We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B just outside Warminster” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The George Inn to your Saves list
The George Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Longbridge Deverill, Warminster BA12 7DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Warminster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B just outside Warminster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Shared a twin room on a Saturday night with a friend after attending a wedding locally.

Good stuff:
- Staff helpful e.g. my friend arrived early and, kindly, they cleaned our room first to allow him to check in early and change. booked us a local taxi. (Note: it's v expensive as taxis have to come all the way from Warminster. Obviously not The George's faut though!)
- Fantastic breakfast in the bar/restaurant. Plenty of juice and coffee/tea. Fabulous hot selection (full english, proper bacon sarnie, porridge) with tasty quality meats and fresh bread.
- Good sized room
- Plenty of parking space.
- Easy to find (just off the A350)

Less good stuff:
- Slightly noisy as our room slightly overlooked the main road.
- Bathroom suite was a bit tired and plug broken. It didn't really make a difference to us but might to others!

Can't comment on:
- Pub Garden - looked lovely though!
- Bar
- Restaurant

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for your kind comment, make sure next time you are passing you pop in and enjoy our lovely restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    46
    19
    13
    3
See reviews for
48
56
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge,England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed one night here in order to attend a family celebration nearby. We arrived a little early but the friendly staff still allowed us to check in ahead of time. We were allocated a very nice, good sized room which overlooked the front of the hotel. However, the bathroom could be described as being a little “cosy”. Owing to the warm weather we had to open the windows at night, this unfortunately made it a bit noisy as there seemed to be almost constant traffic passing the hotel on the main rd. Gorgeous complimentary coffee and hot chocolate provided in the room.
The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments and hope you will join us again after our upcoming refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbury, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stopped for the loo and for a drink whist we travelled back from Weymouth to home. Passed this pub so many times but this was the first time we got there about 830pm on a bank holiday Monday and judging by the amount of empty glasses on the tables out side they must of been busy. Set in a real nice location they have a huge garden with the added bonus of the stream/river running in the middle of it.the outside is well maintained and apart from the empty glasses looked tidy. The drinks are reasonable priced for 2 pints shandy,1 half shandy and a j20 was just over a tenner which is about average.The staff were polite and friendly .went to the loo which to be honest is that narrow if it was a inch narrower you would have to drop your knickers outside the door and back scuttle in.having said that they were clean. The food what I could see looked really nice and looking at the menus was reasonably priced.would def have a meal next time I come through.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments, next time you are passing please drop in and try our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked this as we were visiting the Spa at Centre parcs nearby and the George is less than 10 mins away. It is a very nice area, good for Longleat & Stonehenge etc
Easy to find, it has a pretty lake with ducks and seating area. Everything we expected really,it does what it says on the tin.
Nice old english country pub , well appointed rooms if slightly worn, but clean.Staff were all helpful & friendly with an excellent breakfast.We were rung the day before arrival to warn of disturbance with music due to a wedding party on the night we stayed but were assured it would be over by midnight . We returned 10.45pm and the music was blasting for around 20 mins but then stopped so it was fine no problem for us.We paid £90 but feel it was a little pricey £75 would be better. Bar menu choice was good & reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, you will be pleased to know that our rooms are at present being fully refurbished, so please do come and enjoy our hospitality again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

we had been to centreparcs for the week and used this hotel as a way of extending our trip for a day and to take my parents out for a meal. We stayed overnight in the ensuite bedrooms. We also ate at the George Inn restaurant and partook of the breakfast in the morning too. We were contacted by the hotel to warn us that our rooms may be affected by the noise of music as a wedding was being held in the function room, and they kindly gave us substantial discounts to reflect the inconvenience caused. The rooms were clean and well decorated, the restaurant menu was varied and the size of portions was fantastic, as was the quality of the food. Given that it was a pub/inn the range of options on the menu was very good indeed. The staff were efficient, polite and friendly. One needs to be aware that there can be some noise from the A350 and that the pub is used by locals as their "local pub". We liked this as it added an authentic atmosphere to the pub, and it was nice to have polite friendly staff who were efficient and helpful without being intrusive. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: beware if there is a function on as the rooms may be affected by noise, but if there is no function...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and hope you will visit us again when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a lovely Inn right on the river. All the staff were very friendly and helpful with no exceptions and the food was excellent. The rooms are large clean and airy with tea and coffee-making facilities (excellent ground coffee) There were six of us with the object of going to Longleat for our grandsons birthday and this hotel was the icing on the cake.We stayed three nights but it would have been very helpful if the hotel had had some leaflets on fairly local attractions for all ages. Not bad as our only disappointment!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a lovely hotel who made us feel very welcome. It was my son's 21st birthday and the staff really pushed the boat out to make this a very happy stay. the evening meal was excellent and so was breakfast. The rooms are clean and spacious with plenty of tea and coffee etc. The towels are a good size and are nice and soft. Thanks for a great family break. We are looking forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard C, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thanks very much for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn

Address: Longbridge Deverill, Warminster BA12 7DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Warminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Warminster
The George Inn Warminster, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.