We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbeydale Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abbeydale Hotel to your Saves list
Abbeydale Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cross Street, Chesterfield S40 4TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Chesterfield
dumfriesshire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here last week as a solo traveller. Small single en-suite room, which was perfectly adequate for an overnight stay, but the shower was not particulary powerful enough.
Had dinner in the hotel in the evening, very good indeed. Breakfast was great, with fresh fruit and a lovely cooked breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff and I would have no hesitation if travelling to Chesterfield again to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
many thanks for your positive comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    30
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
47
15
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as we were attending the Elton John concert. From the moment we walked in the owners made us most welcome. We checked in and they showed us to the spotless room, which had tea and coffee facilities and toiletries. The hotel also has its own bar which is open from mid afternoon till 10pm. The owner was most helpful with anything we needed to know about the area. The breakfast was also great help yourself to cereals, choice of fresh fruit, juices and yogurt while they cooked you fresh to order a English breakfast and served tea or coffee. If we were ever in Chesterfield again we would definitenly stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
thank you for taken the time give us your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I booked this hotel by chance as I had tickets to see Elton John at B2B Stadium. We arrived late in the evening and it was difficult to get a taxi to the show, yet the hotel owners kindly offered to take me and my partner to the stadium. What a life saver!

The owners Finn and Elsa are such warm and kind people. I have never had such a heartfelt and genuine welcome. Their personal touch is so natural; when you meet them it's like you have known them forever.

The hotel room was immaculate; and had everything we needed. I will definately visit again and strongly advise anyone else to book this hotel - which is Chesterfield's gem.

Thank you for the chocolate cake Finn and Elsa - it was amazing xxx Teresa xxx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This three star b&b/hotel punches well above its weight. The room we were in - refreshingly, ground floor - was spotlessly clean and internet reception was very good. It was also quiet. It is well-located for sightseeing in the Peak District. The hosts are hospitable and are very good cooks. As well as top breakfasts, freshly cooked to order, and with my favourite fresh fruit salad, they serve a well chosen and cooked three-course dinner - three choices, aboout 16 pounds for the main course and reasonable wines and beers. We ate in every night and thoroughly enjoyed each meal. They also helped with printing booking confirmations and arranged laundry for a reasonable price. What more could long term travellers want?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is a superb gem of a small hotel, well located near the English Peak District for both town and country sightseeing. It is ideally suited to mature couples for a spotlessly clean hotel stay with excellent food and caring attentive proprietors. I cannot recommend it highly enough!
Myself and three friends had a most happy time there in May 2012.

Room Tip: Those with mobility problems can request a downstairs room. The proprietors, Else and Finn, will do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This hotel is the best hotel I've ever stayed in the UK. Finn & Else are very kind and helpful, so we felt like at home during our stay. Moreover, their food is very nice - We've had a dinner as well but both breakfast and dinner are very tasty.
The location is a bit far from the centre but it is an acceptable level. When we left the hotel, they kindly gave us a lift to the station.

Room Tip: Although twin room does not appear in the booking form, they do have one. You can ask them if it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I travel a lot. This is the best hotel I have ever visited. Great services. Family atmosphere. Great food.

Room Tip: Nr. 17 beutifull (especially for ladies)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbeydalehotel, Owner at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hi Ivana, many thanks for the kind words, we hope to see you next time you are in Chesterfield.
Take care.
Else & Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbeydale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeydale Hotel

Address: Cross Street, Chesterfield S40 4TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeydale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality homely accommodation and restaurant five minutes from Chesterfield Town Centre with free private parking and free WiFi. The Abbeydale Hotel is located in a quiet part of the town, but still only 5 minutes walk away from the bustling town centre, with its famous market and Crooked Spire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Abbeydale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbeydale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.