We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with plenty of entertainment !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Anchorage Inn to your Saves list
The Anchorage Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87-89 The Promenade, Portstewart BT55 7AG, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portadown
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with plenty of entertainment !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Went to stay here for two nights just for a wee break at halloween. On arriving we parked across the street as there was no hotel parking, but was only across the road. We had a quick check in and then climbed the two flights of stairs and got to our room. First class room, massive bed, digital TV, internet wireless, tea & coffee etc. The bar had a nice atmosphere about it and the staff were very friendly. The food was excellent in both the bar & restaurant. The first night I stayed, there was a quiz on in the bar which was great craic and I managed to win three bottles of wine, lol. Snacks were also provided for all quiz teams, free of charge. The second night I stayed, there was a traditional music group on, which again was great craic and the bar was very busy and lively. There was free entrance into the nightclub, but I didnt bother with that as I was enjoying myself in the bar so much. All in all great place to stay, very reasonably priced and would definiately recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    44
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
19
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed in the Anchorage Inn on the way to viewing the Giants Causeway. Firstly it's location is excellent if you want to check out the magnificent coast of Northern Ireland. It's a short hop from the Giants Causeway and right beside some amazing beaches.

On the hotel itself, there's no hotel parking on offer but there is plenty of on-street parking available and I was able to park in the church right across the road. Literally 30 seconds from the front door so this wasn't a problem. The hotel rates were extremely reasonable £50 got me a double room business suite and a free breakfast.

The room itself was very well laid out and excellently decorated. My girlfriend was a little concerned that there was no bath in the bathroom but this was a minor concern as the bathroom was extremely modern and very clean. The room itself was pretty impressive and also clean to a high standard. The beds were so good we were laughing about taking down the name of the mattress and if you wanted to spend the night in there was an abundance of TV channels to keep anyone entertained. The only minor downside was when you exited the bathroom you had to shimmy around the bed as the door kept hitting the spare bed and couldn't open fully. Aside from that the internet access was wi-fi accessible but very low strength.

The hotel offers a nice range of food at very affordable prices and even though we arrived in 15 minutes before the restaurant was due to close the staff still took our order and we both enjoyed it immensely. In the morning the breakfast offered was the usual Full Irish or poached eggs etc with the option of cereal... The breakfast was actually great and not the usual grease fest you get and service was perfect.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel if you're planning a short hop up north and touring around. The hotel is pretty modern with some nice facilities. The only true downside is that the rooms aren't soundproofed so if you're a light sleeper staying over the weekend may be an issue. the Nightclub which you have free entry to is on the bottom floor and although we were on the second floor the music could be heard all night long. This didn't bother me as when I crashed out I didn't hear anything but my girlfriend was a lighter sleeper and it did keep her awake. I will point out that this was a minor issue and the overall stay was great. But in order to be fair I have to point that out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Recently stayed at the Anchor Bar with friends and we all thought it was great.
Booked by phone with Rhona who was very helpful and pleasant. Service from all staff was excellent in every way as they were extremely helpful and willing to help at all times. We stayed in deluxe rooms which were very comfortable, clean and very quiet and excellent value at £70 per twin room with breakfast, only if you don't mind going up two flight of stairs. Food quality and service was of a very high standard.
Location is right in the centre of town with easy access to everything Portstewart has to offer.
Well done to all the staff
GOOD - everything
BAD - nothing

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kesh co fermanagh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in 2 rooms 201 and 210 lovely and clean . we ate in hotel 2 nights great food well worth the money. On the thursday night the night club was on but it not bother us at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We had a wonderfull stay at Anchorage Inn.
When decided to extend our stay the staff were very friendly and helpful and sorted everything out for us!
They have very good food at the restaurant as well as at the pub.
Not so noisy as we could expect (and warned by the staff while making our reservation).
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

rooms spotless,beds very comfy an staff very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norther ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Great food, great groups and nightclub if prefered. Food very reasonably priced and tasty.Ask for executive suites far nicer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Inn

Address: 87-89 The Promenade, Portstewart BT55 7AG, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Anchorage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Inn boasts 20 cosmopolitan style en suite bedrooms, all of which are finished to the highest standards. The multi Award winning Anchor Bar was established in 1898 and has won many accolades in recent years including Best Visitor/Tourism Pub and Northern Irelands Pub Food of the year 2014. Residents have complimentary access to all areas of our entertainment during their stay with us... The perfect way to use up that extra energy before bedtime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
The Anchorage Inn Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.