We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful as always!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart

Save Saved
You added Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Hillside, Atlantic Circle, Portstewart BT55 7AZ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Portstewart B&B and Inns
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I've stayed at Cul Erg a number of times. Portstewart is an excellent location to see the North Antrim coast and i choose to stay there when I visit the University of Ulster on work trips. The rooms are clean and vary in size from cosy singles to larger doubles. The facilities are very good and John and Marie make sure that you're taken care of every step of the way. Everything is well organized, but you never feel like you're being managed, which i particularly like. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    407
    24
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
100
205
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Owners were very nice and personable. Room was beautiful, well furnished and very clean. Made to order breakfast was excellent! Wish we were closer; we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I have just returned from a great 3 days in Portstewart, Northern Ireland. I was very surprised by the welcome we received, it set the tone for the short stay. The management were very friendly and helpful. The promenade was close and is great for a stroll in the evening. A good supply of restaurants locally and in the surrounding areas. I will no doubt return again.

Mel, Donegal

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

You can usually tell how good/bad somewhere is going to be within 10 seconds of arriving, and Cul Erg was no exception. It actually began before we opened the glass porch door and could smell beautiful fresh lillies.
From the warm welcome we received from Marie, to the genuine goodbye, we were made to feel at home. JJ even showed us around the place as we waited for our taxi to the train station. All rooms are tastefully decorated, showing the pride and passion of two people who want thier guests to enjoy their stay.
Highlights included a wonderful breakfast, with wide choices including omlette, salmon, scrambled eggs and, of course, full Irish breakfast.
Also the lounge. 2 big leather settees in front of a roaring peat and log fire. Mmmmm! My wife and I had to drag ourselves off the settees after a day at the Giants' Causeway So relaxing!!
All in all, best B&B we have ever been to and will be back,hopefully, again and again

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We booked this B&B for 2 nights after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Perfectly positioned for trips to Bushmills distillery, The rope bridge and the Giants Causeway. Also not too far from Derry Airport.

We parked right outside the front door with no problem. The room we had was on the top floor, as requested by me, and had a lovely view over the sea. A small but immaculately clean shower room and an extremely comfortable bed. Quite fortunate, as we were staying another night!. Breakfast was lovely and fresh. Can't understand previous comments about the choice. You could have had anything you fancied. Are these people used to going to large hotels where they are catering for hundreds? The choice would be the same, just on a larger scale. Eggs cooked just the way we asked for them and JJ and Marie were friendly and interesting to chat to. Lovely fire in the lounge, frequently topped up by Marie, and magazines and a large television, if you wanted to sit there on the comfy sofas and relax. All in all, a great place to stay.

I think what would say the most about this lovely place is - would I go back, or recommend it? The answer is a definite yes. What didn't I like - nothing!

Thanks Marie & JJ for a lovely stay.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We found this to be a lovely B and B in a great location. Marie was very helpful in recommending places for dinner and we were treated to a private Irish dance recital by their daughter after an Irish breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

My parents and I were in Ireland from the United States, visiting my brother who is in school in Coleraine. When we first arrived to the B&B...we were greeted in from the cold with welcoming hospitality, a fresh pot of coffee, and a wonderfully warm fire. Marie and JJ were such gracious hosts, and made us feel like we were at a home away from home. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfasts were wonderful...with a wide variety of fruits, cereal, and bread...and a number of hot meals made to order. Marie and JJ really made a point to talk to each of us, look us in the eye, and treat us like special guests. I would recommend the Cul Erg to anyone looking for a memorable experience and heartwarming hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart

Address: 9 Hillside, Atlantic Circle, Portstewart BT55 7AZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cul-Erg House is a modern B&B situated only a 2 min walk to Portstewart promenade where a range of restaurants, bars and coffee shops can be found. All rooms are en-suite with flat screen TVs, toiletries and fluffy towels. We are close to all local Golf Clubs and only a short drive to the main Tourist attractions, the Giant Causeway and Bushmills Distillery. Belfast is only 1 hr drive and 50 mins to Derry. Breakfast can be enjoyed in a spacious dining room. Guests can select from a range of local produce from the breakfast bar and order a hot dish from the breakfast menu provided. Free wireless internet is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cul Erg b&b Portstewart
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Hotel Portstewart
Cul Erg Bed And Breakfast Portstewart Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cul Erg Bed and Breakfast Portstewart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.