We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely - a warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haddon House Farm B & B

Haddon House Farm B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haddon House Farm B & B
Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 38 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely - a warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed here with my father and brother, for a short walking holiday. Marilyn and Bill couldn't do enough for us, they even picked us up from the restaurant in Bakewell, at 10pm, to save us having to drive or get a cab. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable, and the breakfast was perfect. Fresh fruit, the Full English if you wanted it, and plenty of tea and toast. Yes, you are sitting around their kitchen table, and they are there with you ready for a chat, but that's what you get in a B&B - stay in a hotel if you want the anonymity. We found them a very interesting couple, and very welcoming but not overbearing at all. The area around Bakewell is stunning, and there is so much to do. Of course our hosts knew about all the best walks. My only request would be heavier curtains or blackout blinds for those early sunrises, but then I'm fussy about that sort of thing. We will be back.

Room Tip: There is a great 'family suite' with a four poster room, shower room and cute children's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Sometimes you find a place you know will become a favourite, a place to return to time after time. We had a lovely stay at Haddon House Farm. The decor, furnishings, service were far better than your average B&B. Marilyn’s welcome was warm, helpful, informative. Nothing seems too much trouble - even a lift to the pub (and back again). Breakfast was really fresh and appealing, the other guests were great company. Best of all was the hot tub - twinkling lights and a lovely garden. Bakewell was really quaint with good pubs and cafes. We enjoyed some ice cream by the side of the river where there’s lots of benches to sit awhile. We are already planning our return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Quite simply the best B&B in the entire world - we had a wonderful time

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich,norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

VERY DISAPPOINTED.The web site states you have fresh bread and blueberry muffins for breakfast we didnt see any of these on our two night break away. The TV in room was a terrible picture and colour was all over the place, and as listed on web site a boutique bed and breakfast this dosnt even come up to.it . There was no apology for the missing things at breakfast either.All in all far to expensive for just a bog standard bed and breakfast and this was all this was. The website for the place is very over rated, looks nice on the web- site untill you arrive and start to drive up the yard to the place, and then after your stay and payed the expensive price you wouldnt want to stop again.For the expensive price this was very very disappoining.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Love it or hate it you'll never forget it and, there can be no doubt, some people will love Haddon House Farm. However, we can not include ourselves in this category as we found the entire experience overwhelmingly weird. Upon arrival we were greeted by Marylin, the kooky Canadian owner, who confused me greatly by asking, "how should I call you?" Not that this question is difficult to understand but it did set the tone for the next three days; that being strange. Whilst being escorted to the Monet room (so called because of the outrageous decor; all things Monet) my girlfriend was frightened and somewhat disturbed by the stuffed owls in the entrance hall. I, too, am not a big fan of walking amongst dead animals. The hall was also decorated with bark, dried flower arrangements and children with no faces: Creepy!
The Monet lived up to expectations. Not a single surface (wall, ceiling or floor) was without a Monet or Marylinesque "feature". It was the latter that disturbed us the most: A bust that looked like a child who had been punched in the face; seagull shaped toilet roll holder; poems, written by Marylin, that explained, using too much detail, how to use the Saniflow system; postcards, everywhere, explaining how you should behave; more owls on the windows; guests poetry in a notebook which ranged in quality from poor to downright bizarre; and a guidebook that was more of a guide to Marylin than a guide to Bakewell.
We think we need to explain the guidebook a little further. Firstly, the restaurant reviews. These were mainly of restaurants that Marylin didn't like except for one, Piedaniels, that she loves overwhelmingly and rated it 9.9/10 losing marks only for lack of visual colour. Visual colour? Secondly, the guide to Marylin. Do we really need to know that she is from Toronto, where her great-grandfather owned a shop; that she likes flying, with Bill (more on him later) in a microlight; that she occasionally lives within a mile of film stars; that she does local archeology courses? Or would we prefer to have knowledge of things to do in Bakewell?
One final thing about the room: The bathroom. The saniflow system can create some terrible smells and is very, very loud when in operation. Also, it was never explained to us that the bathroom was without shower. We took it for granted, when we called up, that it would be a bath AND a shower.
Onto breakfast, It is a good thing, no doubt, that guests are allowed to choose when they have their breakfast. However, upon arrival one is greeted by a single table which you have to share with all the other guests who have chosen to eat at the same time as you. Even if you are tired you really have no choice but to join the conversation, even if it is with people who are a bit dull and if it is basically a rehash of what you have read in the guide book (which it is). Also, Marylin cooks in front of you so she is an eternal presence; she likes nothing more than to talk about herself although, occasionally, she will also tell you of things she has read in the Daily Telegraph. During these infernal monologues she finds time to order Bill, her husband, around. Poor Bill, I rather liked him.
So, summing up, it is quite expensive (they charge £25 for an hour in the hot tub; the tub being our main reason for choosing the farm); it is bizarre; and worst of all, Marylin did not laugh at my jokes.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

What a beautiful bed and breakfast this is. Michael and I stayed here for one night as a belated wedding anniversary celebration. Our only disappointment was that we couldnt stay longer. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel very welcome. Our room for the night was "the monet" and truly makes you feel like youve stepped into a painting. The bed was just heavenly we didnt want to get up. Though having forced ourselves to do this we werent disappointed with the breakfast awaiting. Freshly baked muffins, bacon and eggs and extremely warm and interesting hosts to make us feel at home. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and would definately recommend it to friends - tempting as it is to keep it as our secret!
Many thanks for your kindness we hope to see you again soon.
Michael and Charlotte

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

This is a great B&B. A little on the pricey scale, but the size of the rooms, the lovely garden and the delicious breakfast make it worth it. The B&B is a five minute walk from town and surrounded by many walking trails, which the owners are happy to explain to you. A large stock of maps they lend out means they will never be lost and their restaurant recommendations are spot on and honest.

Overall, a lovely relaxing stay

Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haddon House Farm B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddon House Farm B & B

Address: Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Also Known As:
Haddon House Farm Hotel Bakewell
Haddon House Farm Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haddon House Farm B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Haddon House Farm B & B to your Saves list