We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Fish and Chips......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart

The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart
6-8 The Promenade, Portstewart, Northern Ireland (Formerly Icehouse)
028 7083 1103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Portstewart
Cuisines: European, English, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: We provide Lunch, Evening, and a take-away service. Our bar and restaurant have extended opening hours in the summer season. Serving lunch from 1-4pm Monday to Thursday, and 12.30pm-4pm Friday to Sunday.Serving evening menu 5-8.45pm Monday to Thursday, 5-9.30pm Fri and Sat, and 5-9pm on a Sunday.Our takeaway service is available during restaurant hours, however, depending on how busy the restaurant is we may be unable to accommodate take-aways. (Particularly at weekends)We have a wide range of cocktails available made with only the freshest of ingredients.We are a child friendly restaurant, but please be aware that due to licencing laws children are not permitted to be on the premises after 9pm, so please consider this before booking a later table if you have children in your company.
Wilmington, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the Fish and Chips......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

In May while on a golf trip to this charming villeage we were directed to this quaint resturant near or hotel. The atmosphere and the staff were exceptional. They made us feel warm and part of their family. Having a somewhat plain type of appetite I had the Fish and Chips. Very enjoyable. Also never leave until you have had the "Sticky Toffee Puding". There is no way to describe it. We were there for three days and went back everynight for dessert!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Game of two halves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Odd title for a review but it truly is a game of two halves, the bar service is attentive and a great place to sit on a bar stool and debate the menu, except it's a rush to get you to your table, which is fine because the restaurant upstairs is very pleasant. Service from here on gets patchy and slower, the food is actually very good and well priced however as the meal progresses the service gets less attentive and pudding orders are almost grudgingly taken, coffee! You've no chance they're too busy preparing tables for the next day. I won't stop going here, it's a handy eatery and we shall go on a good day sometime and the service will be seamless.
Just because I'm not raving about this place doesn't mean don't go, just don't go for a special event.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The wee Ice House”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went for a quiet meal, and was welcomed by the barman, do you want a wee table. The waitress escorted us upstairs to our wee table, and guess what, would you like a wee drink.
Here is your wee drink, you wee menu, your wee meal and finally your wee bill.
What if I WANTED A JOLLY BIG MEAL, not to be served in the Ice House. I had a steak that had a distinctive fishy smell and my wife had overcooked scampi. Disappointed and won't be back .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Food With Next To No Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Arrived for a birthday dinner with my husband at 7pm - was greeted by an enthusiastic bar man who was more than welcoming - then shown to our table, a drink and food order taken within 10mins of arriving - all looked promising. Then food arrived , tasted and well presented - however I needed a few more items, no one arrived to check on table - my husband actually lifted the finished dishes and left them on the floor still
No one got the hint. The table behind us was also agitated - they ordered a dessert and got nothing. I feel the waitresses were more interested in getting out the door than serving customers - we watched as they left cheering and texting as the exited the door - we were left upstairs on our own then no check , no service. As we glanced around the room everyone had left in disgust - it was meant to be a memorable night. Ramore the next time !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Visited here with my parents and the food was fantastic, (as well as massive in portion size) regardless of what we ordered.

Only real downside was a little lack of atmosphere (e.g. maybe have some music on or something), but when you're with friends, you bring the atmosphere yourself.

If you're hungry, this is definitely the place to hit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart also viewed

Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 
Portstewart, County Londonderry
Portstewart, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ice House Bar and Restaurant, Portstewart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.