We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Pump

The Old Pump
Hackney Lane | Barlow, Chesterfield S18 7TD , England
0114 289 0296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 246 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Excellent food and service. The staff were really friendly and the the place had a great atmosphere. They had a very good selection of real ales that included local favorites and some guest ales.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    34
    14
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch time value for more mature diners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

A friend and I stopped here whilst on a walk on the Monday. Mondays always tend to be quiet, but this was quieter than most because the road outside was closed. WE had an excellent main course for £5.

The following day I returned with two ladies and we had the full 3 courses for £7. How they do it for the price is amazing. The helpings weren't small, so what the full price versions of the same dishes would be like beggars belief!

This should be a 4 and a half star report. The fact I returned two days running must be an indication of value. However, one small amusing item - fortunately the lady was on a diet. The size of the fish in her fish and chips was tiny. A tiddler! An escapee from a fish pie, perhaps. The sprat that caught the mackerel? My pie of the day was..... substantial, so bang went my dietl!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Abysmal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Worst service I have ever had anywhere. We booked a table for 6 to eat at 08:00 the first comments we got was that they were running late and wouldn't be taking our order for another 40 minutes. When I complained I was told that there was nothing they could do as the manager wasn't available,
No apologies, no offer of a free drink to tide us over, in fact nothing.
When they eventually took our order they had run out of Sirloin steak, I ask you running out of a basic food, a special you could understand .......

The food was average at best, we got 4 of our 5 starters at the same time, but had to ask for the 5th.

Don't go, its not worth it £200 pound wasted , NEVER AGAIN.

I am only giving it one star because trip advisor doesn't allow a zero.


.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Pleasant eving with good service,food, and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We went to the old pump last night. The weather was awful but on arriving at the pub things changed to the opposite. We were greeeted by a very pleasant waitress, Katie and were seated at our table to decide on what we wanted to eat. Our drinks were excellent , As a real ale fanatic I was served an excelelnt pint of Hobgoblin. We made our choice , my wife had the duck and after some help from the waitress I decided on the pie of the day. I have issues with how pies are served in some local pubs but this was a proper slice of pie served straight onto the plate with good home made chips and mushy peas. No fancy dishes on the plate just proper food.We had an excellent meal meal which warmed us up on a grotty night. Thank you the Old Pump.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St neots
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good beer very good grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Pub offers a selection of ales and the fish and chips can be recommended. The pie of the day is also excellent.

The lounge end of the bar has a lovely fire place with log burner which is lovely and cosy in winter.

Definitely worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Pump also viewed

Cutthorpe, Chesterfield
Barlow, Chesterfield
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Old Pump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Pump, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.