We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming traditional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guyers House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Guyers House Hotel to your Saves list
Guyers House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guyers Lane, Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Corsham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming traditional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our second stay at Guyers House. It didn't quite live up to our first stay because we were in the courtyard rather than the main house. The rooms were still beautifully clean and comfortable but lacked a little in elegance and were worn in places. We felt the bathroom was in need of updating. The hotel is charming though. We particularly loved the lounge with its roaring fire and plenty of comfy sofas, overlooking the gardens. The staff were friendly and attentive, for example, when we called reception because the light bulb had blown in our room it was replaced almost immediately. We enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant but found the atmosphere a bit formal.....breakfast was much more enjoyable. In fact the breakfast was the highlight of our stay on both occasions. Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon were cooked to perfection and were the best ever! Our 2 children explored the grounds at Guyers House and loved playing tennis with racquets and balls from reception. Altogether this is a charming hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    127
    48
    10
    2
See reviews for
37
270
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Guyers house appears to be an appealing proposition; an attractive country house with a delightful and well maintained garden.

However the sheen soon wears off. As wedding guests we had our room booked in advance as part of the wedding party. We were told we had received the discounted rate for the which turned out to be £20 more than the popular hotel booking sites. The room was located in on the ground floor of the annex giving any one in the courtyard a full view into the window. The bathroom appears to have been stolen from a low rent motel.

The bar closed at 11 on the dot with numerous wedding guest still looking to be served.

The deputy manager was intolerably rude the entire weekend. His best quote came as he hovered holding our breakfast "Move your side plate, this plate is hot." The plate was lukewarm at best, just like my breakfast.

The best service came from the receptionist who was delightful and extremely helpful.

Overall would not recommend.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was the third time we have visited this charming 17th century country house hotel set on the edge of the Cotswolds and we would have no hesitation in visiting again.
Originally we picked it up as a special offer in the Waitrose magazine and were given accommodation in the annex building, we would not go in there again as we found the room small, understandably so because the hotel had been primarily and still is to some extent a conference centre.
However, we got to know the layout and realised that the rooms in the main house were the best especially the Superior Double Room 1, with four poster bed and an en-suite, so the next time we went we specified this room and indeed we did for our third visit.(The clean sheets and towels are placed by your door to be fitted when you have vacated the room in the daytime)
The food in the restaurant is excellent, the breakfasts superb and the evening meals sublime, be a little adventurous and go for some of the al la carte dishes! the three ways with pork still makes my mouth water ! and the steaks melt in your mouth. We took the bar lunch menu one day and the quantity was great washed down with a cool 6x pint.
The staff are courteous and friendly ready to meet your every need and a mine of information on the local area.We spent a day in Bath which is only 15 mins away and another day exploring Laycock village, the abbey and the Fox Talbot museum
As has previously been mentioned the grounds are well maintained and a delight to walk around, it is especially interesting to see the home grown produce in the vegetable garden which is used in the restaurant.
We really enjoy our stays at Guyers House hotel and are looking forward to another stay there soon.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are more spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed for a one night, lunch, dinner, bead & breakfast deal with Drive South West (£135-very good value). Our day out in the car was fantastic-we drove to Oxford & back, the only thing that could've been better was the lunch provided - the fruit salad was in a flimsy container & had leaked over everything else.
The hotel is situated in lovely grounds which we really enjoyed exploring. We didn't use Sat Nav to find our way there & didn't have any problems.
The interior of the hotel was a bit dated & could use a facelift in places. Our room (9) was quite small, but the bed was comfortable & it warned up when we put the heating on. We had a nice garden view. The shower was not great-either scalding or cold, and we both hit our head repeatedly on the wooden beam. We didn't hear noise from other guests at all, just the cleaners in the morning; it wasn't great that they left the clean sheets & towels on the floor outside our room & we also had to step over their mop & bucket at the bottom of the stairs.
Food was good with breakfast being the best meal we had. Staff were either quite snooty or over familiar I found. At dinner our waiter was friendly until I had to remind him that I had asked for a glass of water-he then seemed to take offence & actually stopped talking to us. It was quite strange.
All in all, I wouldn't pay full price to stay here as its just not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just had the most delicious hotel breakfast in years.

Also had a tour of the extensive, modern and comfortable conference facilities. I used to have business meetings in the centre of Bristol, but I now have them here. Lunch was also excellent. I recommend Guyers very highly for the food and accomodation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lovely 17th century country house hotel, nice clean comfortable interior decoration and furnishing, well kept grounds and garden. Food is not bad but would not go out of my way to revisit the restaurant for an evening dinner. Staff are efficient but a little too perfunctory for my liking.
The very small bar, formerly (and still looks like) a stable, was unmanned (have to dial 0 for service) has all the atmosphere and ambience of a cloud of Phosgene gas. Could do with a visit from an interior decorator and softening up the decor and adding maybe some background music to make it a little more welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice place to stay. The gardens around the hotel are lovely. Includes a vegetable garden which are used in the kitchen of the hotel. The breakfast is very good including special hot courses. The restaurant is stylish has Interesting and very tasty plats. Cosy classic english atmosphere, large rooms and nice views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guyers House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guyers House Hotel

Address: Guyers Lane, Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Corsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guyers House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Guyers House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guyers House Hotel Corsham, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guyers House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.