We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Gables

The Three Gables
Bridge Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1, , England
01225-78-16-66
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Three Gables is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I took our daughter and her boyfriend here for a special treat on Wednesday evening, we each had a three course meal, all of it was delicious. Our daughter thought it was like food from masterchef. The atmosphere was wonderful and the staff attentive. Overall we had a great evening and would definately recommend this place. A real gem.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    37
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and professional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We dined here on a Saturday night and had to wait for some time before our table was ready - but we'd expected that, so did not mind the delay.

The wait was worth it. My partner, a near-vegetarian, demolished his plate of the venison starter we both chose and found the risotto both delicious and satisfying. My duck was as good as I'd expect to get in France. The food was attractively presented and prepared with great skill.

I found the professional service here a great relief from the usual British style of friendly but slightly clumsy and intrusive.

The price did not shock us. This is not a cheap restaurant, but neither is it eye-wateringly expensive, and it *is* good value for money.

Every town needs a good French restaurant, and a town as attractive as BOA merits the very good one it now has.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Agree the service could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We live in Trowbridge but went to the Three Gables not long after it opened to take advatage of its rather reasonable Sunday 3 course lunch.

The food was lovely and the place was stunning.

The only issue was the service, poor English which led to numerous mistakes with drinks and food orders and led to them under charging us for a whole round (their loss!)

This was odd as we remember the onwner from Red or White in Trowbridge and I am sure he never employed such poor standards of service there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I can't recommend this place highly enough. The staff are slick, professional and highly knowledgeable. The food is excellent, prepared with great care and delicious. My scallops with cauliflower and curry oil was the nicest starter I have had anywhere. The place itself is beautiful and tasteful and the three piece jazz band made for a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere. It is fairly pricey here, but you certainly get what you pay for, we could not have been looked after better and can't wait for our next visit. Go here and spoil yourselves....it's worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The welcome, decor and service alone would be enough to give the Three Gables 5 stars in my book, and that's before a single bite of their excellent food. The attention to detail is faultless and better than some "top-end" hotel/restaurants I have been fortunate enough to experience in the past. No hesitation in recommending a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Gables also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Three Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.