We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keith from Hemel Hempstead” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
Farleigh Wick, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2PU, England
01225 863122
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Keith from Hemel Hempstead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you like a old country pub with open fires and a great menu, then I strongly recommend this venue. If you have a big appetite then have the Hog Roast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lovely dining experience - yet again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We revisited this lovely pub en-route to visiting relatives in Bath again at Christmas. Having had such a warm welcome and great time last time we had a meal (all five of us), we wondered if we would have the same enjoyable experience, a year on. We were certainly not dissapointed! As last time a lovely warm welcome and no problem that we hadn't booked.The food was really excellent, beautifully cooked and presented, with plenty of choice for all. Generous portions and puddings to die for! Yet again, thank you to all the staff at the Fox and Hounds for fantastic food in a lovely, homely atmosphere... Such a pity we live so far away or we would be regulars!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great country pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

on a cold winters night my friend and i decided to book a table here. itwas midweek so tables were freely available,service was quick , friendly, and the food was very very good. will be going again soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A pub with good grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have eaten here several times over the last few years and have never been disappointed, I have seen a couple of reviews that seem to expect full high class restaurant service, this is a pub that serves good honest food with usually very helpful and pleasant staff. The wines are above average, for a pub, and the beers are well kept. Portions are generous to large, we seldom manage to explore the pud menu (this is probably a compliment). When it is busy and you need something a quick trip to the bar always sorts it out. I came close to giving it 5 stars but felt that "very good" was probably the most apt description.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed a fantastic Sunday evening meal at The Fox & Hounds, 'phoned for a reservation at 6.00pm and got there 10 minutes later, table ready for us with a Reserved sign. First time visit although driven past many times, this was a last minute decision so not sure what to expect but service at the bar was swift and friendly, I had an excellent pint of Bath Ales "Gem" beer, my wife had a glass of Sauvignon Blanc and daughter a diet coke.
Selected from a varied menu with an interesting selection of starters at extremely keen prices but we decided to pass on a starter and went straight for the mains, I chose a Hog Roast, wife had Beef and Apricot Casserole whilst daughter had a Steak and Mushroom Pie, which all came with a choice of chips, new potatoes or mash, cauliflower, broccoli and carrots.
We didn't have much time to take in the charm of the open log fire, exposed beams etc., before our food arrived, service was quick, food was well presented, piping hot and very generous portions, my Hog Roast was an enormous rack of pork with a massive piece of crackling.
We were so full up we couldn't finish everything on our plates so didn't sample the sweet menu.
We all agreed we'd had a most enjoyable, unhurried meal, with excellent yet discrete service. A really great choice and we will most definitely be returning again.
Our bill came to just just under £50 which we felt was very reasonable and excellent value. Thoroughly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox and Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.