We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart

The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart
6-8 The Promenade, Portstewart, Northern Ireland (Formerly Icehouse)
028 7083 1103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, English, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We provide Lunch, Evening, and a take-away service. Our bar and restaurant have extended opening hours in the summer season. Serving lunch from 1-4pm Monday to Thursday, and 12.30pm-4pm Friday to Sunday.Serving evening menu 5-8.45pm Monday to Thursday, 5-9.30pm Fri and Sat, and 5-9pm on a Sunday.Our takeaway service is available during restaurant hours, however, depending on how busy the restaurant is we may be unable to accommodate take-aways. (Particularly at weekends)We have a wide range of cocktails available made with only the freshest of ingredients.We are a child friendly restaurant, but please be aware that due to licencing laws children are not permitted to be on the premises after 9pm, so please consider this before booking a later table if you have children in your company.
Aviemore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was our third visit to the ice house when staying in Portstewart. There were five of us and we all enjoyed our meal. The service was good and staff friendly. The only problem this time was that the upstairs restaurant was unbearably hot due to the heatwave. I know this is unusual for Portstewart but perhaps drawing the blinds or providing fans would have helped. I don't know how the staff worked under such hot conditions. The views across the harbour and sea are outstanding. Thank you - we will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No 1 for me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I have eaten in a few restaurants in Portstewart but The Ice House is No 1 for me! Great service and great food. The bar has a great atmosphere and has that "holiday" feel about it.

Love it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“North Coast Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Was recommended this little charming place by a work colleague - it certainly didn't disappoint! We were met by an smiling enthusiastic bar person at the door and within seconds were seated. A great start to the evening got better when offered a jug of water as we were unsure as of what to eat. All staff seemed busy but from what I could see all went about their duties effectively. Food ordered - both steaks cooked to perfection and generous side orders washed down with a delicious bottle of wine. Special praise to the bar person - super service from start to finish. Already looking forward to our next trip to Portstewart and of course another evening in the Ice House.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best nachos everrrrrr”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We ate here in June for 1st time, had a cocktail while waiting which was lush, we had nachos for starter between us 2 and have never tasted nachos like them, big compliment considering I've also had them in cancun, these win hands down. I had steak for mains which was also perfectly cooked to my specification,aims weren't massive so I would recommend starters if u have a big appetite but we left full up and thoroughly enjoyed, will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Showed up here with my bf on a very busy,sunny day. The waitress asked if we had booked which we hadnt. After checking with her manager She then pleasantly took us upstairs right to a window table overlooking the gorgeous ocean and scenery. We then sat down to a two course meal, i had salt n chilli squid for starter, it could have been crispier as it was slightly greasy and didnt have much salt n chilli flavor but still enjoyable, my partner had the garlic n chilli cheese ciabatta which was felicious. He then had a build a burger, the lamb patte was so juicy. I had the chorizo chicken with crispy prawns, was lovely. Also had a lovely cocktail the waitress compliented. All in all the start were very attentive, the food was great and to have a view like we had made it very special. Keep up the good work guys!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart also viewed

Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 
Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.