We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonnas Chesterfield

Nonnas Chesterfield
131 Chatsworth Road | Chesterfield, Chesterfield, England
01246380035
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 246 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Price range: $8 - $53
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sister restaurant of Nonnas in Sheffield
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had the oopertunity to use the coffe house and the restaurant, both are very good and consistenly very good. The Deli sells some amazing wines and meats, coffee to die for for. Great location and well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    36
    27
    29
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Celebration meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I visited Nonna's for a celebration meal on a Saturday night with my husband, sister and brother-in-law.
The atmosphere was great and the food was really excellent but the service was poor. The head staff seems arrogant and not at all concerned with our experience. We had to ask to place our order, ask for our pudding and then go to the front desk to pay the bill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Much improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have visited this restaurant since it opened as it was a good addition to Chesterfield restaurant scene. Last year (2012) there seemed to be a great drop off in quality and service, and I believe there are many reviews covering this. However, they seem to be listening and the last two visits have been great.

The food portions are back to being acceptabel in size and quality. The waiting staff are more attentive and actually seem to reaslise that they are there to serve you. There is still some apparent obsession with polishing cultery on empty tables rather than focussing on diners wanting service, but it's a whole lot better than last year.

If you haven't visited for some time then I would suggest you try again.

The upstairs bar is still attractive and the Peroni beer alwasy seems to taste fresh!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“New to me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The best part of this restaurant is the atmosphere. The food is good but the over spicing is not to my taste and a colleague could not finish her meal - good choice of Italian beer. Service is slow but then it was busy.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fine night out at a well run Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Dinner last night at Nonna's with five colleagues. Had a drink in the upstairs bar as I had arrived a little early. Nice décor, modern. Well appointed bar and smartly dressed, polite barman. The menu is varied, without being overly adventurous, and reasonably priced. Nonna's has their own labelled wines. I chose a fine Italian Merlot, good value at under £18 and a good accompaniment to my linguine with slow braised pork belly (delicious).My companions chose a variety of dishes including one 'veggie' who chose gnocchi. All well satisfied, empty plates all round. The service was excellent from friendly staff and manager. We shall be returning to Nonna's, often I think.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nonnas Chesterfield also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to Nonnas Chesterfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonnas Chesterfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.