We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine, but no more.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart

The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart
6-8 The Promenade, Portstewart, Northern Ireland (Formerly Icehouse)
028 7083 1103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Portstewart
Cuisines: European, English, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: We provide Lunch, Evening, and a take-away service. Our bar and restaurant have extended opening hours in the summer season. Serving lunch from 1-4pm Monday to Thursday, and 12.30pm-4pm Friday to Sunday.Serving evening menu 5-8.45pm Monday to Thursday, 5-9.30pm Fri and Sat, and 5-9pm on a Sunday.Our takeaway service is available during restaurant hours, however, depending on how busy the restaurant is we may be unable to accommodate take-aways. (Particularly at weekends)We have a wide range of cocktails available made with only the freshest of ingredients.We are a child friendly restaurant, but please be aware that due to licencing laws children are not permitted to be on the premises after 9pm, so please consider this before booking a later table if you have children in your company.
Lincoln
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“It was fine, but no more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having spent a week in Portstewart and tried several places to eat I can report that we did not find any restaurant that stood out from the rest, the menus at all were very similar and there appears to be a lack of interest is serving local dishes and produce.
The ice house was fine, they fitted us in, after a short wait, despite being very busy. The food was nice, the service good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coleraine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service Non-Existent!! Dreadful!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Food was promising although it would appear the Chef had a slight mishap with the salt as there was quite an element of salt in one area of the dish (lets hope it was an oversight). However, would have forgiven the salt incident but cannot forgive tardy service even though the place was quiet we were totally ignored after our main meal dishes were collected...no dessert requests.....no drinks etc even after we made obvious signals for attention....had enough after thirty-five mins wait and decided to forego puddings, coffees and cocktails (and extra £20 profit or so to the owner). First time I left a restaurant without tipping in a long long time. Dramatic overhaul of waitressing staff required before I will be back :-(

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We have a meal here on Saturday Night the food is excellent and very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very good value great atmosphere. The Bang Bang chicken is super. Waitress very helful and great atmosphere

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Went here as a family a little while back and it was lovely. Great food, great portions. If you're in portstewart and looking a restaurant I would give this place a chance :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena n . ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Enjoyed a meal here in the evening. Staff were very pleasant and our food was served quickly. Our meals were of a high standard, and reasonably priced, and there was a god selection on the menu. Will be going back for certain .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart also viewed

Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 
Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.