We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will keep returning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bagshaw Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bagshaw Hall to your Saves list
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hill, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bakewell
derby
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“We loved it and will keep returning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Bagshaw Hall is a lovely old building which has been converted to luxurious suites. We stopped in the Rutland and the Cavendish. The Rutland is very spacious and just like home, going upstairs to bed. The Cavendish is on the top floor and for me the appeal is being on top of the building, a little balcony through the kitchen allows us to view Bakewell in the fresh air. There is a great market on Mondays in Bakewell. There was a music festival recently with bands outside in pm. The hosts at Bagshaw are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend this to anyone it is more than value for money. Lesley & Andy Derby

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    61
    25
    19
    11
See reviews for
17
139
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a Friday and Saturday night stay in the Chatsworth Penthouse this weekend. The room/suite was excellently decorated to a high standard and the room was well equipped.

The location is perfect for exploring Bakewell and the Peak District. We visited Matlock and Buxton and can definitely say that Bakewell is the nicest.

To be clear this is an apartment, not a hotel, so there is no towel replacement or breakfast, however we thought this added to the feel of the place. It felt like a home from home rather than a characterless hotel!

We'll definitely be coming back :-)

Room Tip: Book through their website as all rooms are individual rather than through late rooms etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed in the Cavendish apartment and after phoning to let the owner know we had arrived we received a very pleasant and friendly welcome. He showed us to and around the apartment and recommended good places to eat. Bakewell is a lovely little town with plenty of cafes and restaurants and a great base to explore the Peak District. Overall I would recommend this place with the observations listed below. This is not a typical hotel, in that the apartments appear to be operated with minimal service and interaction from the owners during the stay, although there is a mobile number you can ring if you need to contact them and I assume that they are onsite.

Positives
- Great location only a few minutes walk (downhill) into Bakewell
- Private car park
- Very clean modern apartment
- Good kitchen facilities (microwave, fridge, dishwasher, washer/dryer, toaster)
- Great shower and bath
- Lovely bedlinen and towels and robes
- Very quiet private top floor apartment with a great view & unique balcony (although I imagine those apartments on the lower floors maybe slightly noisier due to vicinity to stairs/main doors)
- The lack of inclusive breakfast suited us as we could either make our own or wander down into Bakewell and weren't tied to a time to get up for breakfast.

Negatives
- Slightly confusing reception entrance location and arrival procedure which requires having a mobile phone.
- Unclear what the room servicing procedure is for a number of nights as room was not serviced for a 3 night stay
- The lack of inclusive breakfast, lack of room servicing and other onsite hotel facilities tipped the accommodation to being on the expensive side overall for us (£65+ per person per night).
- Plenty of cutlery though the crockery seemed a little random and could have done with more mugs and glasses
- No tea towel
- Limited TV channels and slightly out-dated TV facilities. Ended up buying a couple of DVDs to watch. Would be great if there was a DVD library.
- Slightly dark apartment due to being up in the eaves
- No door on the ensuite bathroom - probably due to space
- Obviously this is a very old building but the decor in places which had been modernised was slightly tatty in places. Like anywhere that has been modernised to a high standard it needs to be regularly maintained otherwise it can quickly look shabby.

Room Tip: On the top floor
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Enjoyed the penthouse suite with its views of the surrounding countryside but were disappointed that the room was not serviced and no towel replacements for a two day stay. Strictly a self service hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I booked an apartment in the Bagshaw Hall for my parents and a room in the Sleep Lodge for myself and husband. On arrival everything seemed excellent, and while the location can't be faulted, the cleanliness can be. The bath water in our apartment wasn't draining well and on closer inspection, the drain was blocked with hair etc. There was mould and mildew on the tiles and you could not have a shower without flooding the floor.
In my parents apartment, 2 light bulbs did not work and it looked like no one had ever vacuumed under the sofa cushions. The wine bottle openers in both apartments were broken and the main door to Bagshaw Hall slams shut, which can be be irritating when it's next to your lounge and other guests arrive late and leave early!
All of these things are small issues, considering how nice the apartments are, but it was frustrating that there were no staff around to ask questions or any instructions on what to do with rubbish, or your key on check out.
I would stay here again as the apartments are unique, practical and in an absolute ideal location. With just a little bit more effort this place could be outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights over the bank hol weekend. The building is a few hundred years old, but decor inside very arty and modern, exactly what we like. We stayed in the Vernon Apartment. A large open plane kitchen/lounge/bedroom. This property is self-catering aprtments/rooms. Looks liek a hotel, but there are no hotel services e.g. breakfast or bar.

Pros:
Histric building with modern interior
Full kitchen for self catering
Spa bath
Kingsize comfy bed with lovely bedding.
In the centre of Bakewell, about 2mins walk to shops & pubs.
Nice lawn seating area with a view of the village.
Lots of walking guides in the reception.

Cons:
Noisy - Our room had an ajoining door which did not keep out much noise from the neighbouring apartment. The more elderly couple next door were up and about making breakfast and watching the news at 7am on Sunday and it was loud enough to disturb sleep. Also, family in room above had a toddler, who liked to bang his toys on the floor!
Seems a touch expensive for self-catering apartment (though quality of decor and finish is high).

Overall, I would recommend this if you want somewhere to stay in Bakewell that is nice and modern inside (as opposed to some of the floral-covered B&Bs nearby), and if you want some privacy, as there will not be a B&B owner milling around. It is quite noisy at times, so perhaps take earplugs.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor may be quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed for one night at Bagshaw Hall and to be honest despite a wonderful first impression of the building and the staff, we were left disappointed.
The hall is a beautiful 17th Century building which has been sympathetically and tastefully decorated. It's in a great spot for accessing the Peak District and is only a short stroll from Bakewell centre.
The price for one night was £135. As this did not include breakfast, we were really expecting something special from the room.
The suite we were given was a self-catering room. Basically it is a large room with a shower en suite. In the bedroom there are 2 small worktopped units one with a fridge under, the other has a sink fitted. There was also a toaster and a small selection of crockery. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great but some of the fittings didn't have the quality feel we expected.
For £135, we were amazed to find there was crockery, but no cutlery. No bottle opener or utensils of any kind. There were tea making facilities, including cheap biscuits but no teaspoons. There was a fridge, but with the tea making things were plastic pots of UHT milk instead of any fresh. In the bathroom there were also very basic toiletries. The worktops were laminated chipboard and the sink had no drainer. The TV had a DVD player with a docking station, but only 4 TV channels.
Now, none of these things are "show-stoppers" but we have stayed at other accommodation with better facilities and fittings at a fraction of the cost. We have found fresh milk on arrival, even on occasion a bottle of wine waiting for us in the fridge, nice toiletries, a selection of local biscuits or cakes - basically things that don't cost much but really say, "welcome, make yourselves at home".
If the room had cost £90 for the night I might have felt a little more satisfied, but feeling like I have paid well over the odds for something tends to leave a bad taste and spoils what would have been a lovely weekend.
It is not enough to put in fancy furniture and call yourself "boutique". It is the attention to detail that makes somewhere worth paying top money, and unfortunately Bagshaw Hall fell short.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulsnam, Owner at Bagshaw Hall, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
All of our suites and apartments are provided on a self-catering basis. We find that the majority of our clients like the flexibility this provides compared to hotels or B&B's.
Bagshaw Hall is in the town of Bakewell with a good range of restaurants, pubs and coffee shops nearby and within walking distance.
We have a wide range of prices for our accommodation starting at £79 to £145 mid-week and slightly higher at weekends.
This guest stayed for 1 night over a weekend in a panelled suite in Bagshaw Hall and to say that £135 is too expensive is difficult to understand as this is always comparative to what is available in the same area, and not other parts of the country. When a B&B in Bakewell can be £55/ head (ie. £110.00 for a couple for one night) and hotels in the area are much higher then we feel our accommodation is priced correctly.
We do not provide fresh milk in our fridges as we may end up throwing most of it away, and we do not provide free wine. We do however provide a romantic package including wine/ champagne, chocolates, flowers etc. Should our guests wish to treat themselves.
We do greet our guests, make them feel at home and provide them with anything they require within reason, and if something is missing from a room, such as tea spoons we would obviously replace these if they were asked for at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bagshaw Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagshaw Hall

Address: Bagshaw Hill, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bakewell Holiday Apartments, from Bagshaw Hall in a convenient location in Bakewell, we are able to offer a choice of luxury boutique style suites and apartments for both the leisure and business traveller, providing flexibility that a traditional hotel, or bed & breakfast accommodation do not offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bagshaw Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagshaw Hall Bakewell
Bagshaw Hall Hotel Bakewell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagshaw Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.