We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorns Guest House

Acorns Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chesterfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acorns Guest House
Save
You added Acorns Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   56 Sheffield Road, Chesterfield S41 7LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Chesterfield B&B and Inns
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

A nice warm welcome when we arrived. The room was clean and tidy and was a nice size as was the en-suite. Breakfast was nice, full english was just right. The guest house is only a ten minute walk from the town centre and the St Helens pub just down the road was nice too, plus a cheap pint!. We will book again next time we're in Chesterfield.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This B & B provides a good breakfast with nice clean and comfortable rooms. The proprietor Gaynor is very pleasant and welcoming, wifi is available in the rooms, although we were advised reception varied with room - I had no problem at all. The only downside to the establishment from our point of view was the noise eminating from the busy Sheffield Road, cars and wandering revellers, we did stay on a weekend though. Cash and Cheque ONLY accepted here.
A good Italian meal can be had at Lombardis just up the road

Room Tip: Ask for room at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Car Park a bonus. Very warm & friendly welcome from owner Gaynor on our arrival for an overnight stay in this period Guest House. Large well furnished bedroom and en-suite shower room. Lovely well cooked full English Breakfast. Large bath sheets in bathroom would have been better. Excellent affordable overnight accommodation within walking distance of town centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Arrived late and stayed only 1 night in a room on the ground floor. Shame about a plug in air freshener which made the room smell of a wet dog- the smell disappeared when I unplugged it.
Ordered breakfast for 7.30am but didn't get it until just before 8am. It makes a difference if you have to be somewhere.
Compare to some places I've stayed before for the same price - average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had Room 5 (top of house) and it was spotless, new bathroom / shower, good quality bed linen and really comfortable bed, good quality furniture, plasma TV, WiFi, big window so therefore light and airy! There's onsite parking, a pretty garden and it's a only a short walk into Chesterfield. Easy access to Peak District and Sheffield (and Hathersage Lido - which was one of the reasons for our trip!!). There's a bit of noise from the road but i am a very light sleeper and this type of 'expected' noise didn't even bother me!! In fact i had two of the best night's sleep ive had in ages!

Breakfast was very nice - poached eggs were perfect and so too was the bacon! There are cereals too (but on the sweet side) and bananas.

The only things we didn't like were the TV that was on in the breakfast room and the absence of other fruit / prunes.

Overall though it's a great guest house and we will definately go back!! Thank you Gaynor!

Everyone we met during our stay in Chesterfield (and while visiting other areas nearby), were SO friendly and helpful!!

Room Tip: Room 5 - beautiful, top floor - so quiet and away from street traffic / other visitors. A few stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent base - as is Chesterfield itself. Good range of breakfast times & a good breakfast. Gaynor is friendly & helpful, rooms are a good size, with high ceilings & large TVs. Everything works, nice tea tray in room including herbal infusions & tea pot. It is on a main road but was quiet enough even at front. Excellent value all round - a real find.

Room Tip: rooms at back overlook garden & would be more quiet; but front was still OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Acorns Guest house is the nicest and most welcoming place myself and partner have stayed. we were made to feel welcome from the second we arrived. Gaynor the host is fantastic and should be very proud of Acorns>
Spotless and clean and the room overlooking the beautiful garden was stunning and spacious, the hospitality tray was welcomed too, thank you. Breakfast filled us to teatime and was hot well cooked and aplenty. Its a short walk into town which is a bonus too. we enjoyed our stay so much we rebooked again. A very romantic time was had so thank you Gaynor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns Guest House

Address: 56 Sheffield Road, Chesterfield S41 7LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chesterfield
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Acorns Guest House Hotel Chesterfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorns Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.