We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Fowl

Fat Fowl
Silver St., Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1JX, England
01225 863111
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

While visiting my mother in Bradford-on-Avon we decided, on the spur of the moment late in the evening, to go out for a meal. We had heard about the Fat Fowl's reopening after the winter flooding and thought we would try it as both of us had only ever been in during the day. I wondered if we would get a table as it appeared very busy. We were greeted and told there was one table but it was next to the kitchen. Normally I would prefer not to be seated near the kitchen but due to the open plan it was brilliant to see the chefs and waiting staff buzzing around. They were a real team. We had one course followed by coffee. The meals were substantial with the sirloin steak cooked to perfection and the Stella Artois battered onion rings were delicious. It was excellent value for money compared to other eating places in the town. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    64
    20
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

It was good to see that the Fat Fowl was up and running again in their first week of operation after closure due to the winter floods. The entrance to the restaurant is impressive and the ambience inside pleasant with subdued lighting; indeed, the refurbishment includes future-proofing against further flooding. The staff were attentive and it was pretty full for a weekday with customers no doubt wishing to show solidarity with the Fat Fowl's recent opening. Unfortunately the quality of the meals presented was patchy and overall didn't match the higher-end menu prices. Some of the courses were really nice and well presented, others lacked presentation or substance and one was over-cooked. In the end, it didn't feel that we had value for money which was reinforced by the addition of potatoes and vegetables at £6 to the price of a main course. Early days yet of course and, to give the owners the benefit of the doubt, they have yet to hit their stride; but customers won't return unless they perceive that the menu prices reflect the quality of the food.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Friendly and efficient.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Had a very nice meal at the Fat Fowl, I chose steak and my wife had fish and they were both first class the staff were friendly and efficient, we used a taste card with no problem we were given the discount on the food and we would certainly visit the Fat Fowl if we are ever in the area again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford on Avon Wilts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a very central cafe, and, although it's on a busy roundabout with outdoor tables in good weather, the busy toings and froings only add to the atmosphere somehow. The menus change often so we visit regularly for coffee or lunch. Regular fish offerings are always a pleasure as are the tapas offerings. No need to book in the daytime. Yummy mummies and babies and toddlers are often there in the mornings. Pleasant young staff and good v-f-m. Rioja is a favourite wine, well chosen.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just finished 20mile bike ride to Bath and back and stopped here for a bit of brunch.
Unasked, the Waitress brought me over a glass of water as she came over to get my order. Lifesaver.
Brunch was good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Fowl also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Fat Fowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Fowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.