We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely HALT here its a great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cromore Halt Inn

Save Saved
You added Cromore Halt Inn to your Saves list
Cromore Halt Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cromore Halt Inn
158 Station Road, Portstewart 55 7DA, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Portstewart
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely HALT here its a great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This is an excellent guest inn well run by friendly staff. The breakfasts are freshly made to your order and everything is done for your comfort and enjoyment. The rooms are large and very clean. Food in the restaurant and bistro is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    29
    7
    9
    2
See reviews for
21
41
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

My wife and I always use the Cromore Halt when we go to Potrstewart two / three times a year- When I saw the unfair review about flies I want to tell everyone about how much we enjoy our experience of staying at this great hotel-even at peak times like the NW200 weekend they will go out of their way to make you feel at special visitor. Food never disappoints and it is very clean and comfortable. with excellent parking.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Avoid the room located in the back of that inn - as it overlooks the kitchen and the storage yard. Couldn't sleep every night, due to heat as the window has to be kept closed. The room oerlooks the one-storey extension with the ktichens - easily accessible as there's a ladder on the top of the extension - an invitation for opportunistic thieves, so it would not be safe to leave the window open at night or even at day. When the heat was too much to bear, the window was left open - though for a very short time, because of flies entering the room.
Won't return to that "inn" (sausages served for breakfast - tasteless and so is 'cona' coffee).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark4951, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Cromore Halt and would like to respond to the comments you have made.
The Cromore Halt has 24 hour surveillance cameras in place and the reception is staffed 24 hours a a day.
I can assure you that this is the first complaint we have ever received of this nature about flies.The Cromore Halt has stringent health and hygiene policies and we have the highest standards of cleanliness which is reflected in our reviews.

It is unfortunate that you did not complain to a member of sfaff at any time.This would have given us an opportunity to rectify any issues that you seemed to have had.

We value all customer feedback and would like to thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

I stayed here on Friday 28th May. I booked 2 rooms as I did not want to share. When I arrived with a work colleague the inn had changed the booking to one room without notifying me. I was then asked if I wanted a second room which placed me in an awkward situation in front of my work colleague. We agreed to share. At 3.00pm on Saturday the inn contacted me to tell me they were debiting £50 from my bank account because the cleaners smelled smoke. On Tuesday 1st June, I realised I had left my credit and bank cards, money and make up in the hotel room. I contacted the hotel and was told that they gave them to the customer who stayed there on Saturday and Sunday night. I had to contact my bank and cancel my accounts. I would have expected an apology, but they have told me mistakes happen. It makes me ashamed of Northern Ireland hospitality

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark4951, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2010
We are sorry that you experienced problems during your stay at the Cromore Halt and we would like respond to the comments that you have made.
Your work colleague that had booked the party instructed our receptionist to change two single rooms into a twin room and it was unfortunate that the work colleague did not communicate this to you.

The Cromore Halt has a non-smoking policy in accordance with the law and legislation. We have clear signs with a notice in each bedroom stipulating that there will be a cleaning charge if it has been found that smoking has occured in the room. The receptionist did not debit your credit card for the cleaning fee on this occasion.

We would like apologise that the receptionist did make a geniune mistake in relation to your wallet containing cards and cash .The receptionist did apologise profusely and explained to you that it had been rectified immediately.

We value all customer feedback and would like to thank you for your comments, and hope you will return to the Cromore Halt in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northcoaster2010
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Excellant food, and the staff are all very plesant,and were able to accomodate us without a reservation.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I try to get to Portstewart once or twice a year meeting friends and playing the local golf courses. I always stay at the Cromore Halt. I rang ahead to say that I was arriving late (11.30 pm) from the ferry and the night porter was expecting me. A request for a beer and some crisps was met with an apology that they didn't do crisps. However he could arrange some nachos and salsa instead. They were delicious and this is typical of the friendly service you will get at the Cromore. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The restaurant and the bistro are both excellent. This Inn is a little way from the front of the town and it is nicely quiet but never dull as the restaurant is very popular with guest and locals alike. The only problem is that with food this good it's very difficult to take yourself off somewhere else for a change. I never manage it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

My partner and I stayed in the Cromore Halt for one night while flat hunting and had a lovely stay. The room was well furnished and in perfect condition, as was the en-suite bathroom.
We ate down in the bistro and had a nice dinner - wasn't overly expensive and drinks weren't as much of a rip-off as I expected. The garage next door is a great source for cheaper crisps and midnight snacks if you don't fancy paying bar prices!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cromore Halt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromore Halt Inn

Address: 158 Station Road, Portstewart 55 7DA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cromore Halt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromore Halt Hotel Portstewart
Cromore Halt Inn Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cromore Halt Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.