We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views, accommodation iffy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Barn at Harthill Hall

The Barn at Harthill Hall
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barn at Harthill Hall
Save
You added The Barn at Harthill Hall to your Saves list
Lawns Lane Alport, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 40 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Warrington, UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, accommodation iffy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I thought I'd respond to the reviewer from San Francisco as I was hoping that his standards would be higher then mine and that everything would be okay.

1) the kitchen appliances didn't work - dishwasher couldn't even clean the dishes YES TRUE and the staff accused us of overloading. THIS DIDN'T HAPPEN TO US
2) the kitchen was small and could not accommodate a family of 12 let alone a family of 6. YES TRUE
3) the oven was old and all the instructions on the dial had worn off rendering cooking a christmas meal next to impossible I WOULD AGREE. WE TOOK PRE-PREPARED FOOD AND HEATED IT UP, THIS WOULD SEEM THE ONLY WAY
4) the walls in the rooms were paper thin, you could hear EVERYTHING coming from the other rooms. The rooms also were gloomy and dark. YES TRUE
5) the closets and baths in the rooms were of low/no standard. OUR SHOWER WAS GROTTY
6) the entry way smelled of mildew due to the downstairs refrigerator unit had leaked prior to our visit THIS MUST HAVE BEEN FIXED
7) the refrigerator downstairs had no shelving rendering food storage impossible IT WAS FINE FOR US
8) the bedding in the rooms was cheap and uncomfortable 2 PILLOWS EACH - ONE WAS EMPTY AND THE OTHER WAS SOLID, AND NOT DUVETS WARM ENOUGH

PLUS - The heating had clearly only just been put on when we arrived, it was FREEZING. My hubby and I slept in our hats the first night.

I think the owners should spend less on hot tubs and saunas (that don't really work) and more on the basics.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Excellent for a group of friends , it was roomy and very warm everything you would need for a stay in a wonderful setting loved it would have liked a bigger tabke tennis table , hit tub fab after a long walk can't beat it !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We booked the Barn as the website made it look great and we were not disappointed, the outdoor hot tub was much appreciated, we were hoping for a quiet relaxing get together and was concerned about noise from the other properties onsite but it was perfect the only noise was our own, One DIY meal was achieved thanks to Lucy the Domestic queen who didn’t even use the hostess trolley (didn’t know they still made them!).

The Barn is quite modern which I personally like some of the other girls would have preferred The Manor House after Chris and Gina (the managers) giving us a full guided tour, It looked a bit spooky for me. Saturday Morning our toaster didn’t seem to work a quick call and we were provided with a brand new one, great service provided by a really nice couple.



Pool, Sauna and Treatments were very nice especially enjoyed the private use, much nicer than swimming with strangers.



Saturday night the caterers came in and cooked up a fantastic 3 course meal which was beautifully served, they did all the washing up and left the kitchen ready for Sunday morning.



Bakewell is very pretty with lit Christmas trees, and it has lots of pubs !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

For the first time in over 30 years we had the entire family together for Christmas. We spent 3 nights at this dump staying in The Barn facility which was advertised as "the perfect place for a family reunion or wedding and able to accommodate 12 or more comfortably" -- WHAT A JOKE!

The facilities were less than acceptable and the customer service was even more atrocious. These include the following shortcomings....
1) the kitchen appliances didn't work - dishwasher couldn't even clean the dishes and the staff accused us of overloading.
2) the kitchen was small and could not accommodate a family of 12 let alone a family of 6.
3) the oven was old and all the instructions on the dial had worn off rendering cooking a christmas meal next to impossible
4) the walls in the rooms were paper thin, you could hear EVERYTHING coming from the other rooms. The rooms also were gloomy and dark.
5) the closets and baths in the rooms were of low/no standard.
6) the entry way smelled of mildew due to the downstairs refrigerator unit had leaked prior to our visit
7) the refrigerator downstairs had no shelving rendering food storage impossible
8) the bedding in the rooms was cheap and uncomfortable

When these shortcomings were pointed out during and after our stay the staff was less than helpful. In fact they were surly and completely unaccommodating. For the amount of money we paid for this dump you would think the accommodations, staff, and experience would have been more pleasant. But it was not.

Warning, this place is a rip-off of extreme proportions. Can't speak to the other cottages at this facilities, but The Barn is a dump.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this place. The walls are paper thin and the rooms are dark and gloomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed here in October 2011. When I arrived there was only one pillow. I settled down to watch TV but the reception kept turning off every 30secs which required the TV to be turned off at the wall and be re-set. The breakfast bag provided contained a a muffin which was chocked full of preservatives. I fed this back in a review for which I gave average scores. The owners then cancelled my next booking as I had 'insulted their hardworking staff' with my review. They also threatened to put off other local hotels from taking bookings from me. It would have been better business to have responded to the comments and things in the room that needed fixing rather than throwing their toys out of the pram and making threats. Be warned!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Fantastic country getaway for large groups. The non-family rooms are small but have everything in you need, the comunial areas are great and the hot tub is again small but great for the few who will brave the British weather. We stayed in the Barn which was great for a group of 11 adults and a few nippers.

The only thing we had a grumble about was the cost of dogs staying which was very steep at £40 a dog!

Everything else was great.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

We found this place almost by accident- and what a pleasant surprise. We had a good, clean and well appointed room. Breakfast was very nice and this B&B is in a very pretty setting. Well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Barn at Harthill Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barn at Harthill Hall

Address: Lawns Lane Alport, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Barn at Harthill Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.