We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff pleasant,food excellant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Anchorage Inn to your Saves list
The Anchorage Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87-89 The Promenade, Portstewart BT55 7AG, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Co,Tyrone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“staff pleasant,food excellant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

Co,Tyrone.The staff are very nice, food was good (but some customers where too noisy).

  • Liked — FRIENDLY
  • Disliked — NOISE
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    44
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
19
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

The Anchorage Inn is a great place to stay as long as you dont have expectations of higher than 3 star accomodation. My husband & i stayed for one night last week & were not disappointed. It is located very centrally at one end of the promenade in Portstewart. Tracey on the front desk was extremely helpful & friendly from the initial booking by telephone to our check in.
The room was very spacious with twin beds. Clean.Tea/coffee making facilities.No view except another rooms window.Small wall mounted tv. Shower room tiny but clean.
The establishment has various bar/club/restaurants etc as part of its complex. Do not come if you want a quiet romantic room to hideaway in. It is the first place i have stayed that provided earplugs in the drawers!!
After spending the day which was sunny & dry strolling along the promenade & little sandy beach ( note there is also a nearby National Trust owned beach-make sure to visit) we returned to the inn & opted to eat in the bar for a less formal meal. No reservation was needed so we just found a table,ordered at the bar, paid , sat & relaxed while we waited to be served. The bar itself is over 100 years old & quite atmospheric although new additions of several tv & plasma screens are clearly visible.
We didn't have to wait long before our food arrived & was nicely served to us by friendly staff. It was delicious, fresh & piping hot. The Anchorage is a member of The Taste Of Ulster group which promotes the use of local produce.
After an evening stroll we returned to the bar so that my husband could enjoy the live footie on screen while i tuned out & chilled reading my book. Yes even with the noise of footie going on, not so loud you couldn't think! Considerate of all.
There is continual entertainment in the complex with pub quiz on a wednesday night/traditional music on a thursday night & nightclub most nights!
We had a laugh joining in the quiz @ £5 per entry with a sandwiches & cocktail sausages included!
Despite earplugs provided, we weren,t disturbed at all!
The next morning we ate breakfast served in the main restaurant. The breakfast was self serve for cereal etc with tea/coffee brought to the table followed by a hearty full cooked breakfast which again was piping hot & freshly cooked.
The restaurant itself was really lovely with an olde world charm, spacious yet homely & the evening menu was extensive & looked very enticing.
The only very sad note of contention is that due to no car parking facilities with the inn we had to park overnight at a public car park facing the inn. The car unfortunately had been vandalized. Tracey was very helpful gettting garage contact no's etc & especially their maintenance man who came to our aid in the pouring rain! Thank you to them for that. Do not let this detract from our stay in a beautiful part of the world & lovely inn. As we know things can happen anywhere!
We still recommend the Anchorage Inn for it's hospitality & excellent food. Give it a try if your passing their way.
I f you are reasonably local take a tip on the way home, stock up at the champion butchers in the main st. Amazing! Great freshly caught local seafood too!

  • Liked — The location & food
  • Disliked — No secure car parking-but at 3* not really to be expected
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

My husband and I booked in for 2 nights but had to cancel our second night as a result of very little sleep because of the noise. I knew the music would likely travel to the rooms but I didn’t expect to be kept up until 2.30am! Our room was literally shaking and the music was so loud it seemed as though the band were playing in our room!

In addition to the noise there was a condom stretched over our smoke alarm! Classy! Plus the rooms certainly do not look the way they do on the hotel's website.

When I complained the next morning I found the receptionist rude and unprofessional. This only served my reaffirm my decision to check out early. Overall I’m thoroughly disappointed by the attitude of the receptionist who failed to apologise for our overall experience.

On the plus side – the location is fantastic; it just depends on what you want from your stay there. However I, for one, will not be returning.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — noise and cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

Beautiful rooms, comfy beds, good hospitality. Room was a bit noisy from the club so not the best if you are a light sleeper but overall thoroughly recommended.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Antrim
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

Absolutely love this place. The hotel is spotless, bedrooms very spacious with all your needs. They have entertainment at the weekend which is absolutely great as you can just fall into bed at the end of the night. Breakfast in the morning is just what you need, Full fry with the usual juices, tea and coffee. After breakfast there is nothing better to do but to take a beautiful walk along the prom. or up around the cliff. The scenery is absolutely beautiful. We went for only one night but will be going back for a
bit longer.

Sarah from Co. Antrim

  • Liked — It was spacious and very clean
  • Disliked — There are no lifts up to the rooms and there is quite a long walk when you get up to your floor
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

The Anchor Bar is just buzzing. A great base from which to experience the beautiful North Coast of Ireland. Comfortable bedrooms, great bars, good food and the friendliest staff. Check this place out!
Possibly not the place for a quiet weekend as there is entertainment almost every night but if you are looking for a great social experience then this is the place to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Inn

Address: 87-89 The Promenade, Portstewart BT55 7AG, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Anchorage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Inn boasts 20 cosmopolitan style en suite bedrooms, all of which are finished to the highest standards. The multi Award winning Anchor Bar was established in 1898 and has won many accolades in recent years including Best Visitor/Tourism Pub and Northern Irelands Pub Food of the year 2014. Residents have complimentary access to all areas of our entertainment during their stay with us... The perfect way to use up that extra energy before bedtime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
The Anchorage Inn Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.