We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace, Tranquility, Great Food & Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Widbrook Grange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Widbrook Grange to your Saves list
Widbrook Grange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trowbridge Rd, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1UH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Peace, Tranquility, Great Food & Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Peace and quiet in the heart of the countryside is here.
You can literally lose yourself in the vast gardens which on a Summers afternoon are an absolute delight
Accommodation is first rate as is the breakfast and Dinner. Staff are always welcoming ang helpful.

Lovely pool, Rabbits running wild at daybreak and a reasonable pub a short distance away on foot.

It's not cheap to stay, but it's worth every penny and I cant wait to return in August

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    113
    32
    19
    8
See reviews for
117
134
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a terrific time with our two small children at this property. The room we stayed in had four beds, all of which were reasonably comfortable. Our kids appreciated the rustic charm of the place, which is in close proximity to a working farm where my daughter found a unique rock in the middle of a field (volcanic glass), which she enjoyed. The staff was courteous and accommodating, and really took an interest in making sure our children had a nice time. They have a pool which is extremely well-maintained. Plenty of parking. The property was very quiet. Wi-fi was free and very fast. They have a lovely meeting space on premises that looked like a perfect little retreat for business strategy discussions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped for 2 nights on a return trip from Wales as we had not visited Bradford on Avon before. Having seen previous reviews of Widbrook Grange on Trip Advisor we chose to stay there even though it is a little way out of town. We need not have worried about this however as the hotel is just an easy 30 minute stroll along the towpath of the canal from town.

The staff and owners were all very friendly and made us very welcome. The food was of a very good standard, we had dinner and breakfast at the hotel both days. A short but well priced wine list contained some good selections. The dinner menu on Sunday and Monday nights is much shorter in terms of main courses than on other days. My wife enjoyed a relaxed swim in the pool. Minor negatives are that the rooms could use a decorative refresh, the truncated Sunday dinner menu and the plumbing is (by their own admission) a little antiquated. Overall however we were very pleased with Widbrook Grange and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Have recently stayed at Widbrook with a large group. In fact we took all the rooms! The staff were first class from the first time we went to see them to arrange the weekend and nothing was too much trouble. From the moment we arrived the staff were most attentive and eager to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are well decorated and all individual, they were clean and most comfortable. The food was excellent, in fact chef tailored the meals to suit our requirements! The younger members of our group enjoyed the lovely pool. If you require a' hotel full of charm and character in a splendid setting Widbrook is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful weekend in Bradford on Avon based on a group booking we made at Widbrook Grange. The hotel was most helpful in our choice of venue and gave us lots of assistance in chosing two walks in the area and making our somewhat haphazard accommodation requirements workable. The staff were excellent in all areas. The hotel was very comfortable and there were many different room choices which suited our different tastes. We ate in the private area of the dining room which offered a very cosy atmosphere and the dinners available from two different menus were very much appreciated and enjoyed. I also need to mention the breakfast which was excellent, served with smiles all around and plenty of choice. A number of our group were also very pleased that the hotel had a pool which was apparently very good.

Room Tip: The Shakespeare and the Chaucer Rooms were particularly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have stayed here a few times on business and have always received excellent service. The rooms have all been clean and very comfortable, thought the plumbing is a little antiquated (not a problem). The food is wonderful (I always eat in the restaurant) and staff attentive without being intrusive. BoA is a lovely little town with nice walks along both the river and the canal. Would stay for pleasure if the opportunity arose and definitely recommend to friends, family and colleagues.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently whilst working nights locally.

On arriving we had a mishap with the rooms but the staff were patient and pleasant in freaking with us.

The cooked breakfast was amazing (especially the sausages) . A bit on the small size but that's my personal preference as I like "unhealthy portions) :-)

Rooms could do with an update but I think it just adds character to the hotel on the whole.

A must stay if you want to get away

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Widbrook Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widbrook Grange

Address: Trowbridge Rd, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Widbrook Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Widbrook Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widbrook Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Widbrook Grange Bradford-On-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Widbrook Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.