We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose and Crown

Rose and Crown
High Street | Barlborough, S43 4ET, Chesterfield s43 4et, England
+44 1246 810951
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 244 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Rose and crown is in the heart of the village and has got the character and cosy feeling of a local village pub serving proper homemade hearty food for all the family. It also has a good selection of wines and beers. Reservations are advisable to avoid disappointment as it is a busy little pub at prime times.
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

How nice to find a place which serves real food Well worth the short wait to have fresh and beautifully presented meals. Can't fault the place except that they close on Monday. Any chance of a re-think every 4th Monday night?

We will be back often
Rose

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billy c, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Rose,
Really glad you enjoyed your experience here at the Rose and Crown. We hope to see you again very soon and we will look into opening on Mondays.

Thankyou for your feedback, Billy and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    19
    5
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Number one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

While on a weeks holiday we actually didn't eat in this pub until our last evening when we couldn't get into another pub we had previously used. How lucky was that, this place is a gem. The menu is good and food when it arrived could not be faulted for quality or for quantity. The smoked salmon and prawn started was almost a meal in itself and the rack of lamb my husband had was cooked to perfection. My cod loin with chorizo was just too much for me to finish but that is certainly no reflection on the quality of the dish. Needless to say we didn't make it to deserts. The service was perfect, attentive without being intrusive and it was altogether one of the best eating experiences I can remember having for quite some time and without doubt the best during the week we spent in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billy c, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi, Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. Really glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at the Rose and Crown, Hope to see you when you visit the area again.
Kind Regards, Billy Chambers and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and child friendly as well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Visited yesterday evening with my two sons, dropped in by chance and we were all pleasantly surprised, great choice of food, nicely presented and tasted great. Lovely staff will definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billy c, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Hi
Thankyou for your wonderful comments and feedback. Really glad you enjoyed your evening and enjoyed the food and wine you chose. Hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Billy Chambers,
Landlord.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is the first time I have been to the Rose and Crown even though I live down the road. It attracted me in as it has recently been taken over and now do Carveries :). I am a vegetarian and I had a great big plate full of lots of veg, potatoes and mash! The bonus is they had vegi gravy too without having to request it separately. One of the best carveries we have had! Well done Rose and Crown - we will recommend and will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“excellent carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to this delightful pub, having had one of the best Sunday lunch carveries. There's a wide choice of 4 joints, beef pork ham and turkey all great, as there were 3 of us, we each tried a different meat! Large selection of vegetables, including my favorite cauliflower cheese , all cooked just right. The bar has a good range of beers, lager etc and looks recently decorated, we were in the restaurant area, which we had reserved, a good job as every table was taken. The staff were very welcoming and within 5 minutes we had our drinks and sat at our table. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Barlow, Chesterfield
 

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose and Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.