We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guyers House

Guyers House
Guyers Lane | Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England
001 249 713399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 26 Restaurants in Corsham
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Guyers house fabulous new restaurant offering superb British cooking in beautiful surroundings.Head Chef Luke Richards and his team source the finest ingredients,many from local producers and some from our own garden. Specialising in creating wonderful dishes at reasonable prices. Sunday Lunches £20.00 for three courses Sunday lunches served from 12.30-3.00pm Lunches served from 12.00-2.00pm Dinners served from 7.00-9.00pm
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I was somewhat baffled by the earlier negative reviews as our experience couldn't have been more different.
Service throughout, from being seated by the manager, was excellent. The fine dining menu had plenty of choice and was perfectly cooked and presented. We didn't really have enough room for a pudding but shared the cheese board from the a la carte menu. They were happy to substitute the goat's cheese as I am not a fan.
It was lovely to have breakfast cooked to order, rather than as a buffet. Great full-English and eggs Benedict. Nice to have proper, loose-leaf tea - complete with egg-timer to let you know when it was brewed to perfection!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, Engalnd
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Booked afternoon tea despite the earlier comments. I'm glad that we ignored the comments as the food was tasty and the service from all staff was very good. We sat outside and enjoyed the views of the garden. We will be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea with a side of bad customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Visited with family and friends for Afternoon Tea as a birthday treat. Were shown to the 'lounge' which was empty... After about 5 minutes a waitress came to take our drinks order and asked if we wanted tea or coffee. Now I've been to a few different places for Afternoon Tea and usually am offered a list of different tea (i.e English breakfast, Assam, earl grey etc) but were given no such choice. We all chose tea. When the drinks and food arrived, the waitress had spilt tea all over the tray, including the cutlery. She used a cloth to wipe up the tea and then used the same cloth to 'clean' the cutlery. We weren't given any milk so had to go and find the receptionist and ask for some. Food was ok, cakes and sandwiches were nice enough. We had ran out of tea so went and asked receptionist for some hot water. About 5 minutes later a man arrived (looked like manager) and said that he didn't really understand what we were asking for.... Umm HOT WATER. Shouldn't be difficult! He then went off to get some but had a stinky attitude and didn't seem to want to help us. When we finally went to pay the bill (14.50 per person) they had added their own 10% tip to the bill! Paid and left and won't be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High tea and cake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

A surprise high tea for the family, service was discusting. The waitress spilled tea everywhere, couldn't even apologise. SHOUTED at her colleague. Was wearing black jeans (this might not be a biggie to all, it's not like she is working in a retail store. She is working in a profession high rated hotel) Tea came out warm, had to ask for milk. We required hot water which seemed to be a big issue to the staff (manager) guess they just couldn't keep up with the work load of providing for a small amount of people!! This has proved that I now won't be looking at this place for my wedding.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fab evening meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

There was a lovely choice of food. It was beautifully presented. Imaginative menu. Very tasty. Good service.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guyers House also viewed

 
Corsham, Wiltshire
 

Been to Guyers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guyers House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.