We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely a full tummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bateman's Mill Restaurant

The Bateman's Mill Restaurant
Mill Lane, Chesterfield S42 6AE, England
01246 862296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 267 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chesterfield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“definitely a full tummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

great atmosphere, good range of drinks on offer, good menu choice and the food was lovely, on the downside I do think the prices are a bit high, okay for special occasions but not regular dining out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    21
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exellent local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Lunch was very good and affordable. Selection of meals with offers. Evening meals in the restaurant can be a little variable, so choose something you know you like.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“great sunday lunch 15september 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

came here for sunay lunch after being on holiday for a week as i didn.t feel like cooking .we really enjoyed it. it is definitely value for money.the bar was cosy the staff were friendly. we will definately be going there again. .s42 couple

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton in ashfield
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“RAN OUT OF FOOD!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Called here with friends in the afternoon of Sunday 11th August for a bite to eat.
Was told they couldn't accommodate us as they had run out of food, unless we'd pre-booked a table which we hadn't!!!!! Never heard anything quite like this before.
What did the pre-booked diners receive I wonder?
In these times of a supposed recession how can business' afford to turn custom away?
Suffice to say we walked out NEVER to return.
Nothing short of a disgrace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A lovely anniversary meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This evening myself and 9 other members of my family had a lovely meal at Bateman's for my parents 20th wedding anniversary.
We all didn't have starters so I can't comment on those.
But the mains were yummy. I had a burger with bacon and Stilton.
Yes a simple burger but No, it was one of the nicest burgers I've had in a long time and burgers are usually hard to master.
Juicy and it actually tasted if beef! Lots of accompaniments too and homemade chips.
Other members in our party had steak and kidney pie, roast salmon and lamb rump all equally nice.
The 3 childrens portions were huge!
I had cheese and biscuits to finish and it came with a huge plate of biscuits something which other places usually skimp on.
Well done Bateman's we will defiantly be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bateman's Mill Restaurant also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Barlow, Chesterfield
 

Been to The Bateman's Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bateman's Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.