We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farmers Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Warminster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Farmers Hotel
Save
You added Farmers Hotel to your Saves list
1 Silver Street, Warminster BA12 8PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here unexpectedly following a fun packed day at nearby Longleat.

The member of staff who welcomed us was happy to accommodate our party if seven, which included three children under 7. She was an excellent waitress, nothing was too much trouble and she was a real credit to the Farmers.

The menu was varied and included several pasta dishes and many main courses that ranged from Fillet of Beef Stroganoff (£21) to ham, egg and chips (£9). I chose the tarragon chicken, which was accompanied by a huge amount of potatoes and veg on top of an already generous portion. It was very tasty and, if I may say so, an excellent choice! Other members of the party had the mixed grill, king prawn chili tagliatelle and pasta bolognaise... all of which were delicious.

We were delighted to have stumbled across such a gem of a restaurant, and were surprised that it was more busy on a Saturday night. Highly recommended :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
19
10
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our stay was booked for us by a relative,so wasnt researched. We found, no lift, ,bedrooms over two floors, we were at the far end of the hotel,our room was small ,overlooking the rear of the hotel no view from the window. Paint work was jaded, the bedspread was clean but had what looked like an a small oil mark that had not washed out .
As we were attending a wedding we needed a good hanging space to hang our wedding outfits, there was no full size wardrobe only a chest high open cupboard,we had to hang our clothes from the curtain rail,
This is a family run hotel and has the stables over the road which can be booked for a function.
Breakfast was well cooked and cooked to order,

Room Tip: Ask for a large room, our double was a tight fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I cannot begin to wonder where the people that wrote the bad reviews stayed.
We (10 adults, 1 toddler and 1 baby) booked the Farmers Hotel for two nights bed and breakfast to attend a family wedding. We booked in, no problems, we were shown to our rooms, no problems. Yes the floors and some of the stairs were a little uneven but the building is over 400 years old, what would you expect? Overall the building was in good repair
The staff were more than willing to help in any way possible, the breakfasts were all freshly prepared to order and individual choice, not to mention well cooked and presented. Facilities for the two children were available and brought to us as and when they were needed. The rooms were clean tidy and well appointed, some may say they were a little on the small side but that's how they built them 400 years ago.
Would I go back?
Without a doubt

Room Tip: Due to the size of our party we were spread around the hotel, all the rooms I saw (5) were all as go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A really lovely place. All staff were really friendly. The food was lovely. Very clean. Excellent value for money. Would definately stay there again. Only down side was the car park wasn't very big, But that added to the character of the place. All packed in but no-one had a problem if you needed to move your car to let some one else out. All in all a fab weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just come back from a lovely 2 night stay here with our kids in a family room. Exceptional friendliness & customer service second to none throughout our time here, nothing too much trouble. Rooms immaculately clean, beds comfy, wonderful breakfast cooked for us by a lovely Italian lady, (any combination of breakfast foods cooked to perfection with huge portions). We ate here in the restaurant on our first night and it was also most enjoyable (we dined from the Italian Night special menu) and excellent value for money. Brilliant location for Longleat (just up the road) and Bath (nearby train station takes you into Bath Centre on the hour, no need to hassle with driving or park & ride) Don't go looking for chain hotels when you've got amazing independent hotels like this around. Definitely recommend & will definitely come back when in the area. Thanks to the staff for a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Overview. From the outside this hotel does not look like much, but on the inside it is hiding a warmth of hospitality that is rare to find these days.
Its true that the facilities seem basic and the building feels worn, but has been given a lick of paint and as much as you can do with a building of this age, to be honest it had a certain charm.
I finally say that given what paying a night for B&B this establishment is a deal.
Hotel also provide wifi for £3 a night which was even available in my room at the very top, so don't begrudge paying it.

Pros
Friendly
Hospitable
Clean
Tasty breakfast cooked to order
Good wifi

Cons
Old building so feels worn
Basic

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, have been here before so knew kind of what to expect. Check in was okay, but room i bit tatty (but again i knew that), it was clean, the tv was old and the freeview box was attached via a scart lead, it took a lot of fiddling around to get it to work (could do with tv being replaced). The room was also clean and tidy.

Very limited time with the breakfast, only between 8am - 9am (even on a Sunday), would of liked a bit more breakfast flexibility.

Check out was a bit of an issue, the lady did not know who i was, how long i stayed and how much i needed to pay, she went from trying to charge me £30 for 1 night up to £120 for 3 night, she was in a right old faff looking at the paper book. As im an honest person i paid the lady for what i used which was 3 nights at £30, £90 total and asked them to call me if there was a problem. (They could really do with a computer).

As i said, all very average for the price, not post card material but if im passing by i might stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farmers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Hotel

Address: 1 Silver Street, Warminster BA12 8PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Warminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Warminster
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Farmers Hotel Warminster, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.