We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woolley Grange

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Woolley Grange to your Saves list
Woolley Grange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woolley Green, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1TX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington dc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just stayed for the New Year with a family group and it was wonderful as ever. Our kids are now teenagers but we have been going here since they were babies because of the staff and the fantastic environment. Where else you you stay in a beautiful, authentic Jacobean manor and yet have marvellous childcare and spa facilities in the background? Clare,Jane, Joan and all the other staff can never do too much to make one's stay more comfortable. It's great to see the programme of re-furbished rooms and all the investment which continues to go on, to improve the experience every time.

Room Tip: Main house in the winter. 'Grooms' is my favourite room in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear RichmondFalmouth

Thank you very much for your review. It was wonderful to welcome you back to Woolley joining our New Year celebrations; especially to see how much your chidlren have grown up! All the best for 2013 and hope you see you all again very soon.

Best wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    56
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
148
23
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just had a 48 hour break… it was great! Not cheap we spent £600 per day. Couple, 2 kids and one baby. The staff could not have been more helpful. We stayed until 4pm after checking out and used all the faculties. If you want to have someone make and clear up all food and someone else to look after the kids whilst you have a hot cup of tea this is the place for you. We stayed in rooms not in the min building that have recently been refurbished and they were great. Away from the main hotel which we liked as it was quiet. We even had two doors so didn't disturb the kids when we went out for a meal. We thought kids food was good quality home cooked food that kids like and adults approve of I.e veg was always on the plate!

Room Tip: Chapman has two doors so you don't wake kids up when you go out for a meal and can park car righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Jenny W

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay. We are always really happy to talk through room options and layouts which work for individual family requirements.

Happy New Year!

Best wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was my second visit (I came last year). This time I came for four nights with my sister and her two boys aged 6 & 7 and with my son aged 6. The plan was for my sister and I to have some quality time in the spa whilst the children played in the club. Unfortunately just a few days before we arrived there had been local flooding which had impacted the heated indoor pool and spa...we thought this would be a disaster but fortunately the weather played its part and the boys loved the out door pool. There are great facilities for a range of games ( football, tennis, trampoline etc) and the boys were able to run freely. Food was great and service fine in the restaurant but service in the lounge was very hit and miss, which is a pity as afternoon teas were special.
Our room were a large family suite with two bedrooms and two bathrooms, which was spacious and decor was traditional.
Only concern was that some staff were not as careful keeping a safe speed when driving on site. We managed to get some spa treatments before we left which were good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Curvy_Traveller

Thank you for your feedback and delighted you enjoyed our beautifully positioned out door pool which we open from May to September each year. I am pleased to say we have completed the necessary work to ensure the indoor pool in the spa is not affected by localised flooding, which we experienced when you stayed in August
.
We have also got a new Restaurant Manager who started at the beginning of December and he is working on ensuring the standard of service is consistent throughout the day and throughout the restaurant and lounges.

We hope you can pop back and see us, especially to make use of our indoor pool.

Warm wishes, Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just got back from 4 days at Woolley over New Year and couldn't recommend it enough to families with young children. We went with our 18month old and 5 month old on a last minute 4 night break and loved every minute.

The rooms were gorgeous, we stayed in both the main house and in the rooms behind the Hen House and I can't understand the criticisms of the rooms outside the main house. The staff were super friendly and attentive, the food great, the childcare amazing and the spa and pool fabulous.

My only minor criticisms are that I think they need to update the decor of the main dining room in line with all the other renovations and I also think that the children's food is not as good as the adults. To be fair my daughter had no complaints, but I think they should do a better job on this in particular given they are a family hotel. With those in mind, I still give it four stays and if it wasn't for the fact that we live in San Francisco I would be dashing back as soon as we could.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear MickyOnvural

Thank you very much for your feedback and delighted you had a great stay. We are constantly looking at ways we can improve what we offer and we will review the children's menu options.

I will chat with our interior designer about the main dining room to see if there are any tweaks we can make. We are trying to have a clear difference in atmosphere between the more traditional dining room and the newly refurbished Orangery, where families dine.

Hope you had a safe journey back to San Francisco and hope to be able to welcome you back when you are next in the UK.

Warm wishes
Clare and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a 3 night stay with our 3 year old daughter and cannot compliment them enough. Great service with a smile, fantastic food, flexibility and fun. We would go again and having been to some of the other hotels in the group, found this to be the most intimate and friendly

Room Tip: we stayed in magnolia
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Robert B

It was a great pleasure to look after your family during the recent festive period. So pleased you liked Magnolia; it is a very pretty suite.

Hope to be able to welcmone you back again very soon.

Best wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Dear potential Christmas breakers at Woolley. If you want an international, toffee-nosed, snooty Trump type experience, DON'T COME HERE. The Woolley Grange ( re-owned by its original owner and no longer part of the von Essen group) is a delightful, English country-house type hotel, which will give you something apparently very rare, namely a relaxing Christmas. The staff are efficient, endlessly helpful, and clearly genuinely enjoy your presence with them. I thought the cuisine very good, our double bedrooms (teenage daughter next door) and bathrooms excellent, and the general experience was ace. Tell me the cost of a relaxing Christmas where you can sink into the welcoming arms of the staff and are looked after. Priceless.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sarah T

Thank you for your lovely words following your stay at Woolley for Christmas. It was great to have you at our house party once again and I am delighted to hear you are re-booking again for Christmas 2013.

Look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Clare and the Woolley team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A great hotel for young families. We are spending new year here with our children (5 & 3) and despite truly awful weather there is so much to do and we are having a wonderful time. I have visited the spa and the staff and whole experience was relaxing and wonderful. Everything was immaculately clean and my therapist (the Manager) was knowledgable, very skillful & not at all pushy. The pool is perfect for little ones nice and warm and big enough to enjoy but not so big it becomes daunting. They have a full range of floats etc to make it fun and enjoyable, clean soft towels and a sauna and steam room for mum and dad! Our room is the Balcony which is beautifully furnished and perfect for a family with 2 children. Enough space for them to go to bed and mum ad dad to watch movies etc undisturbed. It's in the old coach house which I like because its peaceful and just a hop skip and jump from the main hotel. The reception team are super helpful and nothing is too much trouble and all meals so far have been delicious! The bears den is staffed by two experienced lovely ladies who both of our children took to immediately. They have an amazing knack of remembering every childs name and making them all very welcome. You can drop the children off for two hours at a time to give you enough time to read a couple of chapters of a good book. Enjoy a magazine or catch up on sleep!

Room Tip: I love the coach house as it has just been re-decorated - I have stayed in the main house too but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare-Hammond, General Manager at Woolley Grange, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear LuluKitten

Thank you very much for your review, especially as you wrote it while you were still with us. You were amoungst a lovely group of guests staying with us at New Year, creating a a very jolly, celebratory atmosphere. We hope we can tempt you back in the summer when you can enjoy our gardens as well.

Warm wishes
Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolley Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolley Grange

Address: Woolley Green, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Bradford-on-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bradford-on-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woolley Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Woolley Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolley Grange Hotel Bradford-On-Avon
Woolley Grange Bradford-On-Avon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolley Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.