We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find! we will return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guyers House

Guyers House
Guyers Lane | Pickwick, Corsham SN13 0PS, England
001 249 713399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 26 Restaurants in Corsham
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Guyers house fabulous new restaurant offering superb British cooking in beautiful surroundings.Head Chef Luke Richards and his team source the finest ingredients,many from local producers and some from our own garden. Specialising in creating wonderful dishes at reasonable prices. Sunday Lunches £20.00 for three courses Sunday lunches served from 12.30-3.00pm Lunches served from 12.00-2.00pm Dinners served from 7.00-9.00pm
Chippenham, England
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“A great find! we will return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Despite having travelled past the sign for Guyers House many times this was our first visit. What a find! Made all the better by a delightful summer’s evening.
Cleary we got the right staff, unlike some previous contributors!
The food was fabulous with an interesting al la carte menu plus an excellent table d'hôte menu at £20 for two course, £30 for three.
The staff were friendly and attentive and the whole property a delight.
Guyers House caters for short breaks and the only other diners appeared to be residents so the dining room was comfortably quiet with only a dozen diners.
They also cater for conferences so I’m not sure if it would be the same ambiance.
My only criticism was that they had fois gras on the menu. Nasty, cruel stuff that no self respecting restaurant should offer in the 21st century. If you go make a point of telling them, we did and knocked a star off the rating above!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Staff Education”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

On doing a round of lovely hotels for lunches with my 2 friends,we booked and arrived last Friday at Guyers House 12th July 2013 to evaluate there standards.From start to finish it was a shambles.We opted for sitting in the garden,which we were taken through the dining room to enter the garden through a french window with no step,which was quite difficult to manage.When the waitress came to take our order of a selection of sandwiches,salad and chips,it was like out of a comic strip.i.e. did'nt know what fillings they had,back again to ask then no cutlery or sauces, she must have back to the table 6 or more times.If she was new all she had to do was explain with a nice attitude.We had yellow/brown rocket leaves,half a bowl of salad and 8 chips ordenery sliced bread,if we wanted a flat sandwich we would have bought one from the supermarket.We complained and was not charged, the point is the attitude of the manager and staff, if they'd approached the subject properly we would not have gone away pulling the place down and forwarding our discust to everyone.
Went onto Lacock Tea Gardens, my what a diffrent approach from there staff and far better food
Trigg11

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty setting but that's all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our second visit, both of which have been disappointing. I was really hoping we had been unlucky with the first time.The staff seem to have little training and appear visibly flustered whilst serving, with an impatient attitude. The wine ordered was unavailable and the starter inedible.The waitress enquired whether there was anything wrong but then made no mention of it again regarding an apology or bill reduction. The food and service has been poor on both occasions. It has also been uncomfortably cold both times. Guyers is a beautiful setting but it is a shame about those running it. Considering they appear to be marketing the place as a formal dining venue, they should replace their chef, fix the heating and train their staff. Then they might be getting somewhere close to an acceptable standard.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Guyers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had a lovely time at Guyers which is great for a relaxing break with fantastic food. Quite a draft near the bedroom windows but to be expected from such an old property. There is good heating to keep the room warm. Would definately re-visit in the future.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I would like to say a big thank you to all involved with our surprise lunch party event at Guyers House Hotel last Saturday. The two of us who organised the event together with the other 36 guests were most impressed with both the facilities and the staff who were sufficiently attentive without being overly so. Ten of us stayed over and thoroughly tested their hospitality at dinner and again at breakfast on the Sunday and as the person who was picking up much of the bill, I personally thought it was great value for money and that it well justified us having selected Guyers House Hotel in preference to the other two hotels we also considered. As someone who has worked closely with the hospitality industry in recent years, I have heard it said that a good hotel is one where you feel as comfortable as you do in your own home, and now I see what they mean. This was the second time I have visited Guyers House Hotel and I can say with certainty that it won't be the last.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guyers House also viewed

 
Corsham, Wiltshire
 

Been to Guyers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guyers House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.