We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still at the top of the tree” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Longs Arms

The Longs Arms
Upper South Wraxhall, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2SB, England
01225 864450
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $47
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Longs Arms is a beautiful country pub serving cask ale and fresh seasonal food in a relaxed environment with warm and friendly service. We are located in the heart of the lovely village of South Wraxall – just 3 miles from the picturesque town of Bradford on Avon, and 7 miles from the historical city of Bath.
Lacock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“still at the top of the tree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Having not been able to visit South Wraxall recently it was a delight to return to the Longs Arms for lunch on New Years Day. Despite recent setbacks with floods and a fire this brilliant pub is as good as ever.If you know of anywhere that produces better or more original food I would like to know. Coupled with the most efficent and friendly service by all the front of house staff it is not surprising that the place is soon buzzing after opening,good idea to book a table.We will be returning much sooner to sample more Longs Arms delights.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    32
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Such a lovely little pub with a lovely landlady who maes you feel very welcome. Food is locally sourced and tastes devine . We had steak and it was cooked to perfection a real melt in your mouth dish. Excellent prices , good variety of food and they are happy to adapt a dish to suit you. It has such a cosy feel to the place. They have a great selections of wines and ales and even suggest what goes well with each meal. Perfect location for any occassion!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Well worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were told this place was very good and when I saw the reviews, I knew it was going to be good. What none of the reviews or indeed the web page gave any indication of cost so once again, I thought it might be a bit on the pricey side. 4 of us dined on Saturday night, three courses, wine and three pints of beer. The cost, with a tip came to £160.00. Now the meal was good and well worth the cost, although it is somewhere that the majority of people would not be able to afford on a regular basis. I was quite suprised to be charged for some bread and butter though as most up market venues provide this at no charge. The wine was a reasonable £15.00 a bottle and the home made chocolates were a nice touch. All in all, a lovely evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Lamb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just come back from a couple of days outside of Bath and had a look in the local food magazine, 'Crumbs', very good magazine, found an advert for The Longs Arms. Very warm welcome from the girl behind the bar, nice cheeky smile. Staff very attentive and knowledgeable about the food. Started with the goats cheese and beetroot fritters, never had anything like this before, really nice, moved on to the main and had the Lamb Rump, best lamb I have ever had. A bit more pink than I normally have but very nice all the same. My wife had the Watercress soup and the soufflé and was just as impressed. Neither of us had a sweet but we were given the pubs own hand made chocolates, this finish off a great evening.
So impressed were myself and my wife, we went back the next night and were just as impressed

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Super sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went to the Longs for sunday lunch and had a fantastic meal Service was great and the food delicious. The portions are very generous and we were glad we didnt have a starter as it left room for a great pudding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Longs Arms also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Longs Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Longs Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.