We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming hotel with wonderful Home Cooked Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbeydale Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abbeydale Hotel to your Saves list
Abbeydale Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cross Street, Chesterfield S40 4TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Chesterfield
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very welcoming hotel with wonderful Home Cooked Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a three night break in snowy March but had a very warm welcome by Finn and Else ,the owners of this hotel. The food was of a very high standard cooked daily with a varied menu of fresh local ingredients. The room, although not the largest double we have stayed in ,was spotlessly clean and was very well presented. We would certainly stay there again and would recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
47
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night. It's about 15 mins walk from station, and same in to town.
The managers are very friendly.

Clean sheets, and bathroom facilities (shower quite small). Bedroom is slightly small room, but it's not a big issue.

Full English breakfast is provided including hot food, cereals, fruits, tea, coffee and juice etc and is quite nice. Tea and coffee are also available in the room.

Also possible to have dinner, however we weren't very hungry so did not partake. Main course is £15, and on the night we were there there weren't any vegetarian options on the menu provided, but guest information did say that other dietary options were catered for if requested.

if you're visiting Chesterfield or the nearby sights and relying upon public transport, don't go on a Sunday!

Else and Finn and staff were very welcoming and friendly. All in all, a rather nice place to stay.

Room Tip: room 17 is clean with adjoining bathroom. Bathroom is spacious and has a shower and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and found this small hotel very welcoming and within easy walking distance of town centre.
I will stay here again next time I'm in chesterfield instead of the soulless big brand hotel chains.
It's not the cheapest but I'd still recommend staying in this very welcoming hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Having to stay away with work frequently, I was a bit unsure about not staying in the usual Premier Inn and Holiday Inn, but I am so glad I didnt stay there having experienced the hospitality of Finn & Else, who made me feel very welcome from the moment I arrived until the morning i checked out 3 days later, especially being a female travelling alone, I'm always a bit aprehensive.. The room I stayed in was very clean, with all the basic's I needed for a comfortable business trip.

The food was outstanding and very reasonably priced for the quality.

If I am ever in Chesterfield for work again, I will for sure be coming back to this little gem of a hotel.

Thank you both :0)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasik (Nashik), Maharashtra, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here for one month in January 2013. Else & Fin made my stay memorable. they are wonderful host & taking care of guest like parents. Excellent rooms...., mouth watering food....., pleasant atmosphere..... & caring host..... I would really say its home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Overall: It's a small privately run hotel, not a chain, not a Travelodge. It's "personal" in many ways. I would happily stay there again.

Reception: I got a nice welcome on arrival. I did trip over the double glazed door sill so be careful.

Room: I had a small single as I was travelling by myself. The bed was just fine, the bed linen was clean & crisp. The TV worked well although the channels were in a weird order. The en-suite bathroom was a little on the small side, but it was clean and the water pressure was good in the shower.

Food: Fantastic: I only had breakfast which was individually cooked and VERY nice.

Staff: Else & Finn are great hosts. There when you need them, ghosts when you don't.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind words, we appreciate that you have taken time out to give us this lovely review, hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Best regards
Else & Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suntan01
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

What an excellent experience.... ! Else & Finn are wonderful hosts.

I was a female travelling alone and I have never felt so relaxed when working away from home and staying in a hotel.

My room was beautiful, I had a fabulous night sleep, high quality linen and it was immaculate.

I have to make a special mention in respect of the delicious food served both at breakfast and at dinner. It was superb, Finn you are an amazing chef.

This hotel is a real credit to the owners, the whole experience exceeded my expectations, I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Helen
thank you ever so much for your lovely review.
You were a pleasure having here at Abbeydale Hotel, and
we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards and many thanks for the review

Else & Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbeydale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeydale Hotel

Address: Cross Street, Chesterfield S40 4TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeydale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality homely accommodation and restaurant five minutes from Chesterfield Town Centre with free private parking and free WiFi. The Abbeydale Hotel is located in a quiet part of the town, but still only 5 minutes walk away from the bustling town centre, with its famous market and Crooked Spire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Abbeydale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbeydale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.