We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, rubbish food and feels run down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverside Inn - CLOSED

The Riverside Inn
49 St Margarets Street, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1DE, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value, rubbish food and feels run down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I come down the riverside often to see friends. To be honest it needs new owners to run the place. There is no atmosphere and it's got so much potential. They should play more live bands in the black cat and give it a whir renovation. Flatcappers TAKE IT OVER!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

18% Recommend
    1
    2
    3
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An appalling reflection of a country pub”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stopped here for lunch on Wednesday as we thought a sandwich by the river would be nice - the sun was shining. How wrong we were. The sandwich was appalling and the chips were disgusting. We complained as we left but no offer of a refund was made. It is a disgrace that places like this operate and give the tourist the wrong impression. The place was grubby, toilets dirty and there was food on the carpet. It had not been cleaned from the day before.

By contrast we visited a pub in Chew Magna on Thursday and you could have eaten lunch off the floor - it was spotless.

The owners of the Riverside Inn should really improve the place before they go bust!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicklade
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food at the pub not good.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stopped by for lunch, wish we hadn't!
The beer was okay and the service was friendly.
Quite frankly I've had better food at a "greasy spoon", and too expensive for what it was.
The chips were lukewarm, burnt, and soggy.
When we complained we got a small discount.
My advice? Look elsewhere, unless you're just there for a beer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do not get a sandwich”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were 8 people, after an hour and 20 minutes, 3 still had no meal. And we were the first table in for lunch. I ordered a horseradish and roast beef sandwich. First it came out with no meat on it, only horseradish. sent it back and it came back with a 'bit' of grey meat. Cannot comment on the taste, as I didn't eat it. To be fair, the burgers looked good, but I didn't eat one so..... We finally sent mine back and cancelled the still not received meals which was done.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Popped in on way back from Bristol”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Was ok..not enough staff on, waited a while for food. not expensive but avarage food anyway, so good value for the money

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside Inn also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.