We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business conference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guyers House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Guyers House Hotel to your Saves list
Guyers House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guyers Lane, Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Corsham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Business conference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Superb property, high quality hotel. The service both during the conference and in the dining room in was excellent. Guyers House Hotel is an ideal place to stay for a weekend getaway, a base to visit Bath or Bradford upon Avon or a business stay/conference. The hotel has a relatively modern wing with bags of character and the main house is an outstanding example of a beautiful country house hotel. The restaurant is excellent.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    116
    45
    9
    2
See reviews for
35
250
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were here in March for 2 day secret escape deal which was very reasonable.(lots of supplements though )
We were greeted by a very nice receptionist who told we were in garden room 20.The first thing we noticed was the small bed and the smell of damp in the room. The room and bathroom very clean. We had a lovely evening meal in the dining room where staff were very good. When we returned to our room to sleep for the night the bed was so uncomfortable we hardly slept at all. The bed was actually broken .In the morning we went to reception and told the lovely receptionist what a awful night we had and that we thought the bed was actually broken she was very apologetic, when the manager appeared and said they would find us another room if we would like to have our breakfast first ( which was really good )
They put us in Room 1 in the main house which was very spacious with lovely views over the gardens and a very comfortable 4 poster bed. We had a much better nights sleep !
The food and the service in the dining room was excellent .The grounds and the area around the hotel are really nice,not far to the centre of Bath and straight forward.
We enjoyed our break at the Guyers house hotel especially the second day !!

Room Tip: Rooms in Main house are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My parents stayed at Guyers House Hotel recently and were really happy with food and fantastic presentation.However the hotel is in need of decoration and is tatty in places.The hall- way to their room needed redecoration,(big area of patchy paintwork on wall ) and their bathroom was badly in need of a tidy up and coat of paint.The base of the bath panel was scratched and very messy and looked like it had been for some considerable time.What a shame,this a a lovely hotel with smashing location!Just needs some TLC.Could do with a bar available in the daytime too!

Room Tip: Inside rooms are warmer than outbuildings,but a lot of stairs for elderly guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

In the West Country for a Spring break returned to our favourite hotel when in this part of the country. On this occasion had room 2in the main building at the front of the hotel overlooking the small lake and well tended gardens.The room was furnished in traditional style in keeping with the character of this country house hotel, the room was clean with a comfortable bed and all the usual amenities in the main room and adjoining en suite.
Dinner was taken in the main restaurant on both evenings with excellent quality food, well cooked and presented by efficient, friendly, professional staff. Noticed on this visit that wine prices appear to be moving up, with only two bottles, one red, and one white priced below £20, at £19.50 per bottle. Breakfast on both mornings was to the same high standard with a well stocked buffet table for starters, and hot dishes cooked to order and nicely presented.
Another very pleasant stay at this hotel set in its own very extensive grounds, set well back from the main road, and with generous car parking facilities.

Room Tip: Superior rooms in the main building are worth the upcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This Hotel is not cheap but sometimes you can pay less for what you get! Secret Escapes was able to offer a special deal on this hotel which proved to be well worth the money. The hotel comprises of a main house and numerous well furnished annexes. Great for summer visits but less fun in cold wet weather, especially when walking to the restaurant for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house. Walking from a annex in the pouring rain to breakfast is not fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

What a lovely hotel, beautiful locally quarried stone abounds in all the buildings. Everything about this hotel exudes quality, from the cosy, intimate reception area, to the spacious, elegant dining rooms, and tastefully decorated and furnished lounge. The gardens are similarly well maintained and a delight to stroll through.

The garden rooms where our group stayed were all very good. Good size, generally well decorated and furnished, clean and well appointed. The staff were all very pleasant and polite.

The meals we experienced were certainly a highlight. Breakfast was excellent, everything fresh, excellent service, a very well cooked hot option, and all set in a delightful room. The only blemish was the fresh fruit on our two days, some of it under ripe and the oranges presented as quarters still with their peel on. Almost impossible to consume without squirting juice everywhere or getting very sticky fingers. Why not prepare as peeled and sliced? The evening meal was again of excellent quality. Not the widest of choices, but no doubting the skills of the chef and the care/attention to detail.

So overall a very, very good hotel, ideal for visiting Bath and its surrounds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Guyers House in March with some Luxury Hotel Break vouchers bought for us for our silver wedding anniversary. The weekend was helped by the perfect weather and we had a wonderful time. We had room 7 which had lovely views over the garden and was very spacious and comfortable. We slept very well and it was really quiet. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The food in the restaurant was excellent & again the staff were very attentive. Bath was not far & we went into the town of Corsham which was pretty. Lacock is well worth a visit. I would highly recommend the Guyers House Hotel for a weekend visit & would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guyers House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guyers House Hotel

Address: Guyers Lane, Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Guyers House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guyers House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guyers House Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guyers House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.