We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey but excellent food and excellent service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Fowl

Fat Fowl
Silver St., Bradford-on-Avon BA15 1JX, England
01225 863111
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but excellent food and excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went here for the first time having got a late deal for 1/2 price food. At half price it was exceptional value. At full price, I might have thought it was a bit pricy but as my partner said, for the quality of food, you have to pay a little more and I agree with both the quality of the food and the fact that, even at full price, it would not have been expensive. The staff were excellent and friendly. The service was just right, with the drinks and different courses arriving just how we would have liked them. Overall, a really pleasant night out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    64
    20
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Such a shame!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have been into the Fat Fowl a number of times, it is a lovely little place serving tasty and well priced food and tapas...what let it down on our lastest visit is the service.
There were a total of 8 of us in the cafe with 3 staff in attendance..or not on this occassion!
We waited ten minutes for anyone to approach us and then we had to ask for the menu...after ordering drinks a cold snack we waited a further ten minutes.
Meanwhile a tourist family came in and were obviously wanting food, they were looking at the two blackboards deciding what to have...only to be told that the specials on there were only available monday to friday...why have them on show then?!!! The man of the group had to try and gain the attention of the staff to ASK for a menu. Cringe making is not the word!
It really does aggravate me that service can be so bad in a touristy place such as Bradford on Avon.
The food is excellent but that does not excuse the carefree manner in which customers are treated.
Please sort this out..train staff and make it a place to be proud of!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great name - great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Really enjoyed our evening here. One of our best meals in the UK and pretty good value for money. The menu was interesting and there was some nice stuff to choose from on the wine list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Pleasant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The menu is interesting and tempting. Service was slow and the restaurant was not particularly busy.

We asked for fizzy water and got iced tap water. We had to remind the waiter about the bread we had ordered with the Provencal fish soup. The soup and bread were good. So was the Wild Boar burger.

I will probably come here again, but certainly won't if it is busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Went for the first time whilst in the area. Extremely good food and they took the Taste card, so very good value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Fowl also viewed

Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Fat Fowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Fowl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.