We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, small double bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chesterfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland Hotel
Save
You added Portland Hotel to your Saves list
West Bars, Chesterfield S40 1AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Chesterfield
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great hotel, small double bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Love the location of hotel and rooms are nice but the double beds are too small for two people, 5 out of 5 if the beds were bigger!

There's not much space in the car park but if you can't get a space then just ask at reception and sometimes they are able to find one.

Also it's not at all noisy despite being above a pub and in town centre.

Nice tea and biscuits in the room too

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    65
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
76
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Our second stay here and just as good. Staff are helpfully, room (101 family) is a good corner room, plenty of light and space. With teenage daughter and so the separate guests eating room is an ideal area from those that enjoy their beer. Small parking area but staff know how to sort out.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We always try to stay in the Portland when we visit Chesterfield- usually at least once a year. This time was no exception. The welcome and booking in is very good, the rooms is clean and bright with plenty of towels, tea, coffee etc. Despite being over the pub the noise is is very minimal. The food is typical Wetherspoons - not exciting but always of good quality, and as a real ale enthusiast I am always happy with the beer and its price. Sometimes it is worth booking late - there are some good discounts online.

Room Tip: We have a favourite room but I won't give it away in case somebody gets its!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Portland Hotel is one of the Wetherspoon Chain. Our room was large, clean, well equipped with coffee/tea making facilities, and towels were large and luxurious.
The staff were first rate, friendly, helpful, always smiling and looked as if they enjoyed working there.
We had Eggs Benedict for breakfast one morning and they were delicious, as was all the food we had there.
It is centrally located. The market on Saturday is close by and worth a visit.
My husband treated me to a surprise weekend away. Part of the success of the weekend was down to the Portland.

Room Tip: We had a room over the main door so there was noise from the door opening and closing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location and great value. Nice rooms and very friendly staff. Will be going back when we visit family up there at Christmas. Breakfast served downstairs in the bar and again good value.rooms at the front of the hotel can be a little noisy !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent two nights at the Portland and found the staff were efficient and friendly. The room was very clean, comfortable and we were provided with excellent tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, trouser press etc. in fact, more than you might expect from a 'pub hotel'. The breakfast was very good. The only downside is the parking situation. There are only a few places, which can be a problem when you return to the hotel fairly late and do not know of any alternative car parks. There is a disabled bay but this was taken by a car which did not display a blue badge. When we mentioned this to hotel staff, pointing out the implications for a disabled person (one of my party was disabled), they seemed indifferent.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax west yorkshire united kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

went to jdw portland hotel with friends for the weekend room only but great offer 3 for 2nights.staff were friendly and breakfast was good.ideal for town centre and market.very clean and comfortable ideal if you use the bus 5mins from most stops really good weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Hotel

Address: West Bars, Chesterfield S40 1AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a JD Wetherspoon hotel in the centre of Chesterfield opposite the historical market place. We have 22 rooms, all onsuite with tea and coffee making facilities,hairdryers and freeview tv we now have a disabled room with all disabled ammenities. We also have a car park however our car park is limited space and on a 1st come 1st serve basis please ring us to pre book your space to avoid disappoint our car park is just £3.50 Per night Alternate car parking is the Sun Inn Pub opposite the Portland (front of our pub) £8.00 For 24hrs and The Old Court House £6.00 For 24hrs For best available rates book online ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portland Hotel Chesterfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.