We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue for a party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leigh Road West, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2RA, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely venue for a party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We used this hotel for celebrate my parents 60th Wedding Anniversary. We would like to thank the hotel staff, especially Louise events co-ordinator and Chris duty manager on the day of our event, who helped make the celebration so enjoyable and special.
Everyone really liked the venue and as the weather stayed fine were able to explore the beautifully kept grounds. It was also very useful to be able to get out onto the terrace.
We won't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great venue with lovely surroundings and a dedicated staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Thejanners

Thank you for taking some time to review our hotel following your parents 60th Wedding Anniversary celebrations. I was delighted to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and found it an ideal venue for hosting such a milestone celebration.

I will be sure to pass on your comments and feedback to all of our dedicated team who helped make your experience so memorable and enjoyable, especially Louise and Chris, who I know will be delighted to read your comments.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel & Vineyard we do hope to welcome you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    82
    54
    39
    33
See reviews for
53
120
12
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights at £100 per night.
Biggest gripes first. Room cold on arrival. Radiators not working so they provided a decrepit oil-filled radiator. That said, the room did then warm up by bedtime.
Luxurious shower cubicle but trickle of water and on max temperature was just about warm enough. Shower tray outlet clogged so the shower tray slowly filled up with water. Bathroom itself had no extractor fan so everything became steamed up and unpleasant.
On leaving I raised the concerns about water pressure only to be told that there might have been a lot of other people showering at that time. I noticed however that there were only 6 cars in the car park and very few people at breakfast. This is a dreadful excuse for a hotel charging £100 a night. Don't they realise that this will be read on Trip Advisor?
More gripes. Breakfast un-inspiring. I tend to just have muesli; theirs was OK but little in the way of making it more interesting - there were remains of some fresh fruit salad, a bowl of plain yoghurt and some prunes. No option of adding nuts, seeds, fresh pineapple, etc, which I frequently get at smaller, cheaper, B & B's. My colleagues who had cooked breakfasts reckoned the porridge was good but said their bacon was tough (they also had problems with their rooms being too cold).
There are no health/recreational facilities (swimming pool, gym, etc)

The positives: My room was certainly very clean and the bed was most comfortable and had plenty of pillows. Set away from the road so no traffic noise. Staff courteous.

Conclusion. This is all a real shame because the setting of the hotel is stunning, the grounds are lovely and there is great sense of history to the place. It seems to promise so much but fails to deliver. Cannot recommend it at that price. £60 nearer the mark.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms - people can see in from the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear wolverleytech

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I was very surprised to read your comments regarding our hotel and the facilities we offer, however I was very glad to read that you found the hotel setting ‘stunning’ and in keeping with its heritage.

I would just like to take a moment to address your comments and thank you for your feedback. We have been very lucky that the weather has remained relatively warm throughout September, although I understand that some people do prefer to be a little warmer, this is why during some of the milder months we do offer our guests the option of supplementary heating and I was glad to read that we could help achieve your preferred room temperature.

All guest rooms are individually designed and decorated many boasting large en-suite bathrooms with walk-in showers, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused due to any issues with the water pressure, I would like to assure you that we have investigated and rectified any problems as to ensure our guests a full complement of facilities.

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding our breakfast service as many guests positively comment on the variety and selection available. We offer a full English breakfast along with items cooked to order and a selection of cereals, fresh fruit and Greek yoghurt, to accompany these we have a number of toppings available such as sultanas, pecan nuts, candied pineapple and dried banana chips. I do apologise if the toppings had not been replenished when you arrived for breakfast.

Unfortunately the hotel does not offer any leisure facilities and we do not advertise as such, I do hope that you were aware of this prior to booking.

I was delighted to read that you found your room ‘very clean’ and the bed ‘most comfortable with plenty of pillows’, as I previously mentioned all of our guest rooms are individually designed with a full complement of facilities for our guests to enjoy.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel & Vineyard, we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly should you require accommodation in the area at any future point and we will be only too pleased to offer you our Best Rate Guarantee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bradford-on-Avon hotels

wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had our wedding here last month and we cannot speak highly enough of the venue and the staff.

From the moment we visited Leigh Park as a potential wedding venue we were always warmly welcomed by the staff who were amazing and so helpful. Louise the wedding co-ordintor is fantastic at her job and was so helpful in answering all our questions, no matter how big or small! Leigh Park is a busy wedding venue, however we were always made to feel as though we were their one and only!!

On the wedding day itself, the staff were outstanding and could not have been any more helpful. Although Louise was not there on the day as she was on holiday, we would like to make a special mention to Chris who was the Duty manager that day and who was fantastic!! He was always there if we needed anything, again no matter how big or small.

Many of our guests have commented on what a wonderful venue it was, and again how fab the staff were. Majority of our guests stayed, and all reported that their rooms were clean, beautifully decorate and to a high standard. We spent the evening in the bridal suite which was just gorgeous. The wedding breakfast was served promptly, and was delicious- big thanks to the chef. We had even specifically asked for a dessert that was not on their wedding menu and this was arranged without any problem.

Breakfast the next day was fab, and although the staff were busy (as there were so many of us!) again they were friendly and helpful. There was plenty of choice to be had at breakfast, and although most of us had the cooked breakfast, it was always quickly replenished.

We cannot recommend Leigh Park enough!! And would highly recommend it for a wedding or even a night away. Chris and all his staff made our day run smoothly and without any hitch and we thank them all for making our day as perfect as it was... we couldn't have done it without them!!

Erica and Richard Thornton

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Erica and Richard

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your wedding here at the BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your special day with us and that our dedicated team at the hotel could help make your day that little more memorable.

I will be certain to pass on your kind comments and feedback to Louise, Chris and the whole team at the hotel, who I know will be very pleased to read them. We strive to make every couples special day as perfect as possible and it is always a pleasure to read when we have helped make some memories that will last a lifetime.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Leigh Park Hotel, we all hope to see you both again soon and wish you all the very best for your future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We spent the weekend at this delightful Country Hotel. Our room & bathroom appeared recently refurbished; was very clean & cosy, with fantastic view from one side over their very own vineyard!! Upon arrival we were made very welcome by the Manageress & her staff. A peaceful breakfast was taken both mornings, set in the conservatory, in the morning sun, with views over the hotel garden & Wiltshire countryside. Staff were polite & helpful. Many Thanks to you to all of you!.
Dave/Chris Morris, Chester.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Dave and Chris

Thank you for your review. We were all delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at the BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel. We are very proud of our hotel and grounds and it is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their experience and our hospitality.

We do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon and should you wish to return in the future please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly or visit our website to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee. Thank you for choosing the Best Western Leigh Park Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We were given a room just above the kitchen's exhaust fan which was very noisy (only whilst the kitchen was operating though). The water ran out half way through my shower - which you sort of get used to as the plumbing in most of these old buildings isn't the best. Worst thing though was the bed - very lumpy and uncomfortable - time for renovation perhaps? We dined in the restaurant for dinner which was quite nice and a beautiful outlook. Staff in dining and bar were quite friendly.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Holidayhound62

Thank you for taking some time to review our hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and that you found our restaurant offered ‘a beautiful outlook’ and our staff friendly and attentive. I will be sure to pass on your comments.

I was however a little surprised to read your comments regarding the bed, as you can read from previous reviews we rarely receive anything but praise for the comfort of our beds and the quality of sleep our guests experience. Please accept my apologies of this was not the case during you visit.

If at all possible would you please contact the hotel directly to advise us of the room number so that we can investigate and replace the bed in question.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night as it was a convenient place to drive to Bath.

The hotel was stunning; staff were pleasant; the room was enormous, clean and comfortable and dinner at the hotel was decent.

The only downfall of this hotel was that we had cold showers. By the time we had showered, we couldn't be bothered to complain to reception as we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear kimmydotcom

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel ‘stunning’ and our dedicated team welcoming and friendly.

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused due to a cold shower, I would like to assure you that should you have reported the problem we would have immediately addressed and rectified any issue.

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, we hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back again soon. Should you require accommodation in the area in the future please contact the hotel directly to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here the day of our friends wedding.
What an absolutely stunning hotel. the grounds were stunning, the hotel was stunning with a magnificent spiral staircase.
The staff were very pleasant and very helpful and the waiters and waitresses were fantastic.
The rooms were of an excellent standard indeed, they were spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable, perhaps the most comfortable bed I have ever had the pleasure to sleep in.
The decor was amazing, very olde world.
I would stay here again without hesitation.
The only problem (and its a minor one) was that some of the corridors to our room were very narrow and some of the lights didnt work so he had to look in the dark for our room door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latona L, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear AndrewRichards

I would like to thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel and grounds ‘stunning’, we are very lucky to have such a magnificent period property set in picture perfect surroundings.

I will be sure to pass on your comments and feedback to the whole team who I know will be very pleased to read them.

We do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, and should you require accommodation in the area again, either for business or pleasure please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly and take advantage of our price promise.

Kindest regards
Customer Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel

Address: Leigh Road West, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Leigh Park Country House Hotel & Vineyard. Set in five acres of landscaped gardens, overlooking the picturesque Wiltshire Downs and only a short journey from Bath, the Leigh Park is a classical Georgian country house hotel with charm, character and a subtle elegance. The superbly appointed Vine conservatoire Restaurant offers both traditional English and International cuisine using prime local produce together with home grown organic fruit and vegetables from the kitchen garden. The Hotel offers 38 individually designed bedrooms, with the more traditional style rooms in the main house together with sixteen brand new contemporary chic designed executive bedrooms some in the former Coach House. Leigh Park has its own Vineyard which consists of 600 Reichensteiner vines in the one acre of walled garden within the grounds, which produce a particularly attractive medium dry white wine, exclusive to the Hotel. Local Attractions: The Leigh Park Hotel located on the edge of Bradford-on-Avon is situated in an ideal position to visit the many local West Country Tourist attractions including the Saxon town of Bradford-on-Avon itself, the Georgian Heritage City of Bath, Stonehenge, Longleat, and the National Trust Village of Lacock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bradford On Avon
BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel Bradford-On-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Leigh Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.