We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cromore Halt Inn

Cromore Halt Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cromore Halt Inn to your Saves list
Cromore Halt Inn
158 Station Road, Portstewart 55 7DA, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MAY MADNESS
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed at the Cromore Halt for three nights at the beginning of December. I received a warm welcome and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout my visit. My room (no 9) was spacious, warm and comfortable, with plenty of storage space. It was also spotlessly clean. There was a wide choice for breakfast and in particular the scrambled eggs and bacon were delicious. My only criticism is that the hair dryer wasn’t up to much and it would have been good to have a radio/alarm in the room, but these are minor observations in a most enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark l, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Clare H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. We value all feedback from our customers as it helps to improve our services.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and we hope to welcome you back to Cromore Halt in the New Year.

Kind Regards
Mark
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    35
    9
    10
    3
See reviews for
28
57
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just back from a 1 night stay in the Cromore great hotel food was good and very friendly staff and helpful and didn't torture us to get out of the room on the day we were leaving very good place to stay its not the first time we have stayed and wont be the last great place to watch the north west 200 roll on May .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark l, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Glenn S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. We value all feedback from our customers as it helps to improve our services.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and we hope to welcome you back to Cromore Halt in the New Year.

Kind Regards
Mark
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just returned from a 1 night stay in the Cromore with 3 small children. Very friendly staff throughout the hotel and the food was 1st class. If you want a quiet wee break away in the North Coast then is the hotel for you. Will definately go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark l, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Colm,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be helpful. I will pass on your comments to our staff. We value feedback from all of our customers. We look forward to welcoming you and all your family back to the Cromore in the near future.

Kind Regards
Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, Northern Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Not long back from a night at this hotel. Staff was really welcoming and helpful on arrival. Room was great size apart from tv not working didnt annoy us it not working but the staff sorted it all out which was great. Had a meal in the restaurant and it was lovely and and fry in the mornings was great . parking at this hotel was fantastic. We booked again to return in January 2014. Love this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark l, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Rebekah,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Cromore. Our staff strive to maintain the highest standards of service and cuisine at all times. We appreciate and value feedback from all our customers. I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Cromore Halt and we look forward to welcoming you back again in January.
Kind Regards,
Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good clean hotel. Friendly staff . A bit out of the way but hey we all mostly travel to the north coast by car so not really an issue. Breakfast full irish - lush
Good big room . Yes beds aren't massive but it's clean comfortable and warm
Will return to try the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkCromore, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly.
We pride ourselves in our high standards and constantly strive to maintain the highest standards.
We welcome and value feedback from all of our customers as it helps us to improve our facilities and services. I would like to thank you for choosing the Cromore and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early October. The room was nice, clean and very spacious. We couldn't get the heater to work the first night so we had to call reception and have someone come to the room. First night 2 young children were running up and down the halls until 11pm. The next night there was a noisy group in the bar downstairs and the noise travelled to our room on the upper floor. Not the hotels fault but very annoying nonetheless. The breakfast was good but the service on the second day was very poor. On our first day we had some problems with Stena Line related to our trip back to Scotland. The lady in reception was very, very, helpful.

Room Tip: We asked for a twin room but were given a room with 2 double beds. Room was very spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkCromore, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I am pleased to hear that in general you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be helpful. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some noise during your stay and if our receptionist had been made aware of the noise, I can assure you it would have been promptly dealt with. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your food at the Cromore. We welcome all feedback as it enables us to improve upon our service and therefore we really value your feedback.
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Cromore and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Cromore Halt for 2 nights in September on a midweek visit to the spectacular Antrim Coast.

From the outside the building looks a bit unexciting and it is a good mile or so from the seafront; but the rooms are clean and efficient, the wifi worked well in our room, the bed was very comfortable and the welcome, both in advance and when we arrived was very warm and welcoming right through until we left 2 morning later, so what more can you ask for?

The main restaurant was not open as we were visiting midweek, but to be honest we preferred the casual relaxed atmosphere of the bistro restaurant and happily spent a few hours each evening drinking, chatting and enjoying the food which we found to be very good with some unique items on the menu that were clearly freshly cooked to order.

Prices were very reasonable both for the room on B&B rates and the dinner and drinks that we paid for separately on both nights. My cousin from Northern Ireland recommended this place to us and was keen to know our feedback - a big thumbs up!

We'd happily return if we were to visit this lovely area again...

Room Tip: Beds are a normal 4ft 6 double, so if you are used to a bigger bed, ask for a Double with a Single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark l, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Luxtraveller66,

I would like to thank you for taking to time to write such a positive review about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and am delighted that you enjoyed your meals in our Bistro. We welcome all feedback as it enables us to improve upon our service therefore we really value your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Cromore Halt soon,
Regards
Lesley-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cromore Halt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromore Halt Inn

Address: 158 Station Road, Portstewart 55 7DA, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Cromore Halt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromore Halt Hotel Portstewart
Cromore Halt Inn Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cromore Halt Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.