We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High prices in a standard pub.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Market Pub

The Market Pub
95 New Square, Chesterfield, England
01246273641
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 258 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Price range: $11 - $16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“High prices in a standard pub.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I remember the Market from 7 years ago when I lived in Chesterfield. It was always a steady pub that had a few real ales and traditional pub grub. Sadly, on my visit yesterday, the Market would be better advising potential customers what to expect by adding "Up" in front of its name. I bought a pint of real ale and couldn't believe it when I was asked for £3.75 - it was a good pint but one that is fairly common. The menu was also on the pricey side and looking at some food arriving on the next table, the portions were far from generous. I'm very sad that the Market has gone this way - it used to be a good reliable pub with fairly priced beer and food.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    36
    6
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Recommended ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to have Sunday lunch at The Market Pub. Although it did take a while for our meals to arrive the food was fantastic. Reasonable prices, friendly staff and a cosy atmosphere. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had a very good meal here early Saturday night, the kitchen is only small but the
Portions are generous my daughter had the pie which is all homemade and she said it was delicious. The only thing to note it can be a bit on the noisy side if u don't like that kind of pub

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“More than a pub and amazing chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We popped in on a sunny Saturday afternoon for lunch. What looks like a modest pub from the outside was a real surprise - great menu (food and wine), the pie and burger menu is all very tempting,in particular. Generous portions too! I could eat their chips all day.

Great place and we'll return, good one to take the parents.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“small but cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

the market pub opens at 11 and if you are hungry they start cooking about the same time. The food is always cooked to order so be patient while they cook. Looking at the kitchen you wonder how they can produce such good food in so small an area----but they do. We have been eating at the Market pub for a number of years, and will no doubt be eating there for many more years. P.S. my favourite is fish chips and mushy peas plus a pint of course

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market Pub also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Market Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Market Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.