We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My regular hundreds of miles from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Methuen Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Methuen Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Methuen Arms Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 High St, Corsham SN13 0HB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Corsham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My regular hundreds of miles from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I have only ever stayed here on business, but would happily return on a social trip.

The hotel is fantastic; the bedrooms are in great detail with British brands we never see in chain hotels; the evening meals are lively with their local produce and real ales; breakfast? Smashing! The pastries and cooked menu is the best way to say goodbye if you only have one night.

I have tried to book in at short notice, but have, unfortunately, found the hotel full. I have had to book elsewhere, but have always been able to take a cancelled room and stay in my favorite hotel.

Top marks.

Looking forward to staying again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    44
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
84
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Well what can i say interesting hotel ,rooms every where,eating,sitting down ,bars everywhere
Most be a interesting place in the summer.breakfast supper if you remind the staff several times ,
All of the staff friendly helpfull ,i forget the name of the man very helpfull
We had a discount not a cheap place to stay ,talk with the recepption before you book they will give a discount in the not so bussy months.room we stay in supper,parking large but in the summer maby quikly full.

Room Tip: First time stay dont know
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a business and social dinner with fiends here on a busy Saturday night. The manager was serving behind the bar with a great personality and welcoming manner. Lovely steak perfectly cooked on their special grill for my wife and a fantastic pork chop! Well worth the travel from Sussex.
The room was comfortable with nice bed - only drawback was lack of lighting for my wife to do her hair!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We called in at The Methuen simply for tea and coffee after a walk round the shops in Corsham. Rarely have we been so impressed with the friendly greeting and great service show by all the staff we encountered. Had a peek around the ground floor and it's a collection of nice intimate dining areas. Top marks to The Methuen. I did email same comments to the hotel and received a very nice reply.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

A third visit to this lovely pub. No point repeating all the previous positive comments and praise, suffice to say this place was great, as ever, and the food was the best we've had there yet - absolutely delicious. Brilliant service too. Will continue to use it as a base to visit the Bath area and to recommend it to friends and family.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We've recently moved back to the UK having spent several years living in the Channel Islands where quality eating establishments are ten a penny (eating out being the main activity of a weekend!) including excellent seafood. We've since eaten at a few place in the Wiltshire area and been quite disappointed. So it was great to find the Methuen arms which we booked as a treat to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. I had a starter of squash soup which was lovely, and my husband had prawns on 2 slices of toasted sourdough. My husband had fillet of beef for main which was beautiful (I'd say it was on the very rarest of the medium rare side but we both like that so it was fine) and I had lemon sole which was really tasty and a very good portion size. We stayed over and the room was lovely, the bed supremely comfortable and the bathroom fantastic. It is a little pricey but I think that's just what you have to pay for good food these days, certainly we've paid not too far off for a very average meal in the past and the service was great, lovely welcoming staff, the building is beautiful, hassle free parking etc etc etc. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely, four poster bed and roll top bath, but does get traffic noise if you're bothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We visited the Methuen Arms for lunch a few days ago, having just visited Lacock Abbey nearby. We really enjoyed our lunch. We chose 3 courses from a 2 or 3 course seasonal menu, and there were also chunky sandwiches available. The food was absolutely excellent (if a little carbohydrate light) and good value. The service was excellent, couldn't fault it. It was good to see the place busy on a Tuesday lunchtime - well over half the tables were occupied. Shame about recent poor reviews on this site - we saw no evidence of poor service. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Methuen Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methuen Arms Hotel

Address: 2 High St, Corsham SN13 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Methuen Arms Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Methuen Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methuen Arms Corsham
Methuen Arms Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Methuen Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.