We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic everytime!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O-Tokuda

O-Tokuda
37 Knifesmithgate, Chesterfield S40 1RL, England
01246 556996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 258 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic everytime!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My partner and I both work in fine dining resturants and love to come to O-Takuda for a change for its buzzing atmosphere!

The Menu has more than plenty to choose from, although people have suggested these are small portions it allows you to try a variety of dishes you may not usually go for. Dont just play it safe - try it - its worth it!

Although the restaurant is renowed for being very busy - the front of house staff always ensure everything is to your likeing, and it is clear to the watchful eye that the team are being lead by a truly dedicated restaurant manager (who are nowadays more than not few and far between)

go ahead and try this hidden gem !

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    57
    17
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Crap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Went here for a meal stood on stairwell for 15 mins after our booking time. Cramped space. Food was ok but had 1hour sat down and they was asking us to leave as they were busy we had not even drank our drink!!!! Had a very rude staff member tutting and shaking his head at us. Very poor service will not be going again

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Low quality food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Low quality food, very cramped restaurant and the place smelt of acrylic from the Chinese nail salon next door.
Service was good although the place was full of people not even slightly dressed up- probably a good place when you've had a drink but nothing special at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great food in a quiet setting before 7pm. Suggestion is go early soon gets busy by 7pm even on Mondays. Portions are small but with all you can eat menu you can try lots of different courses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“great food and a lot of choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have been here a few time amd never feel disappoint. The staff so welcoming and plenty of food to choice from the menu. Also the they do the small portion so that you can try a lot of different dishes. I will strongly recommend.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O-Tokuda also viewed

Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
 

Been to O-Tokuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O-Tokuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.