you never know, one day we might reach the elusive perfection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassop Station Cafe & Monsal Trail Cycle Hire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.