We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite chinese restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Pearl

Oriental Pearl
113 Thanet Street | Clay Cross, Chesterfield S45 9JS , England
+44 124.686.2348
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 258 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My favourite chinese restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

One of the best!

Do not let the looks put you off. While not terrible the place would certainly benefit from a spruce up here and there but that's not why me and my wife go. The food, absolutely fantastic. You can't beat the quality. We visit to eat in a couple of times a month and usually have a takeaway once a month also. We have never had a bad meal.

The staff are excellent and really take the time to get to know you.

For me when it comes to chinese restaurants in Chesterfield, this place is the measuring stick.

See you again soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Awesome Chinese food. Eaten here at least 20 times and consistently good. Only once was there a mix up which was quickly rectified. Lovely staff.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value for lovely food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Oriental Pearl isn't the most fashionable or swish restauarant i've ever been to but it has delicious food and good service. It's clean, nice friendly atmosphere and all the dishes you'd expect frm a Chinese restaurant in the UK. The hot and sour soup was great and I enjoyed by mushroom chow mein too. For a drink, starter, main course and coffee I paid £14.50. Really good value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

As an extended family based in Derbyhire and Notts, the Clay Cross & Alfreton area is the perfect location to meet up for celebratory meals etc. We've tried a few places already (including two places within 1/4 mile of this one!), but they have all been found wanting in one respect or the other.

This place is a real find! The food and service was excellent - really, really good fresh food, an extensive menu - including plenty of choice for the two vegetarians in the group (often a problem at Chinese restaurants), and very smiley, friendly people without exception.

The prices were pretty reasonable, especially if you choose the set menus - this worked brilliantly for the ten of us, sat at a round table with a "lazy susan" so the dishes could be easily passed around. We had a great night.

The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is for the decor/atmosphere - it's not bad, but probably not the place to go for an intimate meal for two - as another reviewer mentioned, it's a bit brighter than it could be, with white walls making it feel a little on the harsh side. However, don't be put off by the exterior - it's much nicer inside than you might think.

The acid test is: "will we go back?" and the answer is a definite "yes, we will".

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food fantastic!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Had a meal here a while ago when we lived in the area, recommended by a neighbour. Had a great time the staff were fab, the food was better than any chinese we've had before and from then on we'd get our take-aways from there. Only 1 suggestion was that it ws a bit bright inside, the lights were on full, just would be better to dim them a bit to create an atmosphere (and hide the bleary eyes after too much wine).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Pearl also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to Oriental Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.