We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lockoford Lane, Chesterfield S41 7JB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Chesterfield
sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had not visited the Casa hotel before, I don't normally like eating in hotel restaurants, as they are often cold and uninviting ,however the Casa was a lovely experience . The sun was out so we sat outside for a few cold beers,the bar staff are very friendly and will bring the drinks to your table . The lager was £4 per pint which I thought was well priced .We went for the early bird menu , the food, although very small portions was excellent , the tapas plater for a starter was really tasty but the bread was a bit of a disappointment £1.50 for 2 minuscule rolls that had seen better days in my experience a bread basket in a top class restaurant is generally standard. The staff were excellent very friendly and knowledgable . I would definitely eat here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear marynumber1,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your meal here within the Casa Hotel, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here and found our food to be at an ‘excellent’ standard. Our early bird menu is fantastic value, £20 for 3 courses, and is very popular during the week. We utilise only the finest locally sourced produce and we have very few complaints our portion sizes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel/restaurant soon.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    114
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
78
337
9
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Only just got back today and had to write a review. 17 members of family stayed here for two night for my brothers wedding in Sheffield. This hotel was fab! The staff were excellent, polite and attentive. The bed was amazing! The food was beautiful. All I can is good things! Thank you very much. A special thank you to the girls in the bar, excellent staff!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Louise M,

Many thanks for writing a review of your stay here at the Casa Hotel, I am so happy to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Our award winning Hypnos beds truly are amazing aren’t they? If you would like to purchase one to enjoy the ‘Casa Experience’ at home then please contact the hotel directly.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having stayed in various places in chesterfield over the many years we've visited to see family our serach is now over.... a home from home !
We were made to feel very welcome from arrival to departure, the staff were all friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The room was missing a travel cot we'd ordered within 30 mins it was there, fully made with various blanket options for the ickle one - for those of you who travel with kids you know this isnt always the case!
Quick bite at lunchtime in the bar and it was yummy, speedy and reasonably priced. We came back in the evening expecting the bar to be busy as its open to non residents (judging by some previous comments) but was pleased to find it nice and quiet despite having a wedding in the building as well. The Tapas was beautiful, in both presentation and taste.... we can recommend one of everything :) Although they dont have a "childrens menu" (it was after all the bar!) we asked for just a plain tomato pasta whilst we had our tapas which wasnt a problem at all.
The rooms were well equipped, spacious and without a doubt THE best bed i have ever slept in, there is a small fridge in the room which is really helpful especially when travelling with children/babies.
On a final note a must is the breakfast.... i wouldnt say the most extensive selection ever but there's an age old saying "its the quality not quantity that counts" and they have certainly delivered that in abundance.
All in all a wonderful stay - just wish it was longer.
Thank you Casa ... we'll be seeing you again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Mumofone369,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here with us at the Casa Hotel, I am so pleased to hear that you had such a fantastic visit. We are very fortunate to have such a dedicated team throughout the hotel; they really are a credit to Casa. We understand that the little extra touches add up to create a fantastic overall stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

When planning our wedding at Chatsworth house we reviewed a large number of hotels in the Derbyshire area for our guests to stay, after a huge struggle to find anywhere with quality accommodation and good customer service, we stumbled across this gem. We were so lucky!!

Every dealing we have had with this hotel has been an absolute pleasure. The staff have been nothing but friendly and helpful and the quality of the service and rooms is superb. It is so often the case in the UK the one or all of these areas is a huge disappointment, but this is not the case here, the owner, manager and all of the staff should be very proud of their hard work and in achieving such a great atmosphere.

We have stayed on two separate occasions - one was a "screening visit" and the second for our actual wedding.

The first visit was in a standard room. In terms of space, the room was fairly standard for a modern hotel, but the quality of the bed (vv comfy), furnishings and toiletries was far superior to the norm for a hotel of this level. The home made cookies are also a wonderful touch.

The second visit was for the main event. We booked a balcony suite, but were upgraded to the Picasso suite (with a hot tub on the balcony). Needless to say the quality was very good and there was plenty of space and dressing area for the bridal party and photography. We loved the room to pieces, but obviously due to all of the celebrations, spent disappointingly little time in it - so we will just have to return soon!

The quality of the catering is excellent, we have eaten in the main restaurant twice and the food and wine was fantastic. The food is locally sourced and this is clearly apparent in the quality and flavour. We also ate once in the bar where the menu is more simple. All of the dishes our party enjoyed were once again excellent, except perhaps for the beef fajita; where the meat was a touch overdone. This was unlike the steak in the main restaurant which is cooked to perfection.

The bar is very nice with a good range of drinks including real ales. The staff are attentive and friendly, although the prices are probably a touch high, they are not out of keeping with the average hotel bar.

Breakfast is fantastic and included in the room rate. The food is of the same quality of the evening restaurant and again this is clearly evident. I have not had a breakfast this good in any 5 star restaurant in the UK.

As a nice touch the hotel arranged for a private breakfast suite for all of our guests the morning after the wedding. This was a fantastic touch and a wonderful experience being able to sit around large tables together and share stories about the day before. Thank you so much for this!

Just a final word again about the CASA team, we are so grateful that they did so much to help make our most special of times even better! We will definitely return and look forwards to doing so. I travel a lot with my work and have stayed in many hotels and believe me - THIS one is special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear D C,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your wedding experience here with us at the Casa Hotel. We are extremely fortunate to have such a dedicated team throughout the hotel, they read these reviews and I am sure that they will be so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

I am so pleased that we were able to help make your wedding such a fantastic day and we look forward to seeing you for your first anniversary, if not sooner.

Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to be at the hotel for a wedding and stayed over for 2 nights. The hotel is very modern inside and out but the staff all have a great idea of what good old service is. Despite being right by a number of main roads once you go inside you cannot hear any noise from outside and the hotel room is exceptionally comfortable, the bed is just to die for! A well placed hotel with all you could wish for for a really lovely stay away. The breakfast was all of an excellent quality and all oloclly sourced reflecting the attitude of the whole establishment. A really excellent place and worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Chris M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Casa Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic experience with us and speak so highly of our food. As you have said, we source our produce locally, and we’re very proud of that fact.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you have to go to Chesterfield, stay at Casa, it's a truly modern hotel with everything you need and the beds and bathrooms are really comfortable and luxurious.
If you're going to the Peak District for a holiday though, I'd stay somewhere with better scenery.
Whatever you do, don't go home without oatcakes. They sell them in the big Tesco opposite Casa. A visit to Derbyshire without taking traditional oatcakes home is a waste.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Hello G,

Many thanks for writing a review of your recent stay with us here at the Casa Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Casa and that you were able to take advantage of the fantastic surrounding area.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for one night, slept there, dined there, wished we had found this hotel sooner would have stayed longer. Whats not to like!

I hope that the aspiration of the staff and management will radiate throughout the UK, takes the grief out of staying away from home (and my home comforts) every town should have a Casa, unfortunately this is not so, life would be so much simpler!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownhamStuart, Operations Director at Casa Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Brian M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here with us at the Casa Hotel, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We really appreciate all the fantastic comments you have made about us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hotel

Address: Lockoford Lane, Chesterfield S41 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa is Chesterfield premier four star hotel. An independent hotel, situated in the historic market town of Chesterfield, within easy reach of the beautiful Peak District and neighbouring cities, Sheffield and Nottingham. Casa is one of the only hotels in the UK that offers hot tubs on the balconies of four of our luxury suites. Each of our 100 bedrooms are designed with comfort and luxury in mind, fully controlable air conditioning thoughout, all windows are triple glazed and we only use award winning Hynos mattresses on our beds, rain showers in the bathrooms and 32' LCD screens with freeview, free high speed Wi-Fi and private fridges stocked with water and fresh milk. You'll also find homemade biscuits for your tea or coffee. Our bathrooms have rain showers with controls that enable you to adjust the temperature before getting in, without getting soaked. Our rates include a hearty breakfast in the Cocina restaurant, with eggs, bacon and sausages that are sourced locally from Walton Lodge Farm, just four miles away. To complement Casa's theme, Cocina restaurant offers a menu with a Spanish twist. Our talented chefs cook using Josper charcoal ovens, flown over especially from Barcelona. Our wine list is of the highest quality, thanks to the owner's passion for fine wines. Our cocktail bar, Barca, is a haven of free Wi-Fi, fresh coffee, delicious food and signature drinks, made using only the best brands and ingredients from around the world. Our eleven meeting rooms are purpose built to offer you the latest in conferencing solutions. We are able to accommodate from two to 280 people and all of our meeting rooms have floor to ceiling windows for maximum daylight, air conditioning, complimentary high speed Wi-Fi, data projection and 32" LCD televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.