We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect "luxury"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woolley Grange

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Woolley Grange to your Saves list
Woolley Grange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woolley Green, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1TX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Don't expect "luxury"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights and has been nice but I would not say "luxury"

On arrival in our room we were pleased with the size of the room. Very large room and bathroom, full of antique furniture and creaky chairs. Very nice. Only issue was the absolutely filthy bedcover (quilt), which I immediately took off and put into a drawer... It was covered in dried food and goodness knows what else... Yuck!!

We then all went downstairs to have afternoon tea. This was delicious.... And the kids tea was very very nice... With jelly and icecream etc.... Very well presented. The only thing was that the resident dog kept sniffing around the food and at one point he ate my husbands scone and then proceeded to lick the clotted cream dish.. We did mention it to a member of staff who just chuckled and said "naughty monty" the cream tea was still on our bill at check out! Another family had a cream tea when we had ours, and their scones were still frozen in the middle... So obviously not freshly baked scones as we first thought... But yummy all the same (the ones we managed to eat before the dog!). Talking of dogs... Lots of dog poo in the grass.. So beware of that when your toddler is trudging across the lawns! Maybe some dog poo bins would be useful?

The crèche was great.. Although our 6 year old didn't really want to go in as he said lots of babies... Staff were great and plenty of toys etc... We also used babysitters. They were fabulous.

Dinner was lovely. Especially for £39. Could have done with a couple of specials though... I though there were supposed to be specials...but one was only mentioned on the last evening of our stay. Wines seemed to be running out. We wanted a Gavi di Gavi and that was out of stock, and another couple found themselves being told the same thing with regards to another wine.

Cinema great... Good idea.

Breakfast. If you wanted a cooked breakfast, there was plenty of choice, but for a continental, just a tiny bowl of brown fruit on display. Staff should pay more attention to detail at breakfast. There should be someone dedicated to clearing up? If you are not one of the first to arrive for breakfast, then you are greeted with a bomb site on arrival. The area where the choice of cereals, brown fruit and fruit juices are displayed really should be kept on top of. There were children taking Nutella, licking the spoon and placing it back in the jar and just in general, tea pots are stained glasses are unpolished bowls still have residue around them... Just the general housekeeping side of the food service is definitely not 'luxury'. Standards are low. I have worked in hospitality, and things like this are not really acceptable. As with another review before this, we also had to hunt down cutlery and at one point, when asking for a bowl were told 'they are still in the dishwasher'. Maybe someone could give the windows a clean too? The internal windows between the conservatory and dining room have been wiped with a dirty cloth. I just found myself wondering why the general manager had not noticed such things? These are really silly things, but issues that shout out that the attention to detail is just non-existent. Clean the mirror in the dining room too!! Same dirty cloth has been used to wipe that too!!! It was something a few diners were laughing about on our first evening at the hotel. It's just sloppy.

Would we return? Not sure. The hotel makes its money with, I would say, the weekend which we were there, 95% of clientele coming from London, definitely most children being privately educated.. Professional families, lots of talk at dinner about banking, hedge funds etc... Probably see the hotel as 'shabby chic' as used to city life. We already live on the verges of the countryside in Virginia Water, Surrey... And when you compare something like "Cowarth Park" hotel, again in the countryside, children (and even your horse) welcome, childrens tea served in the barn there... It throws this hotel to the ground in terms of attention to detail without being stuffy....

Staff were friendly and fabulous at Woolley. Smiles, nothing too much trouble... Food great, just few things on the details side, which I would think that a GM would notice and be hot on!



Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Royalberkshirereview

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay but particularly concerned that other aspects were not of the standard you rightly expected.

Monty has just celebrated his first birthday, been given more training, and more is booked. During tea service he is being kept out of the lounges to make sure guests can enjoy all the food they have ordered.

We have put some improvements in place to ensure service is consistently of a high standard and I do hope we can encourage you to return so you can experience those developments.

Warm wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    49
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
132
18
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for a weekend at Woolley Grange with our 3 young children in April 2013. We all had a lovely time. Our connected rooms were beautiful, and the spa and swimming pool were excellent with really warm water such that our baby even fell asleep in the pool! Our other 2 children didn't want to leave and said they wanted to stay at the hotel "forever". We have stayed at one other Luxury Family hotel and we thought Woolley Grange was better.

The only downside was the service, in the restaurant in particular, which we were not impressed by. We waited a long time to be served which is rather surprising in a family hotel. We often had a table which was not fully set out eg missing cups, cutlery or menus. I actually resorted to going and getting things eg menu, missing cutlery myself in order to try and speed things along. Initially I thought it was because they were understaffed in the restaurant (they had a large group of diners in another room on our first night) but the problem continued into breakfast on our last day when the hotel was actually quite quiet. We were also charged for someone else's spa treatment on our bill (which I noticed and it was immediately removed) - however, this sort of problem might be avoided by getting people to sign for things that they order. It is nice that the hotel doesn't bother guests with that, but it does make errors slightly more likely and it is a problem (i.e. errors on bill) that I have encountered at another Luxury Family hotel where again they did not ask guests to sign for things they ordered.

Overall, we had a great time and we would probably go back as it was very relaxing for us and the children totally loved it, but at the moment I would not say the hotel is good value for money as it is an expensive hotel and the service does not match the price tag.

Room Tip: We had connecting rooms in the coach house and they were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Chloe111186338

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with us.

I am delighted you had a great time overall and am sorry that service issues in the restaurant affected your experience. We have put a number of improvements in place to ensure the service consistently matches other aspects of the hotel.

I very much hope we can welcome you back and you will be able to benefit from the improvements we making.

Best wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This is the second of the LFH group we have stayed at - so knew what to expect. Highly geared towards children (kids lounge, every aspect of baby kit, kids meals times, menus etc), it gives the parents a chance to relax. Two hours in the brightly coloured and friendly crèche means time for mummy (and daddy) to have a swim and spa. Pool is good size, and spa treatments were good.

The house itself is huge - perfect for kids to run, play and cry (!) without causing anyone too much trouble. Staff are brilliant - patient, kind and understanding.

Grounds re fab - lots near (longleat and lacock are great), they have games galore in the garden and in summer an outdoor pool.

The baby listening service in the evenings mean we were able to have adult dinner and not worry about little one. All in all, fantastic.

If I had to have one comment it would be that we would have liked to see some changes on the menu. The food is great, local and well cooked - it just would have been good to see something new on there each night. But a v minor thing, especially of you are only there for one or two nights.

We have come back rested and well fed (with a v happy child, full of fresh air and woth memories of cuddles from Monty the dog!)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear curlygirl76

I am delighted you had such a good time. It sounds like you have enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and great that you have got home relaxed and ready for the world again.

I hope we can entice you back again very soon.

With kind regards, Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel really lived up to its claim to be family friendly and it was almost like staying in a friend's country house. From the rows of wellies by the front door to Monty, the lively cocker spaniel, the open fires, the cosy lounges and the very friendly staff, this is somewhere you can really relax. We spent a very enjoyable family weekend there - 6 adults, a two year old and one-year old. Our rooms were very spacious (my husband and I had the John Baskerville suite which was on two levels and particularly nice). We all appreciated treatments in the spa, the little ones played happily in the nursery (and liked the hens) and the food was good. The listening service worked well and we also had a babysitter one evening. The location is excellent - a safe 15 minute walk into Bradford-on-Avon which is a charming and interesting town.
Our only negative comments were that the lighting in our suite sitting room was inadequate for reading and breakfast could have been more imaginative.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Jinty27

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. Woolley has something for all ages so works very well as a destination for a break with the extended family.

Thank you for the comments about the lighting and breakfast which I will review.

Best wishes, Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Really lovely, cosy hotel. Very welcoming and family friendly, feels a bit like staying in a slightly chaotic but warm family home - complete with springer spaniel puppy Monty. We stayed 3 nights with our 3 month old daughter and had a lovely time. The spa is new and the therapists were very friendly and accommodating. The pool is warm and clean - perfect for our baby's first swim. You do have a 2 min walk outside to get to it though. Our room -John Baskerville - was beautiful, and huge - on 2 floors it felt like staying in our own little cottage (although as we're both quite tall we did have a couple of bumps from low wooden beams) and the views of the countryside were great. We spent each evening in our room thanks to the baby and it was lovely to relax on the sofa with a glass of wine and some nibbles. Room service was easy too! Breakfast could have done with a couple more members of staff to serve, seat and replenish the buffet but other than that it was all great. Definitely recommended. Other reviewers have commented on it being more "shabby" than "chic" and yes, that's probably true, BUT it is an old, charming Jacobean house with loads of kids running around, "chic" wouldn't suit it! It was clean and cosy which is all we wanted!

Room Tip: John Baskerville suite was huge while still lovely and cosy (albeit with low ceilings)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear LuceH

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Woolley. It sounds as though you have enjoyed the homely, relaxing style with a combination of parent time and time for yourselves.

For your next visit, we would be very happy to talk about alternative rooms, but maybe ones with a little more head height, as they all vary!

Best wishes, Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

As grandparents we spent a very enjoyable weekend with both daughters and their families at this hotel. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and nothing was too much trouble. As there were 10 of us we were treated to a small ante room for all the meals taken with the children which meant that we needn't have worried about the noise or behaviour of 4 small children. Our bedrooms were all very close which meant that children could run between rooms without disturbing other guests although clearly there were lots of other children there so it really didn't matter. The meal in the evening was lovely and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We actually went in March but the facilities outside were good with plenty of activities and an outdoor pool. We still managed to walk around the grounds which were well looked after and the views were stunning. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for families who wish to spent time all together. In fact it was so good we are considering repeating the weekend again at the end of the year! This hotel is part of a group and have also stayed at The Elms but I think this one is ever so slightly better!!

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with view. My daughter's family room overlooked the roof of the conservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sarah H

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay with your extended family. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

You mention that you are thinking about returning later in the year. We offer better rates and sometimes special offers the further in advance you book and these then change to normal rates as the date approaches, so booking in advance is strongly advised.

We look forward to welcoming you back later in the year. Best wishes, Clare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

With two children (3 & 1) I wanted to find somewhere that had something for the whole family to enjoy and where we could locally visit time & time again and not get tired of it. Alas, the Woolley Grange was recommended by a neighbour & another local hotel. We became Spa members last August and have never looked back.
The main selling point for us had to be the beautifully decorated and equipped Woolley Den. The staff are fantastic (Joan & Karen in particular) my children adore them and always have a wonderful experience. From making cakes, moulding play dough, colouring or playing with the vast array of books and toys- they are never bored.
On the grounds of the hotel there is also so much for the children to be occupied with- my particular favourite is the Woolley Garden. Walk into a walled garden where they grow their own vegetables, a beautifully fenced mini garden is waiting with 2 wooden Wendy houses, a real (made safe tractor) and even a sand pit. The Wendy houses are amazing- one is a beautiful mini house with table, chairs, appliances, table wear, pots & pans etc. The other is the Woolley shop consisting of a till, baskets, wooden crates and lots of wooden food. So much imaginary play and fresh area- perfect. To the right of the Woolley Garden are the chickens, my son is fascinated with them and would quite happily sit and watch them clucking around for half an hour. They also have a trampoline (great fun but the only disappointing aspect is I can't throw the children off and have a go by myself), tennis/ badminton net, croquet, swing ball & table tennis. To the left of the den there is a wooden play area with swings and slides.
Now on to the spa. The changing rooms are perfect (in my opinion), leaving your shoes outside (in the reception) you walk into a clean, family friendly changing area. The family room has a shower, toilet, travel cot and a pull down nappy changing mat area. All these things really do help and are very well thought through with patents in mind. The swimming pool has a glass ceiling and a glass wall (I'd describe it as a conservatory type room) with lots of toys and swimming aids for the children. There a steam room and sauna, sadly I haven't had much use out of them but according to my husband they are good. There is also an outdoor pool but I haven't been brave enough (with the weather) to use it yet.
I've had had two facials in the spa (given by Amy) and my husband has had a massage and reflexology which were all thoroughly enjoyed.
The main house is wonderful. My favourite room is the lounge. I love the big sofas and open fire looking out onto the grounds (I'm often found sat there having a break with a coffee & biscuits whilst the children are in the den). The orangery has recently been refurbished and looks splendid.
The staff are fantastic (especially Vicky & Poppy). We are always greeted with a smile, they are great with the children and services has always been very quick. There is also a cinema room and a smaller lounge area with an open fire (all the fires do have gates around them to stop any little hands touching). Lots of newspapers, magazines, games and toys dotted around for people to make use of.
The food is superb. It's the only place where I have been that offer different sized childrens portions. They even bring the children a healthy appetiser before their meal. Miniature cutlery is also provided for them. The cream teas are delicious and they also have a child's version in this.

Last September my husband & I were married and (very last minute) decided to hold our "reception" here. We had roughly 30 guests and they catered to it beautifully. The food was delicious, the staff accomadated to all of our guests and Vicky did an amazing job of putting it all together for us.
As for the rooms of the hotel, I really can't comment about staying in them but from what I have seen they look well equipped for the children and comfortable.
The last thing I must mention is Monty the cocker spaniel. My daughter (3) literally begs me to take her to see him- she loves him and he is always happy to have a cuddle and let my son (1) give him a stroke.
If you're looking for a relaxed, comfortable, friendly, luxury, family hotel then you can't do any better. From a mothers point of view it is simply perfect and I would be lost without it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear 894Amelie2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your regular visits to Woolley Grange as a Spa member. The team love looking after you and love the fact that Woolley is your bolthole.

See you very soon. Best wishes, Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolley Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolley Grange

Address: Woolley Green, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolley Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woolley Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolley Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Woolley Grange Bradford-On-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolley Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.