We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolsover Castle

Bolsover Castle
Castle Street | Bolsover, Chesterfield S44 6PR, England
44 1246 822 844
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 attractions in Chesterfield
Type: Castles
Attraction Details
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What an impressive castle. The approach view was amazing. I thought it would just be ruins (again) but was pleasantly surprised. We were lucky to get a fantastic view as the weather was not good. The Little Castle was fascinating, with lovely wall and ceiling paintings and lots of rooms to explore. We watched the horse display which at about 15mins was interesting and long enough for a non horsey person. The restaurant food was good but not enough prices displayed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    106
    29
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lady who loves history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a fabulous day at Bolsover castle! We never expected there to be so much to learn. The place is reaped in history that spans the ages. The guides are very knowledgeable and helpful. Unfortunately the shop had run out of audio guides but that wasn't a problem since John Taylor, one of the guides had answers to all my questions. And...what a lovely surprise...a gymnastic horse show in the arena! It was excellent!
If I have one gripe, it would be tea served in a paper cup costing the same as my first cuppa served in a pot with a cup and saucer. Sorry but my student days of paper cups are over! If the caterers know that bank holidays are going to get busy, then they should plan their crockery in advance. However...they did have a gorgeous gluten free chocolate flapjack : )
Oh and finally...I loved the gifts in the shop and treated myself to the guide book that I am now reading enthusiastically.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Did not know Bolsover had a castle. What an imposing view as you drive into Bolsover. Extra events happen certain weekends. Views to die for and plenty of grass area for children to have a picnic

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frosterley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A little disappionted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited here as part of a car treasure hunt, we should have had car parking reserved but did not so parking was very difficult. staff did there best to help.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not as much to see and do as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We are English Heritage members and so have visited a range of their properties. I would have liked to have seen some interpreters or an activity given it was the Spring break holiday. Guide book or audio tour is a must to understand what you are seeing and the history of the castle. Fantastic view of surrounding area. I was pleased to see things for children to do and try. I'd definitely recommend it as a place to visit, but don't expect to spend all day there and wear sensible shoes and layers as it is mainly outside.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolsover Castle also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to Bolsover Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolsover Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bolsover Castle to your Saves list