We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly staff, couldn't have had a better time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cromore Halt Inn

Cromore Halt Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cromore Halt Inn to your Saves list
Cromore Halt Inn
158 Station Road, Portstewart 55 7DA, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MAY MADNESS
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Antrim
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really friendly staff, couldn't have had a better time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

After a busy summer my husband and I decided to treat the kids to one last wee weekend away before the winter set in! All I can say is we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Cromore - the staff were so obliging nothing was too much trouble, anything we asked for we got! We ate in the Bistro the first night and couldn’t believe how child friendly it was! My son is a really fussy eater and it wasn't a bother to them! It was so good that we returned the next night - it was a lot busier on the Sat night but we didn’t have to wait as long as I expected! The rooms were comfortable and met our needs! We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast as well and ate enough to keep us going for the day! Will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    35
    9
    10
    3
See reviews for
28
57
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
armagh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Took my family to Cromore Halt, in the hope for some quiet family time, on entering the guest inn we were greeted by a friendly reception However, when entering the room it was still being cleaned and we had to wait in lounge- quite unacceptable as we werent there till 3.30 pm. The room itself is clean and bright, good bathroom and shower facilities. However, the beds were the worst i have ever slept in they were so hard and between it, the traffic and noise in the corridors my kids and myself got no sleep. Breakfast was large in size bacon not cooked properly, fried breads tough has they were quite burnt on one side, however there was a pleasant lady who couldn't do enough to facilitate our needs. When i went to reception i wasnt asked did your enjoy your stay and at that stage i just wanted to leave as we were exhasted.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark4951, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your review of your experience at our Hotel. I would like to respond to a few points that you raised in your review. Rooms are available from 3pm but unfortunately the Hotel had an extremely busy period and on this occassion your room was just being made ready when you checked in. I can only apologise for this and have taken steps to insure it doesn't happen again. As for your complaint about the uncomfortable bed i can only apologise but we have never had such a complaint before about the Beds and our reviews reflect this. Thanks again for your Review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlerock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Called in for a meal here on the 22/08/2011 at their Bristo and the food and service was very good. My wife paid the bill and I never checked it over until I got home. I was a little dissapointed to find out that we were over charged for the 2 main meals.
It may be only a pound or so on each meal, but it all adds up to a tidy profit to the owners if this happens to every one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark4951, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Bistro.
It was nice to hear that the food and the service you received were good.
Reading on through your review I can see that you felt you were overcharged on two meals on this occasion.
We introduced a small price increase on four main dishes on our Bistro Menu on the 10th of August which were clearly marked on all our Menu's. I hope that this explains the reason why you may have felt you were overcharged and hope that you will come back to our Bistro in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The restaurant is one of the best in the North West, only let down by poor service, both in the evening and at breakfast time. You ask for something and they completely forget about it (whether busy or not). Also, it would be nice to have mushrooms at breakfast, as is the norm in most Northern Ireland B&Bs/hotels. When asked about this I was told 'no can do'! Also would like tea/coffee the minute I sit down at the table and not later on when the cooked breakfast arrives.
The restaurant manageress is in a complete tizzy most of the time and very good at ignoring you, but I do recommend going here for the food, whether you eat in the Bistro or the restaurant, you will not be disappointed with the food - it really is excellent.
The rooms are fine and spotlessly clean but the bath towels are very small.
All in all a good place to stay, but could be so much better if the staff in the restaurant got their act together.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark4951, Manager at Cromore Halt Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our Restaurant. After reading your review thoroughly, I would like to respond to the comments that you have made.
The service of our Staff is very good as can be seen in the reviews in both Tripadvisor and Booking.com. I can only apologise that your request for Mushrooms was not dealt with properly, and have taken steps to ensure that this does not happen again. Tea/Coffee is normally served with the brerakfast, its unfortunate that you did not request your tea/coffee before your breakfast as the staff would of certainly got it for you.
Thank you for your positive comments about our restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cromore Halt in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

hi we have stayed a couple of times here before and always had a great time. This time we stayed for 5 nights b&b in room 9 which was very spacious and loads of room for the 4 of us.However on this occasion we have 1 small gripe and that would be the quality of the breakfast, on the first 3 mornings it wasnt up to the normal standard we had come to expect from the cromore , either the order was wrong or not cooked enough. This hasnt put us off staying at the cromore in the future and im sure we will book again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Have just returned from another great stay at Cromore Halt. Once again we found the Staff friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are a great size very clean and comfortable.
The breakfasts were excellent as was our meal in The Bistro.
Thanks again we will return again soon.

Room Tip: We have no complaints about any of the rooms we have stayed in. This time it was Room 20 and have p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We were on a 4 week road trip.
We had not booked a night ahead anywhere and when we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff at the front desk. They showed us the rooms and gave is a very reasonable price that included breakfast
The rooms were spacious, bright , quiet and clean. The restaurant had good food and the service was excellent. We were planning on staying only one night but quickly decided to stay two. This is an excellent base to explore the area.
There is a laundry in Port Stewart. .There are lifts. The rooms have tubs as well as showers. There is a large parking lot.
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cromore Halt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromore Halt Inn

Address: 158 Station Road, Portstewart 55 7DA, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Portstewart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portstewart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Cromore Halt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromore Halt Hotel Portstewart
Cromore Halt Inn Portstewart, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cromore Halt Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.