We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming but Just Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Rice Restaurant

Thai Rice Restaurant
40 East St, Warminster BA12 9BW, England
+44 1985 213323
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 55 Restaurants in Warminster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Yunnan, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a well established small run family business closing in on 10 years of service. We would not describe ourselves as a high end restaurant we Just provide very good quality Authentic Thai cuisine where all our main dishes are cooked to order using what we believe to be good quality ingredients. Even though we are located in a small town in rural Wiltshire a high percentage of our regular clientele our people from the South East Asian region due to the fact there are 2 private boarding schools in the local vicinity and the students and there parents(when visiting) believe our food to be the closest to what they eat on a day to day basis at home which can be Thailand, Vietnam, Japan, China, Korea etc etc. We believe this to be the case because our policy has always been to give local people the chance to taste the Authentic cuisines of Thailand(SE ASIA) not to change it to suite the locals. We always advise that you make a booking other wise you might be disappointed and not get to taste the cooking.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Welcoming but Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW via mobile

I came here as a party of 16 for dinner midweek, it doesn't look much from the outside but soon as you step inside its the same. The staff where very welcoming and drinks orders taken as we waited for the rest of our group, the menu was a bit strange as it had about 12 starters on it but only 3 of them had homemade next to them. The main course had delays in service due to a poor and inadequate taking of orders from the waitress all in all the food was average at best and the service was friendly but poorly trained this was my first visit here so I may give them one more try.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    14
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

Me and few friends came here for meal out and the staff could not be faulted one bit!!! I will definitely be returning in the near future

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely food, strange atmosphere...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Would have sent a private email rather than a review but could not find a contact address as I feel I could have mentioned this when I was in the restaurant. The food was lovely and decently priced, although the restaurant itself has more than an office feel than a restaurant feel. There was no music and this meant we could hear everyone else's conversation and the eery silence made the experience quite awkward. I don't want to sound like I know how to run a restaurant - but I reckon a nice bit of Thai music, change of the wall colour (perhaps more deep reds), some curtains and not so heavy spotlighting and this place will be great. The guy/owner who served us was lovely but perhaps could be a bit more chirpier, perhaps he was a bit shy :).

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

We visited here on a quiet evening and we were delighted with the meal. The service was polite, friendly, and helpful in choosing dishes and wine. The menu was extensive but all the dishes were served with attention to detail and focus on flavours and fresh ingredients. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Wilts.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We have eaten here several times as we live in a village nearby and are always pleased with the food. Everything tastes fresh and is freshly prepared and it is very good value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Rice Restaurant also viewed

Warminster, Wiltshire
Warminster, Wiltshire
 
Warminster, Wiltshire
Warminster, Wiltshire
 

Been to Thai Rice Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Rice Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.