We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bateman's Mill Restaurant

The Bateman's Mill Restaurant
Mill Lane, Chesterfield S42 6AE, England
01246 862296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 258 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We went for a Sunday brunch were delighted with how good the food was. Definitely will be coming back - great value for money. No more going to the Miner's Arms which has gone downhill over the years.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Consistently great food & fantastic value - best sunday lunches out there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have visited Batemans Mill on many occasions over the past couple of years for evenings out, sunday lunches & Xmas day. I must say we have always had a great experience & we have been there a lot of times!

The food is always cooked superbly. The best sunday lunch out you can get. The price is a steal on a sunday something like £8 for 1 course, £12 for two courses £13 for 3 courses! It's all quality. The biggest Yorkshire puds, plently of meat & veg all served with extra gravey. Portions are on the rather generous side so make sure you've got a good appetite before your visit.

Cosy relaxing surrondings downstairs - lovely in winter when the log fires on you can sit beside whilst enjoying your meal. Or if you fancy something more formal they do have the lovely rustic looking restaurant up stairs too. Service has also always been spot on very attentive & friendly. Can not fault it at all.

It's probably best to book for meals now though when we first started vsiting it was rather quiet but now it is always busy - no surprise really - word is out how great it is. Although they will always do their best to accommodate you during busy periods.

Great choice of real ales & unusual drinks such as the flavoured vodkas or strawberry beers.

The only down side to this place is that i usually enjoy the food too much so have had to cut down on the number of visits as the waistbands were getting rather tight!

Recomended to lots of friends & family. All who have been have throughly enjoyed themselves.

If you like good quality hearty food in friendly surroundings this is the place for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“definitely a full tummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

great atmosphere, good range of drinks on offer, good menu choice and the food was lovely, on the downside I do think the prices are a bit high, okay for special occasions but not regular dining out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Exellent local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Lunch was very good and affordable. Selection of meals with offers. Evening meals in the restaurant can be a little variable, so choose something you know you like.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“great sunday lunch 15september 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

came here for sunay lunch after being on holiday for a week as i didn.t feel like cooking .we really enjoyed it. it is definitely value for money.the bar was cosy the staff were friendly. we will definately be going there again. .s42 couple

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bateman's Mill Restaurant also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Bateman's Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bateman's Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.