We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peacock Bakewell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Peacock Bakewell to your Saves list
The Peacock Bakewell
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 40 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Coventry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked a short stay for last weekend at The Peacock at short notice and from the phone call, the impression I got was one of professionalism as the lady I spoke to was very helpful. This continued from our arrival right up to the moment we left on Sunday. The staff were excellent. Very friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. The food was fantastic and great portions too. The dishes were freshly made and local ingredients used. Finally the room was a great size for the two of us and, although it was above the pub (Room 6), there were no noise disturbances and access was easy via the conservatory entrance. There was a slight humming noise from the kitchen fans when on, but they were simply background noises which was of no inconvenience.
I definately recommend this to anyone seeking a B&B in a great, central location.
There is parking on site too but this can, at times, fill up but we were able to leave the car there all weekend and enjoyed walking in the surrounding area (recommend the Monsail Trail)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    97
    30
    19
    23
See reviews for
48
174
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited this pub with three other friends, and had a great meal. I went for the beef and ale pie, which was very meaty and delicious. Everyone else enjoyed their food, which was all appeared to have been freshly prepared. There was a nice atmosphere in there, and despite the cold outside, was warm and cosy inside. For the quality of the food, it was reasonably priced. Would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hi
we stopped in the cottage accommodation which was very nice, all mod cons ,
the food in the peacock was first class, better than some 4 star hotel i have stopped in,
the staff were friendly and helpful,
the beer was good to,
i will defiantly go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Ate in the Peacock this week for an early tea. Quite full in the front of the pub, we were the only ones in the back of the pub so it did lack atmosphere. Good service, food prices approx £10. Some of the special more. They advised us how long the food would take to come out, 15 mins. Had sausage and mash and pie. Nothing to fault. Would eat again here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were on a day trip to Chattesworth House with a lunch stop in Bakewell. Chose the Peacock and were very glad we did. It was a cold day but we were soon warmed up with the welcome by the landlord and staff. They had an extensive menu and we chose the fish and chips It was freshly cooked and really delicious. Would highly recommend this pub to our friends and intend to visit again when we go back for our holiday next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I required accommodation for a working weekend in Bakewell. I chose the Peacock due to it's central location and the added bonus of a car park.
My room was spotlessly clean, and I am always endeared to crisp white quality bed linen - thank you!
I personally was not a fan of my own shower room being across the corridor - bit of a phaff locking and unlocking doors to nip across for a quick call of nature, but not the end of the world and again perfectly clean.
My room was directly over the pub and was therefore a bit noisy - however who was choosing the music had great taste! I suspect other rooms are much quieter, and anyway the noise quickly subsided at closing time.
I would stay here again - for me a good bed and cleanliness are most important and I couldn't fault either.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back if you want to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peacockbakewell, Owner at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank You for your post Lisa B, good & honest, to the point.

You came on a busy weekend, in fact all weekends are busy in Bakewell, and I think the only thing that keeps people away from our lovely little town is the snow and rain!

But you are correct in your summing up, we have one room that is the only one without full en-suite facilities, and as we were full.....yet again, that was the last room available, so consequently this was allocated to you, but as you rightly state, it is spotlessly clean etc. etc.

If you choose the Peacock for your short stay in Bakewell, please be assured all our rooms are up to the same Quality & Standard, and all have the added bonus of being en-suite, so please ask if you call the Peacock direct, to discuss your needs and requirements. I personally feel this gives you an advantage to the option of booking on-line, it is always worth that bit of extra effort from the customer's perspective.

If ever I stay anywhere, my priorities are like yours: a good bed and cleanliness, plus a good hot shower, plus good food, plus good beer, plus a good ambiance with good music playing on a traditional 1943 Wurlitzer Jukebox, plus nice staff, plus a good hearty breakfast to start my day in good lovely countryside (always a plus), plus good walks, plus.........everything!

And we at the Peacock in Bakewell offer all these...................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We recently had a weekend away in the Peak District and after spending a night in Buxton we headed to Bakewell and stayed one night at the Peacock. With a number of mixed reviews on Tripadvisor we were not sure what to expect but were delighted when we arrived. The pub is full of character, staff were friendly and it has a very cosy feel about it and seemed very popular as many people were there.

Our room was located within the same building as the pub but towards the back and upstairs. We had an ensuite room and it was really wonderful with its simple dark wood furniture, luxurious bed and sofa, it felt so comfortable and homely. If you are worried that the room would be noisy as it is within the pub, don't be, it was really quiet and we felt a million miles away from anyway when we were in the room, it was so relaxing.

Being new to Bakewell, we were not sure where to eat dinner and consulted travel guides to decide. The first place we were going to go to was full and then we headed to another but it was closed. A few pubs had been recommended but we decided to just head back and have dinner at the Peacock, as it also had a number of good reviews. We were not disappointed, to start we had the pate to share, then we had sausages and mash and one of the Sunday specials of a vegetarian wellington. The food was delicious and such good quality with really superb flavour. What ever we paid it was well worth it.

The following morning we arrived a bit late for breakfast. We felt quite bad that we had but couldn't recall being told the time but then again we never asked. In any case, the staff were very accommodating and said that they could still make us a breakfast, and what a fantastic breakfast it was. It had everything a English breakfast should have and it was big and tasted delicious, a great way to start the day.

Thanks to all at the Peacock, we really did have a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back to stay and eat more wonderful food and do the Monsal Trail, which we didn't manage this time round.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peacock Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Bakewell

Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock Bakewell 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Peacock Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Bakewell Hotel Bakewell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peacock Bakewell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.