We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Stars Pub

Seven Stars Pub
Winsley, Bradford-on-Avon BA15 2LQ, England
01225 722204
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
West Lafayette
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Seven Stars just happened to be in a convenient location to our B and B and what a lucky thing that was! Food outstanding, atmosphere charming, and the owners are a delight. We went two nights in a row and were extremely happy with each visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    54
    3
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

After several years, we re-visited The Seven Stars with friends and enjoyed a really excellent meal
from the interesting lunchtime menu. Good atmosphere and presentation, plus efficient and friendly service. Not surprised that it is so popular in the evenings (must try that menu) and fail to understand why people turn up without pre-booking in what is a well known and extremely popular venue and then complain when they are turned away. Some Landlords are damned if they do and damned if they don't. At Winsley they are obviously really trying and working hard to keep both the villagers and outsiders happy and must be doing something right !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Support local producers, and leave space for drinkers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Ate dinner on Saturday night. Very busy as ever which is great to see. I sympathise with Patty_Fields - I think it is a mistake to book all the tables for dinner - the pub should set aside the bar area for casual drinkers.

The beer selection is still limited. 6X and Gem are on-semi permanently, so that's your local bitters well covered. On the other two taps, there just seems to be some back up bitters! Betty Stoggs is not a radical departure, nor is Moles Gold, the latest guest. Try ringing the changes. How about supporting local brewers, e.g. try something from Willy Good Ale (Hopadelic?) or Box Steam Brewery (Derail Ale?).

I note the display of 'local producers' has gone from the wall. This is disappointing, as I presume it means the kitchen no longer advocates local food sourcing. My salad was described on the menu as from (local) Hartley Farm, but I am concerned this is no longer the case.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan A, Owner at Seven Stars Pub, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We do keep some tables in the bar for drinkers, but we do get a lot of walk ins at weekends and I am sorry but we can not afford to turn away business as I am sure you will understand
most people eat between 6pm and 8pm so there is nearly always plenty of space for drinkers after this time.
As regards to real ales we keep 6x from Devizes Bath ales from Bristol And Betty stoggs/Knocker from Cornwall as our regular ales and moles from Melksham + a variety of other local brews on our guest pump, we do not keep box steam because our 2 nearest competitors are associated with them and stock there ales and sadly we have tried willy good ales without success
We still buy all our produce locally the board was taken down that day and is being reconfigured The sign with Hartley farm is still on the wall with a picture of Kate who grows the salad and veg
I hope this answers your queries Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Don't pop in for a drink”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Went to the Seven Stars for an early evening drink on a Saturday night - ordered our drinks and were about to sit down at one of the many empty tables. However, we were told not to sit at any of the tables as they were all reserved for dinner (it was only 6.30pm!!) and were directed to a corner table at the back and told not to put our drinks on the table otherwise they'd have to wipe it up! Certainly won't be going back for either a drink or a meal ...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan A, Owner at Seven Stars Pub, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
we are sorry that you felt you were pushed to the back of the pub, but most of the tables were already occupied in the bar with people drinking. And yes the other tables were reserved which is why you were offered a table that was not reserved until 8pm and at no time were you asked not to put your glasses on the table in fact I only asked the waitress to put beer mats on the table
Most people who come in to the pub are only to happy to see a village pub doing so well and I think it is very sad that you could not talk to me about your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Friends and neighbours get together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were 11 friends,and neighbours, of 40 years standing,who booked a lunch time meal at this village pub recently. The food selection is excellent,especially for lovers of fish, and we thoroughly enjoyed our get together at this very welcoming hostelry. Alan,the owner, and his family and staff cannot do enough for you and we do not hesitate to recommend the food,service and atmosphere. However, booking ahead is a must as the Seven Stars is very busy,even on a mid week lunchtime.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Stars Pub also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Seven Stars Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Stars Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.