We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and super comfy beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Anchorage Inn to your Saves list
The Anchorage Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87-89 The Promenade, Portstewart BT55 7AG, Northern Ireland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good value and super comfy beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The B&B rate was good value for money and while the room wasn't huge, it was well appointed, really clean and the beds and bed linene were the comfiest we slept in during our trip to Ireland. Perfect for a short stopover.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    44
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
19
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Beware this is attached to a night club and bar complex with rough clientelle.
I have no complaint against the standard of the rooms, food, etc... my only complaint is the noise and rowdy neighbours that you would have to share with. Also, I came back from the Ice House without my key and a bouncer wouldn't let me in so I had to phone my wife and wake her up to come down and let me in. Ok so maybe I had a few too many drinks, but the bouncer threatened me and wouldn't believe that I was a guest in the place. Never again. Ever. Ever.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim N. Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

stayed here last sunday night, staff really helpful, breakfast excellent and good location.but didn't sleep all night with the sweltering underfloor heating in bedroom. they supplied a fan in each room so i wasn't probably the only one that thinks rooms too warm. i did use it but it was too noisy for my husband so had to turn it off.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here November for 2 nights B&B with my wife - all-in price of £98, a real bargain. Staff were excellent, always an indication of a great place. Tracey on Reception helpful on phone prior to arrival and on check in. Stay on 2nd Floor rooms,much superior to 1st Floor, fantastic beds,amazingly comfy (missed breakfast first morning as a result !). Large plasma TV, tea/coffee/biscuits,modern decor and very clean. Small showeroom,but good temp/pressure,no room for a bath (this the only minor gripe). Public bar with a roaring fire at all times and jovial locals! Excellent restaurant with fab food and another great lounge bar with live band on Saturday night plus an upstairs Club with free entry for hotel guests. We joined in the fun so noise to 2am was not a concern to us. Great breakfast served in restaurant - all was FRESHLY cooked, none of this hot plate rubbish served up in other hotels we've stayed at recently (Radisson Roe take note)! Food in bar was also excellent, fresh,tasty and fairly priced - staff again great. Folk band on here on Sunday night plus Club upstairs - quieter than the Saturday. Easy,polite checkout on Monday - great stay- recommended to all, except early birds and very light sleepers - this place/staff and 2nd floor rooms were all deserving of a 4 star hotel rather than its' 3 star rating.With private parking and a bath we would have given a 5 star review here, nevertheless 4 star review says it all - go and see for youself.

Room Tip: Always ask for 2nd floor rooms.the 3 at the very back will get a partial sea view and less noise. Fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here on the Saturday night before Halloween.
The rooms were ok but I was a little disappointed by the mould in the bathroom. That was a little off-putting.
The beds were quite comfortable and the pillows and duvets must be the softest ones I have ever slept on.
We ate in the bar and the food was good and reasonably priced too.

The one downfall I have to say was the noise from the nightclub.
The music could be clearly heard in the room and even when the club finished, the noise moved to outside. Between glasses being thrown, people shouting and people being arrested it was all a very loud night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here and had the most enjoyable stay. The hotel rooms were very comfortable especially the duvets and pillows! Apparently guests can be dissatisfied with nightclub noise but as we joined in with the fun it was not an issue! There was a great atmosphere around the entire venue, a live 5 piece band that was excellent and then the night club upstairs which was also great fun and for over 25's on Saturday nights, which suited me! The breakfast was delicious, fresh and lots of options including fresh fruit and yogurts not to mention delicious fresh wheaten bread, its the little touches that matter the most! We over slept for breakfast and yet they accommodated us with a smile. The staff here are lovely - very friendly and helpful - I must mention that the manager in particular - Danny who certainly knows what he is doing. We had a small bad situation that was completely turned around by his excellent customer service and obvious commitment to the hotel not to mention his genuine interest in his guests satisfaction. We cannot wait to go back to the Anchorage and it will be a regular haunt for us. Great prices too! Enjoy...........

Room Tip: As for new renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Rooms very noisey from the nightclub, no tv stations, no access wi fi, agreed one price for a room with one member off staff, then charged dearer with another member off staff which was not very nice at all to us. So very disappointing to our night away. I would not recommend it.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Inn

Address: 87-89 The Promenade, Portstewart BT55 7AG, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Anchorage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest Inn boasts 20 cosmopolitan style en suite bedrooms, all of which are finished to the highest standards. The multi Award winning Anchor Bar was established in 1898 and has won many accolades in recent years including Best Visitor/Tourism Pub and Northern Irelands Pub Food of the year 2014. Residents have complimentary access to all areas of our entertainment during their stay with us... The perfect way to use up that extra energy before bedtime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
Anchorage Hotel Portstewart
The Anchorage Inn Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.