We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Normanhurst Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Normanhurst Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Normanhurst Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ashford Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1GL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 40 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Basildon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed two nights over the May Day bank holiday. We received a very warm welcome from John and Sue, and taken to our room (no.2) where we immediately felt relaxed and able to unwind after our three and a half hour journey as we enjoyed tea and cake. The room was spotless, and the bathroom large and we spent a peaceful night in the comfortable bed. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, perfectly cooked with plenty of choice and alternatives. The care and attention to detail in the room made it a pleasure to spend time there which I did Sunday afternoon "working" whilst sitting at the window admiring the lovely garden and views of open pasture beyond, whilst my husband was off on a photography course for the day. We have stayed in a number of B&B's over the years and this was by far one of the best. Thanks to Sue and John - the perfect hosts. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed there three nights. Sue and John took great care of us. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Every day we came home the tea, coffee and biscuits in our room were always restocked. You could tell they paid attention to even the smallest details. We loved our time there!
Natalie - Texas

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Have just returned from a great stay with John and Sue. Very friendly hosts, spotlessly clean house and room. Beds so comfy with lovely big bathroom. The most amazing part, the truly delicious breakfast. I could not get enough of the fantastic home made bread (toasted) as well as the beautiful full english breakfast. I hardly needed to eat again that day. A really super place to stay, Highly recommended and can't wait for the next visit. Great surrounding area for walks too. (Chatsworth, Haddon Hall etc all with in walking distance.)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Just arrived back from this delightful bed and breakfast.
This is an amazing find and John and Sue have given thought to every last detail.
Rooms are very clean and comfortable,and the ensuite was fantastic.
Breakfast was great, and all food sourced locally.
On arrival we were greeted with tea and cake.
Cannot speak highly enough of this little gem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We have just returned from a lovely 4 night stay with Sue and John at their B&B. As others have said, it was a pleasure to stay here. The room (no. 1) was very large and comfortable with a double aspect; window to the front & back of the house. The décor is fresh and clean ad to a very high standard. The breakfasts were very filling with a choice of full English or salmon & scrambled egg or any combination in between.

Normanhurst is about halfway between Bakewell centre & Ashford on the Water, both about a pleasant 15 minutes stroll away. Ashford is a lovely little village with a couple of nice pubs for a meal if you want a change from Bakewell itself (although you’ll need a torch at night as the street lights only go so far along the main road & it’s pitch black later on).

John & Sue were very helpful with their knowledge of the local area & suggestions of things to do (like avoid Chatsworth at the weekend as it’s far too busy & go on Monday instead). I’d recommend you make the most of their suggestions. All in all we would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Normanhurst is one of the best B&B's we have stayed in . There was lots of attention to detail that made for a very comfortable stay , the room was lovely with a great view over the fields and everything was spotlesly clean. The bed was very comfortable after a long day walking !
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice . It is only a 10 - 15 minute walk into Bakewell
John and Sue are very welcoming and we would definitely recommend this B&B

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I have just stayed at Sue and John's wonderful B&B for 2 nights. It was an absolute pleasure to stay here. Sue and John were so welcoming and friendly. Their home is spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The rooms are honestly a delight to stay in. Decorated to the highest standard with spacious and super clean bathrooms. The breakfast was impressive with cereals, yoghurt, fruit and tasty English breakfast to chose from. There is plenty of information in the rooms to help plan your trip. They also have a selection of guide books and maps in the dining area to help with planning walks and other trips. Ashford and Bakewell are just a short walk away but their general location is perfect for exploring the whole of the Peak District. The Peak District is stunning and staying at Sue and John's place just made it all the more perfect! It was a wonderful few days and we were sorry to leave, I can not recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Normanhurst Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normanhurst Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ashford Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1GL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful Edwardian house with lovely gardens situated on the edge of Bakewell and surrounded by beautiful countryside. Explore stately homes or historic villages or enjoy great walks from the door. Comfortable, spacious and well-equipped rooms with superb views, delicious food and a warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Normanhurst Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.