We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday - a table for eight people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckingham's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Buckingham's Hotel to your Saves list
Buckingham's Hotel
85 Newbold Road | Newbold, Chesterfield S41 7PU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Chesterfield
Milan, Italy
1 review
“birthday - a table for eight people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a super evening with beautiful food and discreet service.
It was a special evening for us all - to celebrate Mum's 75th birthday and a family reunion.
The personal service meant that we all had an evening to remember.
Thank you
We will be back.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    40
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
93
10
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Wouldn't recommend this hotel, there a far better in the area. We sat down to eat in the restaurant and the decor is very dated with glass clowns all over the place. The food was average and our room had a teddy bear on the bed. Our room had a bad stain on the floor which smelt of human poo. The owners were rowing in the early hours of the morning which kept us awake for most of the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We've been here for my birthday two years in a row now and will definitely be returning. The food is simply stunning, and together with the owners' personal service this puts Buckingham's in a different league than other restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Myself and a group of seven friends have recently enyoyed the individual dining experience of the one table restaurent.
The meal was excellent, and each course was individually described to us by the chef, giving a personal touch and although there were several people new to the experience of an 'unknown menu' ......no course was unfinished..... several people said they are were surprised that they tried and enjoyed, such different types of food....
The pre and post customer service was excellent and they certainly make you feel special, I know several of the party are already looking to book again...
Give it a try - you will enjoy!

Room Tip: Can only comment from a dining perspective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I have just had our second stay at Buckinghams and was just as impressed as the first. The food was excellent as last time, and I again ate food I would never normally have dreamed of trying. It really is a treat for the taste buds and if I lived closer I would definitely be eating here more often. Nick is truly a magician in the kitchen and the way he explains to you just what you are being served is just fantastic. I also love the fact that all the decision of what to eat is taken away, and is replaced by the excitement of what will be served. Tina is extremely attentative, but not overboard at the dinner table, making the whole experience just perfect. This is definitely my favourite place, and the one I always recommend. Hope to be going back very soon.
P.S Breakfast is also the best I have ever had, and Nick's Orange Marmelade is just so scrummy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My partner originally heard about this on the radio and did purchase some vouchers to try it for my birthday as a surprise. Unfortunately I was unable to make it at the time so we decided to try it with friends at the beginning of Jan. To say this was a dining experience that satisfied us all was an understatement. Everything was cooked with care and attention and the chef was clearly proud of what he produces by way of presenting and explaining what was being served. We had no idea what we were due to be served but everything we were served was not only savoured, every morcel was eaten. Service was excellent, food was rates the best I have had and I have eaten in many high class restaurants. We had the bronze menu. Fabulous - so much so I booked at the end of the meal for 14th Feb Gold menu.

Room Tip: The other categories did not apply - we simplay went to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was looking for a nice restaurant to take my wife for a birthday meal.
I gave the restaurant a call to book and wanted to book at 8, I was told they were unable to accommodate this time and could we come earlier, I thought that's fine as its understandable if they are busy.
Upon arrival we are greeted by a waitress wearing ugg boots sand her child, I was very surprised as we entered as there was no-one else in the restaurant. It felt very awkward as there was no music and just me and my wife surrounded by hundreds of pot clowns!
We were waiting for the starter to arrive and in the room adjoining where we were they had coronation street on which was very disappointing to say the least.
The surprise salmon starter arrived which tasted very nice.
Just before we were given our main course they managed to turn off corrie however there was still no music, I'm not saying I find it hard to talk to my wife but when your the only people in the restaurant it's a little awkward.
The main arrived and I was a little disappointed by the veg as it was tasteless and it was to similar to the steam bags you put in microwave.
Just as we got our desserts the chef had obviously clocked off as it was time for ice road truckers on the tv! We then had dessert which was ok.
In all we spent £70 for the meal, which I feel it was over priced especially as it is usually £50 a head.
We had tap water with the meal and we had the pleasure of paying for this!

My wife was very upset as we rarely go out for expensive meals and it was spoilt by a few simple things. There was no consultation before the which is what they pride them-self on as its a surprise menu.

I would go as far to say this was the worst atmosphere I have experienced in a restaurant, however the waitress was friendly and the food was ok just not worth the money in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckingham's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham's Hotel

Address: 85 Newbold Road | Newbold, Chesterfield S41 7PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chesterfield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Hotel and Restaurant situated in the centre of Chesterfield, the gateway to the Peak District and close to the M1 Motorway. All bedrooms offer luxury en-suite with free Wifi. The Buckingham family are well known for their warm and friendly hotel. The restaurant is unusual in the fact that there are no menus, which means meals are prepared to your personal requirements with the emphasis on quality and freshness. All bedrooms refurbished to increase space and quality of each room. Some bedrooms are designated superior these are particularly spacious and include their own seating area. Each bedroom boasts many facilities such as colour television with tele-text, freeview box, clock radio, hot drink facilities, stationary set, water and mints, direct dial telephone, controlled central heating, accessible computer modem points, WiFi, and hairdryer.Buckingham's is well known for The Restaurant with One Table and the Clowns Conservatory, the concept of the restaurants was conceived out of frustration and a desire to develop food that does not conform to normal paradigms. At this cosy Derbyshire restaurant, there is no compromise on quality, ingredients or taste, and excellence comes as standard.Amongst its many accolades, the hotel has gained an award for 'Best Breakfast of the Year' and ‘Best Restaurant of the Year’ from Derbyshire Food and Drink Awards. The Hotel has also been recommended by QIT and Best Loved Hotels.Chesterfield town centre is five minutes’ walk away; here you can find the famous Crooked Spire of its parish church. Chesterfield is also home to one of the largest open-air markets in the country. Chesterfield is situated on the edge of the Peak National Park with some of the most spectacular and beautiful coutryside in England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buckingham's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckinghams Hotel Chesterfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckingham's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.